Chevron Left
Back to Excel Skills for Business: Advanced

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel Skills for Business: Advanced by Macquarie University

4.7
stars
5,797 ratings

About the Course

Spreadsheet software remains one of the most ubiquitous pieces of software used in workplaces around the world. Learning to confidently operate this software means adding a highly valuable asset to your employability portfolio. Across the globe, millions of job advertisements requiring Excel skills are posted every day. At a time when digital skills jobs are growing much faster than non-digital jobs, completing this course will position you ahead of others, so keep reading. In this last course of our Specialization Excel Skills for Business you will build on the strong foundations of the first three courses: Essentials, Intermediate I + II. In the Advanced course, we will prepare you to become a power user of Excel - this is your last step before specializing at a professional level. The topics we have prepared will challenge you as you learn how to use advanced formula techniques and sophisticated lookups. You will clean and prepare data for analysis, and learn how to work with dates and financial functions. An in-depth look at spreadsheet design and documentation will prepare you for our big finale, where you will learn how to build professional dashboards in Excel....

Top reviews

D

Apr 15, 2021

I enjoyed this course so much. I learned a lot about how I can become a better learner. This course was very interesting and useful. I have some tools that I can use to optimize my learning potential.

JR

Sep 22, 2020

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course, as well as all the courses in the Specialization. The instructors do an excellent job of breaking down each subject in an easy to understand logical progression.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 1,426 Reviews for Excel Skills for Business: Advanced

By Amit S

Oct 2, 2018

This course is ideal for learners who have intermediate skills (if not I suggest taking intermediate I & II courses, which are part of this specialization) in excel.The course covers spreadsheet design,documentation, data cleaning tools, advanced lookup functions like address,offset etc. The team of instructors is awesome. Doubts are solved within 24-48 hours by either the instructors or the peers in discussion forum.The discussion forum is a fine place to get help and help others as well. There's nothing you can't achieve, just try by yourself first and if problem still persists you have the discussion forum for you. All the best!

By Heike S

Apr 8, 2019

The course was exactly what I wanted. Very well-explained and clear. Also fun, and I learnt a lot of information which will be really useful.

The structure, the order in which material is given, the difficulty of the course are very thought over. And the most important, I feel that the course is very effective. I really enjoyed all the quizzes and assignments of the course.

The creation of a dashboard was a lot of fun and brings me many benefits in the company.

BUT ... this part of the specialization was a challenge. And I was happy when I did it. Giving up was not an option.

By Vanessa C U M

Oct 2, 2020

EXCELLENT !!! I am amazed of all the WONDERFUL things I just learned with this course. I have made many courses, but this, is actually the greatest course ever, REALLY!! I have studies everything from finance to marketing, but I think this is a course that EVERYBODY should do. You will never dare to imagine all the amazing things excel has, and how efficient your job will be from now on. Excel is used in every company, I think this course would change your life. Super recommended. 100% Btw teachers are very good too. Thank you for everything. Amazing course!!!!!!!!! EXCELLENT.

By Ka K C C

Jun 23, 2021

Absolutely love this course. It's well structured, informative, detailed, crystal clear, easy to follow along, and so much fun! I've enjoyed the learning process thoroughly every step of the way. Highly recommended to anyone who use Excel, you would definitely learned some practical techniques which would be useful next time you use Excel. It's exhilarating to be able to learn better ways to do thing efficiently. Wish there are more Excel related courses to come, as there are still so much more to learn! Many thanks to Nicky, Prashan, and Yvonne.

By Deleted A

Jan 16, 2021

Just wow! Best course on MS Excel not just on Coursera, but on all the E-learning platforms. I never imagined one can teach how to use a software without sucking the life out of the learner. 20 on 10 for the efforts the team made while designing this course. No matter what part of the course it is (videos, practice exercises or quizzes), you will always be engaged and that surely would help in better assimilation of concepts.

Didn't know till now that Excel really has so many features to facilitate working with large chunk of data. Loved it!

By Cynthia D

Nov 12, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. The lessons were explained beautifully and very clearly in the videos. I learned many new things on using MS Excel - functions, formula (that I've seen before but don't know what they actually do), ways to check errors, all three what-if analysis tools, how to use combo box and slider. The weekly assessments are also enjoyable and challenging, sometimes I'm proud when I get the formula right, sometimes I'm frustrated when I answered wrong and later on learned that the formula is so short and simple.

By Ander D A

Apr 2, 2019

Great course to enhance your knowledge in Excel. I can only but recommend it, it went beyond my expectations, and boasts many features that online courses should have: Entertaining, modular so it's easy to follow, well made, high quality videos, full of examples, with active discussion forums... I went through all the Excel Skills for Business specialization and I have been delighted with the quality of the contents. I would also like to take advantage of this review to congratulate the teachers for a well-made job. Keep it up!

By Nandan R

Aug 1, 2021

Nice Course

By Samantha-Anne M

Dec 9, 2023

Could pick up that some of the formulas even though exactly done as explained in the video's didn't work, with 1 instance I could pick the formula was indeed incorrect as per the Interactive Dashboard where the original formula entered changed after enter was press. Also, why can we not get a complete book of the working and formulas after the certificate is obtained in order to see where mistakes were made and to actually learn from them, where now we only now we had the answers wrong, but we don't know what we did wrong or how to fix this, which is not really learning anything. I also feel that there was a lot of questions asked on work that wasn't discussed in the Video's. And the Certificate does not even have my name on it even though after every assessments I had to fill my name in??? Why is that

By Daniel F C

Jul 31, 2020

Disappointed. After having greatly enjoyed the other three courses. This is irregular in its content, there are very useful things and others that I think are totally expendable and extremely complex. It is not impossible to do, much less, but the effort / results ratio makes it very tedious.

By ANKIT A

May 26, 2021

Every course in this specialization other than this is awesome but I didn't know what happened to the team for this course. The video explanations wasn't up to the mark, the practice challenges was absent. Disappointed by this course. Rest all courses is way above average.

By Giovanni T

Dec 1, 2020

I felt that the OFFSET, ADDRESS and INDIRECT functions were very badly explained. It took me hours before I understood them, and even now I feel like I didn't exactly get them fully!

By Farah S

Feb 28, 2023

I completed all the courses in the specialization and this course was the one I was least impressed with, which really is a shame because I feel that the material in this course has direct real-life applications.

The beginner and intermediate courses were well thought out and lessons were well explained, but this course felt very rushed. I found that concepts were not explained well at all, and the instructors never explained why certain functions, etc were used to get the result needed. Throughout this course, I would watch the instructor do their spreadsheet but then found the practice and exams to be very different from what was explained. While I get this is an advanced course, concepts were not defined clearly and the exams often required the use of formulas and functions that were never introduced or seen in the lessons. I wasted countless hours searching google and youtube trying to figure out everything on my own.

As the weeks continue, practice challenges seemed to disappear, which was weird because the topics discussed in this course were more complex and definitely required more practice. The courses before this one did not provide adequate preparation for this course. The discussion forum is filled with people not understanding the topics and exams and asking for help and clarification, so I don't understand why this feedback hasn't been taken into account.

By Michele E

Apr 18, 2021

The course was presented in a very confusing and frustrating manner. I had to use outside sources to figure out what many of the functions were used for, because there wasn't an adequate explanation. "I'm going to click here, open brackets, type S, tab, close brackets." That's the how - what's missing is the why: what exactly is going on in this formula that gets us the results we want. That's what's needed in order to understand and apply the material. Here's an example directly from the transcripts.

The INDIRECT function is a handy little lookup function. And it works slightly differently to most lookup functions in that it uses an indirect reference. What that means is that indirect refers to the address of the cell rather than the cell itself. A direct reference would go straight to G3, but the indirect is actually going to refer to C12, which is then going to return the value from G3. Let's see it, so we're going to type =IND and choose INDIRECT, and I'm going to click into cell C12. But when I click Enter, you'll see I don't get the value in C12, I get the value in G3.

By Blane S

Jun 16, 2022

Firstly, I would like to thank the course developers for the first three courses in the specialisation. Absolutely excellent courses and well taught. Cannot recommend enough. Which makes the contrast so surprising...

The assessments were very (and sometimes nearly completely) disconnected from the videos (which were themselves too short). The whole last week wasn't even assessed but other materials that were really hard weren't stepped through properly. It feels like it was rushed for a deadline and is impossible to get through without frustrating hours and hours spent on the discussion boards and external websites. I appreciate courses should be challenging and in real life you have to figure it out for yourself, but that's no excuse for a course that's incoherent and feels disconnected from the ones that precede it.

By Manmeet S

Nov 1, 2022

I understand that the course is for advanced Excel users, but unless I work as a data analyst or a financial advisor, this course is irrelevant. The information is not very well structured so progressing through the course is really difficult. It's a bummer that I can't get an overall certification for Excel Business Essentials, but given I work in Marketing, this course is useless, not to mention extremely difficult to follow.

By Shreeraj S

Dec 5, 2022

Stark contrast from courses 1 and 2. It's like publishing a book without editing, or on everyday level, sending an email without proofreading. So many missing pieces, lack of practice challenges, it's just annoying how poorly this one is delivered.

By Dan C D B

Feb 19, 2022

This course is absolutely hard to follow and the practice challenges could've more in-depth explanation about the more complex functions.

By Mubashir-Ul-Hassan

Jul 8, 2020

Explanations of content are not powerfull and clearable as compare to previous essential, Intermediate 1,Intermediate 2

By Pobedinskiy P

Sep 19, 2020

Very poor constructed assignments. Essentials and Intermediate I&II was much better.

By MAGED B

May 19, 2021

the course need more explaination and practice videos

By Julia C

May 16, 2021

very difficult

By Umer N

Apr 30, 2023

I am happy to share my thoughts on the Coursera course "Excel Skills for Business: Advanced". The course was an excellent resource for advancing my Excel skills, and I found it to be very effective in helping me improve my knowledge and abilities in the program.

The course was well-structured and easy to follow, with clear explanations and examples of advanced Excel functions and techniques. The hands-on exercises and quizzes helped me to reinforce my understanding of the material, and the real-world scenarios presented in the course were helpful in showing me how to apply the skills I learned in practical situations.

Additionally, I appreciate the financial assistance provided by Coursera, which made the course accessible to me despite my financial constraints. It is great to know that Coursera is committed to making quality education available to everyone, regardless of their financial situation.

Overall, I highly recommend this course to anyone looking to improve their Excel skills, whether for personal or professional purposes. The course is an excellent investment in your professional development, and the skills you will learn will be useful in a wide range of industries and job roles. Thank you, Coursera, for providing such an excellent course!

By Ronny D

Nov 14, 2021

I have really enjoyed this course and the Specialization. The instructors are incredibly good to explain complex topics and to make them easy to digest. They cover a lot of ground and the lessons you will learn can be immediately used on your day-to-day job. When you forget a technique/formula, because you do not use it often, a simple look to a previous exercise will do the trick.

This course is the advanced one. As you are reaching its end, around week 5, the philosophy will change a little bit. You will be less pointed toward the answer. In consequence, you might feel frustrated at times because you will not be able to identify in which exact lesson/video you can find the answer. I personally think it is done on purpose. This is indeed a way to encourage us to learn how to find our own answers. Not all the problems we will face are the same as the one explained during the lessons. Be ready to embrace the challenge and have fun!

By Tanzeel U R

Feb 7, 2023

I recently completed the Excel Skills for Business: Advanced course on Coursera and I was thoroughly impressed with the level of instruction and the quality of the course material. The instructor was knowledgeable and expertly explained complex Excel concepts and features, making them easy to understand and apply. The course covered advanced Excel techniques that are essential for business professionals and the hands-on approach of the course allowed me to put my newfound knowledge into practice. The assignments were challenging and helped me further develop my skills. This course was a valuable addition to the Excel Skills for Business Intermediate Part One and Part Two courses and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to take their Excel skills to the highest level. I would rate this course a 5 out of 5.