Chevron Left
Back to Excel Skills for Business: Advanced

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel Skills for Business: Advanced by Macquarie University

4.7
stars
5,797 ratings

About the Course

Spreadsheet software remains one of the most ubiquitous pieces of software used in workplaces around the world. Learning to confidently operate this software means adding a highly valuable asset to your employability portfolio. Across the globe, millions of job advertisements requiring Excel skills are posted every day. At a time when digital skills jobs are growing much faster than non-digital jobs, completing this course will position you ahead of others, so keep reading. In this last course of our Specialization Excel Skills for Business you will build on the strong foundations of the first three courses: Essentials, Intermediate I + II. In the Advanced course, we will prepare you to become a power user of Excel - this is your last step before specializing at a professional level. The topics we have prepared will challenge you as you learn how to use advanced formula techniques and sophisticated lookups. You will clean and prepare data for analysis, and learn how to work with dates and financial functions. An in-depth look at spreadsheet design and documentation will prepare you for our big finale, where you will learn how to build professional dashboards in Excel....

Top reviews

JR

Sep 22, 2020

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course, as well as all the courses in the Specialization. The instructors do an excellent job of breaking down each subject in an easy to understand logical progression.

D

Apr 15, 2021

I enjoyed this course so much. I learned a lot about how I can become a better learner. This course was very interesting and useful. I have some tools that I can use to optimize my learning potential.

Filter by:

1401 - 1425 of 1,426 Reviews for Excel Skills for Business: Advanced

By Eva O

Aug 7, 2019

It's ok, but not recommended for someone who uses excel on a everyday basis, you won't learn much more ;)

By Pham A T N

Jan 24, 2021

Final exam and teaching material is not really relevant. The exam is really challenging.

By Pritam S

Aug 8, 2020

This course was so tough.This course was not as much well planned as previous 3 courses

By Barbara K

Mar 13, 2019

Fantastic Information. Needs more samples/practice assignments. Thank you!

By Kristine C

Aug 16, 2020

Some excel sheets are different from the lecture but still understandable.

By Tenzing D

Nov 21, 2020

the difficult parts related to the concepts are not explained well.

By Abdurahman q

Aug 17, 2020

This course does not seem more advances than "Intermediate 2"

By Samantha C

Jun 14, 2022

Not as complete and useful as the other ones

By Arthur d G C

Sep 19, 2020

It wasn't as good as the other courses.

By Rishi M

Apr 4, 2021

Feels like it really dragged out

By Paige P

Dec 19, 2020

Not as good as Courses 1-3.

By Hosam M

Jul 27, 2020

need more clarifications

By ARFFA A

May 17, 2022

good improde my skills

By Mark G W

Dec 1, 2019

Very useful.

By Sergei P

May 7, 2024

The delivery is highly professional. The course started off well with the first two modules being easy to follow. However, the quality seemed to decline thereafter due to several reasons: Lack of thorough explanations: While it is shown how to use a certain tool, the course often fails to provide the rationale behind that (why it is used). Unnecessary complexity: The assignments and assessments are occasionally overly complex, requiring additional research. Disconnect between lectures and assignments: The assignments and assessments often seemed unrelated (to some extent) to the lectures. Course structure: The course provides a “Toolbox” with terms and tips at the end of each week. However, it would have been more beneficial if this was introduced at the beginning of each week. This way the leaner may understand the new concepts better; that would also help to complete the assignments. The course does not have any prerequisites. However, I believe that someone new to Excel would struggle beyond Module 3. Even with my decent level of Excel skills, I found the course challenging, especially after Intermediate I. On top of that you would need some understanding of financial analysis when in Advanced module. Therefore, I would not recommend this course to those without some Excel skills or accounting background. There are plenty of online resources for understanding Excel, such as exceljet.net, trumpexcel.com, and Microsoft Support. Overall, the course left me feeling unsatisfied. I felt that I should have opted for a different course, but since I was already halfway through, I decided to finish it. If you do not need a certificate, I would suggest looking for alternatives. However, if you are already skilled and just seeking a recognition, this course might be suitable for you.

By Antonia L

Jun 11, 2020

I loved the first three courses of this specialisation. However, I thought the advanced course was a bit rushed, the practice challenges were often missing and so were the practice test which is why I often struggled to get the assessments in the end right.

By Ashik K A

Aug 19, 2020

Not satisfied with week 5, also the exclusions of practice assignments in some of the weeks too was something that must be taken care of in my opinion.

By 杨婉荧

Jul 22, 2022

The course introduces several functions in the excel, while the details are not clearly stated. Therefore, the course is difficult for me.

By Manas G

May 24, 2018

An assignment didn't work on my system (Mac) even though I followed the said instructions.

By MD. S S

Aug 7, 2020

No practice challenge for last few weeks especially for Dashboard.

By CESAR A M B

Aug 30, 2020

Compared to the last two, this course is disappointing.

By Raquel R

May 30, 2023

Evidently this course is now unsupported. There are versioning and integration problems with the assessment spreadsheets which must be downloaded and filled on the local machine. For prior courses in this specialization, I had no problem, but for the advanced course, it was impossible to complete the course assessments because of these problems. As a result, I was only able to complete the Intermediate I and II courses, which makes me look bad when I post that on LinkedIn. The question from recruiters will be, because this is such a well known certificate, why didn't she complete the advanced course if she is now a business analyst???

I would rate the course very highly if there was versioning support, but because there isn't, the specialization isn't worth spending the time on, because it's impossible to post it on LinkedIn without reputational damage. This is so disappointing, here I thought MacQuarie University was one of my go-to sources for high quality courses!

By Ben G

Apr 29, 2020

There is some alright information in this course's videos, but it's a pretty obvious attempt to get people to sign up for the free trial, take longer than 7 days, and then have to purchase the class. Many quiz questions were not taught on which can make it take a long time to finish this class, or for many students I saw on the forums who dropped out, forever. For that reason, I can't give it anything higher than a one star due to the creators preying on people trying to learn.

By Anchit T

May 29, 2021

Not a very good course, most material is in video format and there is very little reading material