Chevron Left
Back to Fashion as Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fashion as Design by The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
stars
2,415 ratings
590 reviews

About the Course

Among all objects of design, our clothes are the most universal and intimate. Like other kinds of design, fashion thrives on productive tensions between form and function, automation and craftsmanship, standardization and customization, universality and self-expression, and pragmatism and utopian vision. It exists in the service of others, and it can have profound consequences—social, political, cultural, economic, and environmental. Fashion as Design focuses on a selection of more than 70 garments and accessories from around the world, ranging from kente cloth to jeans to 3D-printed dresses. Through these garments, we’re going to look closely at what we wear, why we wear it, how it’s made, and what it means. You’ll hear directly from a range of designers, makers, historians, and others working with clothing every day—and, in some cases, reinventing it for the future. Studio visits, interviews, and other resources introduce the history and development of each garment and their changing uses, meanings, and impact over time. Course Learning Objectives: Develop critical tools to appreciate and contextualize fashion design—from everyday clothing to couture garments—through many different perspectives. Trace the history, development, and impact of garments over time, and explore how they may be reinvented. Investigate garments through multiple lenses including politics, identity, and economics. Understand more about the lifecycle of clothing, from its design and production to its marketing, distribution, and consumption. Better comprehend the choices you make about fashion with respect to the visual language of dress, individual and collective identities, and issues such as labor practices, sustainability, and body politics....

Top reviews

SA
May 27, 2020

I would highly recommend this course for someone passionate about the industry. It's an Insightful course too deepen inside the fashion world, through history, identity, sustainability, and much more.

MP
May 15, 2020

Excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommended it to many. I am a mature student ( 55) and after this, I really feel I want to study a masters in fashion sustainability. Thanks for inspiring me.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 589 Reviews for Fashion as Design

By Joy S

Jan 14, 2018

interesting. Has a lot of reading and you need to read it or you won't pass quizzes.

By Riya P

Aug 27, 2020

I have completed the course but unable to find option to get certificate

By Poppy H

Sep 21, 2020

This course was good but there was slightly to much reading.

By Bárbara I

Apr 19, 2020

Gracias, necesito saber como adquiero el certifcado.

By Neethu B

Oct 29, 2020

Thanks and regards all Fashion as Design team....

By radhvi k

Jun 24, 2019

just understood, Fashion with different eyes..!

By Eden R

Apr 18, 2020

Interesting, inspiring and recommendable.

By PHAM T N L

Oct 19, 2020

W哦已经得到很多知识,同时这课学也帮我发展很多技能 ,对我这个爱好有很大的帮助。

By cat j

Apr 4, 2018

nicely made. great extra material

By THAMINA A P

Jul 1, 2020

It was an amazing course

By Connie Y

Jan 12, 2018

Good but a bit easy.

By Kashish A

Sep 1, 2020

excellent course

By Dhivya. J

May 11, 2020

It was very nice

By Christine B

Jun 17, 2020

Thank you MoMa!

By Jenifer.s

Jun 1, 2020

Nice to learn

By Lisa L

Jun 28, 2018

thank you!

By Sayani D

Aug 15, 2020

Very nice

By Chiara J

Jun 6, 2020

nice

By Savit P

Apr 29, 2020

GOOD

By Gilly M

Aug 20, 2020

I found this the most disappointing of the courses I have taken at MOMA during lockdown. There didnt seem to be much focus or discipline on some of the weeks with everything thrown in willy nilly - plus some rather weird features, like the australian designer from RMIT who designs outfits for dead people. And why would you dedicate NINETEEN minutes to door knocker earrings??!!

So I would only rate this 3 out of 5 (being generous because I loved some of the videos eg the couture theme Savile Row tailor and the final week biker jacket with LED lights)

By N K

Dec 8, 2020

Great opportunity to reexamine classic pieces in my wardrobe through the multiple lens of meaning, history, production, design, and politics. However, the topics addressed seemed very broad and it was not always clear how the items may be related to one another (the clearest modules were perhaps Silhouette, Lifecycle, and Modesty).

By meryem b e

May 4, 2020

It is a good start for the fashion field, to learn fashion history and the today's fashion and backgrounds. but if you are looking for something in the next level this course won't be sufficient to improve skills.

By Chanchal

Jun 8, 2020

This is nice course .and we learn alot from this course .we learn to create new ideas through this course.this is nice app and nice course.

By Laura A

May 20, 2020

Please add something other than items at some point it feels repetitive. Or make it interesting somehow towards the middle.

By Sanya m

Jun 8, 2020

The course material is good but it doesn't give much opportunity to test the learning, it is very less interactive.