Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
28,210 ratings

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

VI

Jan 18, 2021

It was an interesting and informative, at a basis level, course. The information is easy to understand and the new gained knowledges tend to remain in your memory, due to short and interactive videos.

SR

Jul 12, 2022

learned alot on this course. Very knowledgeable and full of healthy recipes. Great way to start your goal. Along with excersice and healthy eating you are on your way to a great healthy mind and body.

Filter by:

6501 - 6525 of 8,054 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By Sakina A

Feb 16, 2022

t

By Matilde M

Feb 14, 2022

D

By Salmaoui Z

Jan 31, 2022

5

By Deleted A

Jan 18, 2022

.

By Tran M T

Oct 30, 2021

r

By Stefani N A C

Sep 3, 2021

5

By Akshay

Aug 28, 2021

.

By Yulin A H

Aug 20, 2021

y

By Thilagavathi T

Aug 19, 2021

8

By Sumaiya b

Jul 25, 2021

w

By Nivetha N

Jun 23, 2021

i

By Michelle R

Jun 18, 2021

By Leticia A d L

Jun 1, 2021

B

By karla S F G

Apr 10, 2021

.

By Inês L

May 16, 2020

G

By Chi W Y

Apr 9, 2019

d

By gustavoa_pc@hotmail.com

Nov 17, 2017

e

By chaitram

Jun 5, 2017

v

By sandi h

Oct 11, 2016

I

By pleun

Aug 10, 2016

H

By Berenice S

Feb 12, 2016

I

By Galaxzy L

Jan 27, 2016

E

By Jeane A

Jan 26, 2016

T

By Lanese F

Jan 18, 2016

E

By Christina Y

Jul 7, 2020

this course is absolutely amazing. I love the videos, the structure of the course, and how Maya Adam explained everything so clearly and concise. I also really appreciate those interviews with Michael Pollan and I agree with what he said: "eat food, not too much, mostly plants". This course has taught me a lot in a very short amount of time. I also love how the course includes a list of recipes in week 5, these are amazing. I love cooking and I love living a healthy lifestyle. I'm absolutely going to try some of the recipes!

I think it will be better to include more examples or data from other parts of the world instead of just the U.S.. I am aware that this is a Stanford course, but since it's on Coursera and there are many people from other countries that are attending to this course, it will definitely benefit them more by providing more information regarding food and health of other countries. Also I think it might be better to level up the course a little bit. Despite it being an introduction for beginners, half of the content are actually common sense (or maybe just for me, I always pay attention to the food I eat so maybe unconsciously I already knew some knowledge about food and health). But it will be great to have a more advanced course regarding the topic.

Food and health is, I would say, the most important thing in life that people should pay attention to. However, so many people just ignore what they eat everyday and don't care about their health. There are also a lot of misunderstandings about what healthy food means and what should people eat when they are on a diet. I really want to help people around me to have a better diet and lifestyle, and hopefully one day I will be able to help more and more people that I don't know of through internet.

Thank you Maya and Coursera.