Chevron Left
Back to Game Design and Development 1: 2D Shooter

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Game Design and Development 1: 2D Shooter by Michigan State University

4.7
stars
292 ratings
86 reviews

About the Course

If you love games and want to learn how to make them, then this course will start you down that path. Making games is a creative and technical art form. In this course you will familiarize yourself with the tools and practices of game development and well as the process. You will get started developing video games using industry standard game development tools, including the Unity 2020 game engine. At the end of the course you will have completed two hands-on projects, including an Intro to Unity project and a 2D Shooter game, and will be able to leverage an array of game development techniques to create your own basic games....

Top reviews

AP

Feb 16, 2021

Excellent introduction to Game Design and Development! I already feel that I can do so much with Unity, even when I know there is still a lot lot more to learn, but this was a fantastic start!

MI

Feb 24, 2022

I had a great experience during learning through this course. This course is highly recommended for the students and beginners who want to learn Game Development from scratch.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 97 Reviews for Game Design and Development 1: 2D Shooter

By Andrey M

May 25, 2022

Fun to learn in practical way. Recommend

By Muhammad Q N

Sep 19, 2021

Wonderful Course Highly Recommended

By Khor T M

Sep 6, 2021

nice course with depth explanation

By Jacob A

Mar 17, 2021

Great teacher very easy to follow.

By 19dit035@charusat.edu.in

Aug 24, 2021

Best course for Game Design.

By Denis N

Jul 14, 2021

Really enjoyable course.

By Turki R

May 29, 2021

It is an amazing course.

By Prashant S

May 2, 2021

Best course for beginner

By Jayson H P

Mar 15, 2021

Very good tutorials :)

By MERWIN R C

Aug 28, 2021

it was very helpfull

By Heba E

Jun 10, 2021

Excellent explaining

By Chayanand N

Jun 4, 2021

It's a good course

By Cheng H P

Sep 27, 2021

N​ICE DIY GAMES

By Alan E D A

Mar 20, 2021

Amazing course!

By rinus

Mar 14, 2021

thanks a lot.

By José A G Z

May 8, 2022

It was great

By Daniah A

Aug 26, 2021

good lecture

By AAYUSH T

Jan 25, 2022

Very useful

By Aaryaman P

Aug 7, 2021

very good

By Navneeth B

Apr 7, 2021

excellent

By lila b

May 21, 2021

nice one

By Abdullah S

Aug 23, 2021

amazing

By JASKIRAT S

Sep 4, 2021

good

By David K

Apr 4, 2022

This is a very good intro to Unity course. For weeks 1-2 it's a real good getting your feet on the ground tutorial. For the week 3-4 the 2d shooter project, it depends on what you want out of it. I think the goal of this part of the class isn't so much to have you make a 2d shooter game, but to give you a basic one pre-built and teach you how to make a few mods to start with figuring that later classes will teach deeper changes. Which is fine and useful. But if you want to make it more your own, just know you'll need to be prepared to scour the Unity manual, internet and any friends you have who code because there is almost zero instruction on how to do any C# scripting at this stage of the class. Which is fine since that's not really the goal of this intro class. It's a good intro first class.

By BUONOMO L

Jan 4, 2022

Main teacher Brian Winn has a clear voice and is really simple to follow the lessons even if I'm not so skilled in english. Second teacher instead and a voice that is difficult to follow and sometime I needed to read the lesson transcription to understand. Finally I found some minor issue in assets for 2D shooter game: the particle effects used for explosions result in a weird glitch after using it in my assessment game. Second issue was the player movement that overcome the barrears after changing game assets. I used a youtube tutorial to understand the C# component issue on physics usage and after the modification the player worked well smoothly. Apart these two minor issues the course is interesting and helped me a lot to understand basic Unity game engine concepts.