Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started with Go

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting Started with Go by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
2,109 ratings

About the Course

Learn the basics of Go, an open source programming language originally developed by a team at Google and enhanced by many contributors from the open source community. This course is designed for individuals with previous programming experience using such languages as C, Python, or Java, and covers the fundamental elements of Go. Topics include data types, protocols, formats, and writing code that incorporates RFCs and JSON. Most importantly, you’ll have a chance to practice writing Go programs and receive feedback from your peers. Upon completing this course, you'll be able to implement simple Go programs, which will prepare you for subsequent study at a more advanced level....

Top reviews

JP

Apr 4, 2020

Great intro. If you already know the basics, you probably don't need this course though. Not much of a deep dive, more of a "skim the surface" type course. Week 4 on IO was the most beneficial for me.

AN

Oct 23, 2020

Very detailed, nice introduction to golang's basic concepts. Might need to google to find better ways to handle some requirements of the assignments, but overall a cool programming language to learn.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 522 Reviews for Getting Started with Go

By Anna S

Jul 10, 2020

The grading system for p2p assignments is a bit confusing: it looks like it makes it easy to misclick the first question ("the program is written 3 pt" vs "the program compiles 5pt"), which people do quite often (e.g. they select 3pt instead of 5pt, and then select all the additional points that actually *require* running the program).

It would be great to instead have an automatic build system that checks that the .go file can be compiled.

By Edwin D

Oct 30, 2020

As an introduction to programming in Go, the course was fine. Particularly the opportunity to work on different exercises was useful. However, even when I only have a couple of weeks working with Go, I found it a bit too basic. There were a few mistakes in some of the slides and I disagree with a few explanations from the professor, but I believe those are minor details. In general I think the course is good and worth my time.

By ヒミエイゾウ

May 26, 2020

It was a great course! Especially, after the test was submitted, it was a great learning experience due to the mechanism that students could check the code with each other. Unfortunately, before I submitted my test, I felt that I had less opportunity to learn how to share code tips within the coursera. I felt that it would be even better if the students could learn more from each other.

By Harshavardhan R

Jan 24, 2019

I have audited this course. The explanation is very crisp. All the concepts were covered clearly. Assignments are challenging and I found them interesting. Must take course for beginners. I have given 4* as I felt the author must have emphasised a little bit more on methods(at least introduction on their working) as some assignments required their understanding. I felt that to be a miss.

By Swarnim N

Jun 15, 2020

It is a very good course to pursue beginners, at the start I was scared that this course might be a little advance for me but the professor Ian Harris teaches so well that all the fundamentals of programming are covered very well. I am now enjoying Golang very much. A must-do course for anyone who has little knowledge of programming and wants to get started with Go.

By Yanfei C

Jun 19, 2022

This course explains the basic concept in Go programming pretty clearly and in details. It is very straightforward if you are already familiar with another programming language.

Hoewever, it would be great if the assignment could be graded by an autograder instead of peer-reviews. The assignment description could also be clarified in order to reduce confusions.

By Chauncey G S J

Jun 12, 2019

Not enough direction for assignments. I believe there is ambiguity and it leaves peers to grade assignments incorrectly. For example, the 1st assignment says to show proof of compilation and that the program submission runs successfully. I did both in one-step using 'go run filename.go' and provided the screenshot, yet I had to re-submit my assignment.

By Aleksandar N

Dec 17, 2019

The material presented is beginner-friendly. Concise and straight to the point.

The issue with the course is that assignments are easy, in my opinion. And there is a somewhat big waiting time for the peer review process to finish. Also, discussion forums are filled with requests for reviews, instead of questions related to the corresponding topics.

By Tristan B

Jul 1, 2020

This course could really use a better testing regime (see the Odersky Scala class with fully automated test suites and submission). I also found some of the prompts to be a little to vague (in particular read.go should really show the actual file format as the part about the fields being 20 characters turns out to be a red herring).

By Michael W

May 30, 2020

The coarse gives an initial introduction to GO and some basic programming overview. I'd place it as a second year college coarse for computer science. A couple of rough spots on the assignments indicates that it hasn't been updated since originally created a few years ago. But - still useful.

By Chris H

Jan 1, 2021

A good introduction to Go and some of the reasons you might choose Go over another programming language. Some of the assignments ask you to do things that aren't covered in the video lectures, but that encourages exploration of the Golang documentation and other online resources.

By Daniel N

Aug 4, 2021

I think this course is a good introduction to Golang. I've especially liked the instructor's way of explaining things. However I really don't like the peer-review concept at all. I believe for a programming course it's a must to have an automatic grading system.

By Florian G

Sep 16, 2019

Exercise descriptions could be a bit more detailed. E.g. oftentimes, the task description did not exclude some edge-cases that took quite some effort to implement, but in the peer-review process these edge-cases were usually not tested. Otherwise, great course!

By Sudarshan G

May 13, 2020

The course is a pretty good beginners course. The assignment wordings could be better. Its vague at times. I would have loved to see the mentors chime in a little when there is confusion in the discussion board. I havent seen participation of mentors at all.

By Mitesh V

May 20, 2020

Course content is good and covered most of the points, only thing I felt was the compared to the questions asked in assessments the course content was fairly easy taught so needed pretty good amount of research to get things done else it was wonderful.

By Eric W

Apr 1, 2021

Very good overall, a couple of things were a little ambiguous in the labs in terms of specifics around things like data formats etc - which makes it a bit challenging to make, but very good overall. Lots of useful information and very well explained!

By Gitesh C

May 23, 2019

Professor is not active on forums and there are some mistakes in slides. The assignments are way too easy but good enough to get a hands on the language. They do make you look around on the internet for syntax. I'm pleased with the course.

By Sebastien D

Jan 4, 2019

Don't go enough deep on some topic like JSON where you can choose which field can be exported from a struct, or about tags, to make sure all the exported variables in JSON are lowercase as JSON don't like keys starting with capitals.

By 江祖榮

Mar 1, 2021

Good introduction on Golang's new-feature and difference comparison between other high-level language.

The only disadvantage is that students have to wait unknown peer-review progress during each milestone assignment per week.

By Sebastian R

Oct 19, 2019

Clearer assignments would have made some things more straight forward. Some more coding examples during the courses would have been appreciated, now there is a bit too much of powerpoint. Otherwise great course and structure!

By Amir S

Jan 22, 2021

It is a good introduction. But there are some minor mistakes in the presentation and the assignments some times are ambiguous, requiring us to use features of the language that have not been taught yet like buffered IO.

By Brian U M F

Jul 23, 2022

This is a good course if you already know how to program, especially C or Python.

If you like to make your own research and not to be contained all content within the course, you will find it challenging and enjoyable.

By Ivan B

Jan 28, 2019

The course is quite short and informative, and quite fast-paced because of it. This is good. The downside is that in some of course tasks the description is quite misleading and there is no feedback from the creators.

By Jeremiah M

Oct 9, 2019

This is a solid overview of Golang. I would recommend doing this alongside personal projects or other books. The assignments don't offer the complexity to really get into why one would use Go over any other language.

By Robert M L

Sep 7, 2022

I'm happy I took this course. It was a bit basic and not too much philosophy. This is both good and bad. But, I did learn some things. I'm continuing with the other two courses in the golang series.