Chevron Left
Back to The Critical Role of IT Support Staff in Healthcare

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Critical Role of IT Support Staff in Healthcare by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
455 ratings

About the Course

This is a very exciting time to be exploring a career in Health IT Support! In this introductory course, you’ll learn about various roles in IT support that are common in healthcare. IT support staff play critical roles in many different healthcare venues. In addition to helping clinics, hospitals, and emergency rooms, you may end up providing support in a skilled nursing facility, ambulatory surgical center, virtual care setting, or even a patient’s home! On any given day, you may interact with nurses, physicians, pharmacists, physical therapists, social workers, other allied health professionals, patients or caregivers. Each of these individuals rely on IT support specialists to help them maintain a high reliability healthcare organization. As you learn about what makes Health IT unique, we hope you find inspiration in the stories shared by some of our very own IT support staff at Johns Hopkins. They’ll talk to you about the most common problems they help resolve as well as the complexity and range of issues that arise. Whether you dream of being an end-user computer support specialist, working at a healthcare help desk, or rising to an analyst role, we’re thrilled that you are embarking upon this journey. Welcome again!...

Top reviews

OO

Nov 21, 2022

What an interesting course, well explained and easy to understand. This course have heightened my interest in Health IT, giving more clarity as to how issues are resolved in this space.

JW

Oct 4, 2022

I liked the focus on customer service and how the course emphasized the importance of empathizing with customers and knowing when and how to triage or escalate issues.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 110 Reviews for The Critical Role of IT Support Staff in Healthcare

By Jane M E

Dec 9, 2020

I have learned a lot in this course and am very excited to move up to the next one.

By Alex P

Dec 16, 2020

Good essential starting information establishing the groundwork information for the IT support. Jessica's instruction style is hideous, disassociated, ambivalent and nearly impossible to follow.

By Marcelino S

Feb 16, 2022

I really enjoyed The Critical Role of IT Support Staff in Healthcare and I'm going to finish all the modules. My passion for IT Support Staff in Healthcare has increased tremendously. I Loved every bit of ''The Critical Role of IT Support Staff in Healthcare'' course. The lecturers were clear and I could understand what was happening within the IT Support Indusutry. Thank You Coursera for this wonderful oppportunity.

By Jackie C

Dec 16, 2020

Easy to follow, hearing from people who are actually in these roles makes it easier to understand & follow. As a nurse/EMR consultant, most of this information was a refresher for me. I did learn a few more things about the different roles of the IT specialist. This is an area I'm getting more into & will definitely keep going with this specialty course

By Robin S

Mar 13, 2021

I really enjoyed this course! The information was great because it enabled me to get a fuller picture of what being in Healthcare IT Support would look like. I also found the real world examples and advice given by those actually in the field very helpful! Great way to start this new adventure!

By Malik G B

Feb 1, 2021

All of this information is useful towards the gradual improvement in grasping all the fundamentals for the start in the IT Support Staff field.

By md j t

Jan 25, 2021

It's a really nice course.So many new topics covered in this course

By Alan C

Jan 20, 2021

I liked the behind the scenes real-life portrayals. Wish there had been more.

By Laurie M

Feb 16, 2021

Too easy

By hugo b m

Mar 9, 2023

It has been a great course. Thanks to all the member and staff of Johns Hopkins University Medicine to bring this new matter to my knowledge and consideration. The Videos and written support is excellent and I do hope to review my notes and be prepare for the next coming courses for the specialitation.

By Safiqul I S

Jun 24, 2021

To be a Customer Support Specialist in Healthcare, I have learned in this course lot of things. Specially I liked the practical scenario from this course. Thank you, Sir & Madam to giving me this opportunity to learn about IT Support Staff in Healthcare. Thank you very much.

By Anysia T

May 3, 2021

A simple but very applicable instruction demonstrated with practice in prioritizing with focus on highest efficiency with maximum output while concentrating on an execution of empathy at the highest form of development.

By Richard G

Dec 23, 2022

Liz Torres states HR a number of times, in the world HR is Human Resources. Why would patient speak to someone that hires,fires and makes commpy policy. On Jessica Roosth, she is so slow listen to her at 1.50 speed.

By Kamillah N

Apr 19, 2021

Good basic overview of healthcare IT support roles. I also enjoyed hearing from staff about how they got into the profession and real-life examples of issues and solutions. Looking forward to learning more!

By Oluchi O

Nov 21, 2022

What an interesting course, well explained and easy to understand. This course have heightened my interest in Health IT, giving more clarity as to how issues are resolved in this space.

By Julian W

Oct 5, 2022

I liked the focus on customer service and how the course emphasized the importance of empathizing with customers and knowing when and how to triage or escalate issues.

By MD J R

Mar 16, 2023

really it was amazing to learn new things in Healthcare sector as a IT support specialist. This would be a great chance to make anyone for building a nice career.

By Beau B H

Jan 16, 2023

Good starting place. I work in IT in Healthcare and wanted to be certified for advancement and this course is starting out at exactly the right place.

By Jaspreet S

Oct 26, 2022

I'm glad that i got an opportunity to get to know so much from this course and wanted to complete this course.

With warm regards,

Jaspreet Singh

By Confidence N

Mar 24, 2022

As an IT support personnel in Healthcare , this course was very helpful in understanding the basics of IT Support role in Healthcare.

By Jason H

Nov 4, 2021

I enjoyed listening to the perspective of health care workers demonstrate the importance of IT support and there roles

By Roman A D

Jun 29, 2022

Customer Service means something a little different when patients health and lives are at stake. Great course!

By JC A

Jan 25, 2021

Outstanding way to introduce any one to the exciting world of IT- Support in Healthcare... clear and simple..!

By Zacharey H

Nov 6, 2022

Thank you so much for the knowledge and information provide to me. I can go further in my career now.

By Jessica A M

Sep 7, 2021

It is imperative to know everything from basics and this course is an example of it. Thank you.