Chevron Left
Back to Health Care IT: Challenges and Opportunities

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Health Care IT: Challenges and Opportunities by Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

4.6
148 ratings
42 reviews

About the Course

A strong argument can be made that the health care field is one of the most information-intensive sectors in the U.S. economy and avoidance of the rapid advances in information technology is no longer an option. Consequently, the study of health care information technology and systems has become central to health care delivery effectiveness. This course covers the modern application of information technology that is critical to supporting the vision and operational knowledge of the health care leaders in managing the health care organization. Heath care decision-makers have to meet head-on the dynamic challenges of health care delivery quality, cost, access, and regulatory control. Additionally, this course integrates the Healthcare Information System as integral to the Quality Assurance Tracking Programs including measurement of systems inputs, processes, and outputs with special emphasis on systems outcomes research and organizational accountability to its various stakeholders, not the least of which are government regulators....

Top reviews

JM

Oct 22, 2017

A very well documented in depth introduction of health IT that opened my understanding of past and future expectations. I am glad I enrolled.\n\nJulius.

DL

Dec 04, 2016

Awesome! Exactly a course that I'm looking for! Can't be more relevant to my career which is data analytics in healthcare

Filter by:

26 - 40 of 40 Reviews for Health Care IT: Challenges and Opportunities

By Adrián I M F

Mar 05, 2018

Use some slides for sharing information. Videos were good. Nice course. Great resources good insight into Health IT.

By Victor E F

Nov 06, 2018

informative. interviews are excellent and best part

By Gamaliel M

Sep 03, 2019

This course is a window into the why's, how's and because's of the HC IT. Taught in a simplified but high caliber methodology by experts in the field. Thank you for bringing such brilliant people aboard Coursera

By Zakariyah B

Dec 03, 2018

This course has been very helpful to me as I am and have been a patient in many hospitals. I learned various terminology that doctors nurses and others use in different fields. What I have learned can better help me understand how critical IT is needed in health care

By Mohammed Y

May 22, 2017

This was an amazing journey. This course is excellent to know, currently what is happening in Healthcare IT industry.

By Andre B

May 30, 2017

Great introduction to some of the greatest challenges in the Healthcare IT industry.

By vishruta b

Jul 18, 2017

its good

By Patricia W

Oct 30, 2017

Great updates on Health IT. Appreciated very much the interviews - particularly the one in Lesson 1 with the CIO.

By Sandeshkumar S

Sep 16, 2017

G

o

o

d

O

v

e

r

By Vigneswarn M

Jan 19, 2017

For both medical professionals and IT professionals need to take this course to understand the present and future of healthcare.

By Vikas K

May 17, 2019

Very informative and relevant modules, helped me to understand Health Care IT challenges and opportunities are similar in nature to quiet an extent.

By Anna P

Jul 16, 2019

This is a course with very interesting and valuable content. It definitely helps to acquire knowledge on digital health history, trends and development with a special focus on the USA. However, most of the videos are 20 minutes or longer. It makes the course a bit difficult to follow.

By Dr. S C

Sep 02, 2019

Would like to include more hands on experience

By Jonathan G

Feb 28, 2018

This course was a no-brainer. Of course new technologies are going to be introduced into the medical profession. That's a given. I feel there was no need for this course.

By Boutry D

Jun 29, 2018

Il s'agit plus de la retransmission de conversations sur le sujet que d'un cours structuré avec acquisition de compétences d'où ma déception.