Chevron Left
Back to History of Medical Cannabis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for History of Medical Cannabis by University of Colorado Boulder

4.9
stars
100 ratings
31 reviews

About the Course

This History of Medical Cannabis course is designed to have you think critically about past, present, and future research on the health effects of cannabis by developing a more nuanced understanding of the barriers to research as well as different approaches to research. You will learn about the history of cannabis cultivation, the legal history of cannabis or "marijuana", and the obstacles that led to the lack of science on its medicinal use. You will also learn how to critically evaluate research on the effects of cannabis cannabis, and discuss the associated risks of using cannabis in the context of public health and epidemiological research. Finally, you will learn about how to administer cannabis products in ways that minimize risk adn maximize any potential benefits. Obtaining this knowledge will be helpful in terms of informing public policy, public health, and personal decisions regarding the use of cannabis products....

Top reviews

DR

Aug 20, 2019

This course was enlightening and insightful. Glad to have completed it. The professor is both passionate and knowledgeable. A wealth of information is shared. Moving on to the next course.

EB

Nov 13, 2019

Excellent. Great learning experience. So much more needs to be done - we need to get cannabis out of Schedule 1!! I will be taking the next class. Thank you, Dr. Hutchison!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 33 Reviews for History of Medical Cannabis

By Barbara S S

Aug 05, 2019

I learned a lot about the history of cannabis in the health field. There were a lot informations I had no clue. In fact a lot of the information I didn't know and were very helpful to me. This course made me eager to learn more about cannabis.

By Danielle M

Jul 26, 2019

AMAZINGLY in-depth information coming from the very latest scientific research. Some of the studies covered in the class had just been released days before it was posted. Extremely impressive, and very valuable!

By Dr. Z V R

Aug 20, 2019

This course was enlightening and insightful. Glad to have completed it. The professor is both passionate and knowledgeable. A wealth of information is shared. Moving on to the next course.

By cHANDRA B

Mar 27, 2020

This was an incredible course. I learned a lot about research and empirical evidence as it relates to science. As a cannabis activist I am prone to only focusing on the positives of cannabis and to not not consider the risks or to examine if cannabis is really the wonder drug I claim it to be.Great history and historical overview.

By Luann D F

Oct 03, 2019

Well organized course with clear and engaging lectures. The materials are good references and the literature well assembled. As an educator myself, I appreciated the course flow, the content, and Dr. Hutchinson's expertise and delivery. Thank you.

By Joshua M

Nov 07, 2019

Great course. Fantastic basis for patient and practitioner alike to learn about the scientific background of cannabis, and clear up a number of misconceptions about its use and the literature about it.

By Michael N

Aug 09, 2019

Clear, informatif, useful!

By Larry S C

Jul 27, 2019

Excellent course!

By Ahmmad S S

Aug 17, 2019

I like it

By Simone

May 25, 2020

This course was very manageable as a beginner. All the information was interesting and challenging enough that I stayed engrossed in the process. The simplicity of the last Quiz was a little disappointing, I was expecting a far more challenging assessment but at the same time, easier is better than harder when the students are all at different educational levels. The infographic assessment was very well communicated, allowed a lot of freedom and was very topical in the sense that infographics are very modern and trendy ways to communicate info. Well Done: Boulder University. I will be seeking the funding to do the other 3 courses, and hopefully I can start those asap. :) Thanks to all involved.

By Federico G C

May 25, 2020

this course was amazing, it provides a real science based knowledge on cannabis, it's not biased to make cannabis good or bad, and it sheds light on the general context of cannabis in terms of what is known, legal limitations, research that's been done and research needed

By Monica N A R

Apr 20, 2020

Me ha encantado, sin duda lo recomiendo. Yo inicie queriendo aprender lo básico y me llevo muchisima información que ni sabía que podía aprender en el curso. Es el mejor para entender el cannabis.

By Ellen B

Nov 13, 2019

Excellent. Great learning experience. So much more needs to be done - we need to get cannabis out of Schedule 1!! I will be taking the next class. Thank you, Dr. Hutchison!

By Juan P S D

May 24, 2020

La información y explicación del tema es increible. Muy buen trabajo en los videos y contenido.

Gracias Universidad de Colorado y especialmente a Coursera

By Joe " D

May 19, 2020

Excellent course. I enjoyed the Interviews with professionals In the business on top of the course content.

By L. M

Sep 25, 2019

Excellent Introduction to the topic of medical cannabis. Great review of research methods.

By Jessica L

Sep 26, 2019

Dr. Kent is an amazing teacher and I have learned a lot through this short-course series!

By Alexandra C

Dec 15, 2019

Excellent course. Very good reading material and with very clear concepts.

Thanks a lot.

By Eunice V

Oct 23, 2019

Very useful. Contents are easy to read and videos are great. Excellent course

By Elvis H S A

Oct 25, 2019

Very complete course for an introductory one.

By Dr. A F W

Sep 05, 2019

Thank you for a great learning experience!

By fernando g u

Feb 21, 2020

Es un buen curso.Vuelvo a intentarlo

By Honey S W

May 21, 2020

I absolutely LOVE this course!

By Jaison C

Sep 14, 2019

Condensed and accessible.

By Kelly B

Jan 26, 2020

Excellent course