Chevron Left
Back to History of Medical Cannabis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for History of Medical Cannabis by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
144 ratings
56 reviews

About the Course

This History of Medical Cannabis course is designed to have you think critically about past, present, and future research on the health effects of cannabis by developing a more nuanced understanding of the barriers to research as well as different approaches to research. You will learn about the history of cannabis cultivation, the legal history of cannabis or "marijuana", and the obstacles that led to the lack of science on its medicinal use. You will also learn how to critically evaluate research on the effects of cannabis cannabis, and discuss the associated risks of using cannabis in the context of public health and epidemiological research. Finally, you will learn about how to administer cannabis products in ways that minimize risk adn maximize any potential benefits. Obtaining this knowledge will be helpful in terms of informing public policy, public health, and personal decisions regarding the use of cannabis products....

Top reviews

DR

Aug 20, 2019

This course was enlightening and insightful. Glad to have completed it. The professor is both passionate and knowledgeable. A wealth of information is shared. Moving on to the next course.

ML

Jun 08, 2020

History of Medical Cannabis is a great course, lead by an excellent professor, Dr. Hutchison.\n\nIt has an interesting and enlightening content. Thank you for a great learning experience!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 56 Reviews for History of Medical Cannabis

By Dr. Z V R

Aug 20, 2019

This course was enlightening and insightful. Glad to have completed it. The professor is both passionate and knowledgeable. A wealth of information is shared. Moving on to the next course.

By Barbara S S

Aug 05, 2019

I learned a lot about the history of cannabis in the health field. There were a lot informations I had no clue. In fact a lot of the information I didn't know and were very helpful to me. This course made me eager to learn more about cannabis.

By Danielle M

Jul 26, 2019

AMAZINGLY in-depth information coming from the very latest scientific research. Some of the studies covered in the class had just been released days before it was posted. Extremely impressive, and very valuable!

By cHANDRA B

Mar 27, 2020

This was an incredible course. I learned a lot about research and empirical evidence as it relates to science. As a cannabis activist I am prone to only focusing on the positives of cannabis and to not not consider the risks or to examine if cannabis is really the wonder drug I claim it to be.Great history and historical overview.

By Luann D F

Oct 03, 2019

Well organized course with clear and engaging lectures. The materials are good references and the literature well assembled. As an educator myself, I appreciated the course flow, the content, and Dr. Hutchinson's expertise and delivery. Thank you.

By Joshua M

Nov 07, 2019

Great course. Fantastic basis for patient and practitioner alike to learn about the scientific background of cannabis, and clear up a number of misconceptions about its use and the literature about it.

By Michael N

Aug 09, 2019

Clear, informatif, useful!

By Larry S C

Jul 27, 2019

Excellent course!

By Ahmmad S S

Aug 17, 2019

I like it

By Simone

May 25, 2020

This course was very manageable as a beginner. All the information was interesting and challenging enough that I stayed engrossed in the process. The simplicity of the last Quiz was a little disappointing, I was expecting a far more challenging assessment but at the same time, easier is better than harder when the students are all at different educational levels. The infographic assessment was very well communicated, allowed a lot of freedom and was very topical in the sense that infographics are very modern and trendy ways to communicate info. Well Done: Boulder University. I will be seeking the funding to do the other 3 courses, and hopefully I can start those asap. :) Thanks to all involved.

By Federico G C

Jul 06, 2020

this course was amazing, it provides a real science based knowledge on cannabis, it's not biased to make cannabis good or bad, and it sheds light on the general context of cannabis in terms of what is known, legal limitations, research that's been done and research needed

By Paul Z

Jun 26, 2020

Absolutely loved this course, I've been waiting decades for this information to be consolidate in one place by a reputable/reliable source. Some of the detail is a bit mind numbing but that sort of comes with the territory. Looking forward to next course in the series.

By Teresa B

Jun 28, 2020

Very informative course, especially if you are employed in the research field. I have always felt that cannabinoids were a miracle cure for everything, so it was wonderful to see the results from actual research studies. Thank you so much for offering this course.

By Juan C G

Jun 16, 2020

Gain valuable knowledge about the chemical properties of cannabis, its history, the multiple applications it have, specifically I obtain a better general understanding of the concept of medical cannabis.

By Monica N A R

Apr 20, 2020

Me ha encantado, sin duda lo recomiendo. Yo inicie queriendo aprender lo básico y me llevo muchisima información que ni sabía que podía aprender en el curso. Es el mejor para entender el cannabis.

By Maria r d l

Jun 08, 2020

History of Medical Cannabis is a great course, lead by an excellent professor, Dr. Hutchison.

It has an interesting and enlightening content. Thank you for a great learning experience!

By Ellen B

Nov 13, 2019

Excellent. Great learning experience. So much more needs to be done - we need to get cannabis out of Schedule 1!! I will be taking the next class. Thank you, Dr. Hutchison!

By Gretchen W

Jul 16, 2020

I really liked this course it was very informative! There is so much dodgy information on the web on this topic and it is really nice to learn from a reliable source.

By Harry B

Jul 26, 2020

Fantastic course. Offers introductory modules on cannabis for new enthusiasts, as well as providing in-depth knowledge into various sectors of the cannabis industry.

By Juan P S D

May 24, 2020

La información y explicación del tema es increible. Muy buen trabajo en los videos y contenido.

Gracias Universidad de Colorado y especialmente a Coursera

By Kellyanne O

Jun 15, 2020

Wow! I'm overwhelmed by how much information there was. This course has been ridiculously educational and I've learned so much.

By Joe " D

May 19, 2020

Excellent course. I enjoyed the Interviews with professionals In the business on top of the course content.

By Christopher C

Jul 08, 2020

I really enjoyed the course, I've taken a few cannabis courses and this was by far the best one yet

By Nicholas C I

Jun 30, 2020

A great overall sense of authentic information that is hard to find and research on your own!