Chevron Left
Back to HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
12,429 ratings
4,346 reviews

About the Course

Do you realize that the only functionality of a web application that the user directly interacts with is through the web page? Implement it poorly and, to the user, the server-side becomes irrelevant! Today’s user expects a lot out of the web page: it has to load fast, expose the desired service, and be comfortable to view on all devices: from a desktop computers to tablets and mobile phones. In this course, we will learn the basic tools that every web page coder needs to know. We will start from the ground up by learning how to implement modern web pages with HTML and CSS. We will then advance to learning how to code our pages such that its components rearrange and resize themselves automatically based on the size of the user’s screen. You’ll be able to code up a web page that will be just as useful on a mobile phone as on a desktop computer. No “pinch and zoom” required! Last but certainly not least, we will get a thorough introduction to the most ubiquitous, popular, and incredibly powerful language of the web: Javascript. Using Javascript, you will be able to build a fully functional web application that utilizes Ajax to expose server-side functionality and data to the end user....

Top reviews

SM
Jun 10, 2020

Actually the best online course i hv ever learnt,especially the professor yaakov is quiet outstanding.And a field trip in a online course sounds rare and good!!Thank You Coursera and yakkov for this!!

SW
Mar 14, 2016

This was a really great course, i learned so much, and it was really interesting and very well explained. I will be taking any more courses done by Yaakov! Really excellent course, thank you so much.

Filter by:

3826 - 3850 of 4,314 Reviews for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

By Asante C

Jun 1, 2021

It was a trialing journey in this course, the practice exercise were great and engaging. i have learned HTML and CSS in a way i never imagined. Thank you Dr. Yakov

By Jessica C

Jun 21, 2020

Great overview of HTML, CSS and Javascript. I found the last week (Week 5) a bit tough and hard to follow, otherwise Week 1-4 was well explained and well paced.

By Juan F P

Jun 20, 2020

It is an excellent course. However the last part, wich is about JavaScript is too short, and provides too much information.

It should be more detailed and longer

By Kaushal H

Jun 25, 2016

Well organised and presented, but the assignments need to be "meatier". There's almost no actual coding involved, very little scope to practice what we learned.

By Hafiz H

Sep 9, 2021

It is a good course. Great for starters. But it is not new. And because there are so many technology updates, some of what is said in this course is not valid.

By NASREEN F

Nov 15, 2020

good course and very useful. you can learn from basics and it is easy to understand . you also learn t develop a fully functional website which is very helpful

By Lateef M

Jul 29, 2020

Almost self-paced course

Clarity and availability of materials

Optional quizzes and challenging module assignments

Difficult AJAX and JSON could be made simpler.

By Fabian S

Jul 31, 2016

The AJAX part could have shorter sections of 5-6 minutes at most.

The course could use more images/animations - too many explanations given at the code editor!

By Diego A G P

Jun 26, 2020

Bueno para aprender las bases aunque un poco desactualizado. (Good for learning the basics, but it is a little out of date with things like Bootstrap and JS)

By Abhishek K

Dec 25, 2020

Overall starting was awesome with assignments and everything but at the end in JavaScript week course need to expand more.

And, course also need to update.

By Rishabh S

Jun 18, 2020

This course is really good. The explanation and videos are really interesting and good. but only problem is that this is not updated with the new versions

By Adriana G

Jun 7, 2020

The HTML and CSS portions were great. I feel that the JavaScript section deserved a whole other course and I didn't really learned much on that subject.

By Aliyu O O

Jan 31, 2017

Nice job, only that I believe they were quiet too fast with javascript and it wasnt well thought the way they did with html, css. Great Job. Cheers

By PATIL S M

May 20, 2020

Excellent course. The instructor is amazing and explains things very well. The only issue i felt was that week 4 and week 5 lectures were rushed.

By Touseef A

Apr 17, 2020

It's a good course for beginners who want to learn basic level HTML CSS and JS. The last module was not explained well the included Ajax , JSON .

By Addai G K

Jul 15, 2017

This course was taught comprehensively. I now understand certain basic underlying principles of web development. Lecturer knows what he is about.

By Joao P A

Aug 15, 2020

Great course where I finally learned HTML and CSS (especially CSS), along with JavaScript. I take one star because the course is a bit outdated.

By Fahad b A A

Feb 27, 2019

Excellent course, I learned a lot of things in this course and i recommend who want to learn how to build web page. you should take this course

By Wasim A

Sep 21, 2021

It was a good course for someone with no previous experience like myself. I liked the fact that the videos were concise and very informative.

By Hassan B

May 16, 2021

#انقذوا_غزه

#free_palestine

#GazaUnderAttack

#gaza_under_attack_now

#Gaza_Under_Attack

#الشيخ_جراح

#انقذوا_حي_الشيخ_جراح

#savesheikhjarrah

By Bracklinn W

Jul 28, 2016

Most of the course was very enjoyable, but some of the lectures seemed to drag on without much happening and were pretty hard to slog through.

By Siddhesh H

Jun 23, 2020

HTML and CSS was good but the Javascript was incomplete, getting data database and update data into database is not included in this course.

By Tayyib Y

Apr 29, 2019

Very Nice Course to learn concepts of HTML, CSS and Javascript both for beginners and expert professionals who want to enhance their skills.

By Rajesh K K

Jul 11, 2020

Thank you so much for this opportunity and the course should also be windows adaptive but fine with the interface the course went smooth.

By Ian P D C

Aug 2, 2019

This course is very informative and intensive. Covers the fundamentals of Html5 , CSS and Javascript in detail. Worth taking this course.