Chevron Left
Back to Art & Ideas: Teaching with Themes

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Art & Ideas: Teaching with Themes by The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
stars
383 ratings
100 reviews

About the Course

This course is designed to help build critical skills that support theme-based teaching practices and build confidence in incorporating modern and contemporary art into interdisciplinary lesson plans. By addressing themes and questions that arise in relation to modern and contemporary art, the course will help you to think creatively about links to your curriculum and the ways that you can tap into students’ knowledge and life experience. In this course, you will explore four themes that educators at The Museum of Modern Art use frequently in their teaching: Places & Spaces, Art & Identity, Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art & Society. Through videos, slideshows, and a variety of resources, readings, and activities, you will explore the content and context of works of art in MoMA’s collection. Learners will… - Explore works of modern and contemporary art through a variety of themes that relate to classroom content and student experience. - Hear directly from artists about their ideas and processes. - Learn about the ways that a thematic approach supports interdisciplinary teaching and learning. - Gain exposure to a range of digital resources available for teaching with themes and incorporating content around works of art into your classroom....

Top reviews

SC
Oct 4, 2020

I totally loved it, from beginning to end. Great concept, well-structured curriculum, with lots of knowledge. Thanks. (some videos lacked the Italian caption, but in fact this can be easily bridged)

CS
Mar 25, 2020

Thank You So Much MoMa and Cousera !! I'm super in love with this courses, it really help me a lot and teach me a lot ..And I will continue to choose any others course in MoMa,in Cousera ! Thank You

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 100 Reviews for Art & Ideas: Teaching with Themes

By Rosalba N L

Mar 2, 2019

Fantastic experience

By Laura A

Mar 26, 2020

Really interesting!

By Guido D

May 19, 2020

Very interesting!

By Denise A M Z

Mar 5, 2021

muy enriquecedor

By MARIO F M

Apr 28, 2020

Lovely Course

By Jose M G

Mar 25, 2020

Excellent! 😁

By Louis J F J

Jun 27, 2017

Very enjoyab

By ILANTZI A S

Oct 10, 2018

Information

By patricia a

Apr 11, 2020

Amazing!

By luisa b

Jan 6, 2021

Great!

By Abdul H

Aug 13, 2018

Great

By stephanie g

Aug 19, 2018

Good

By Alisson S

Jan 19, 2021

The content of the course is well-chosen, organized and presented in an efficient way. Separating the videos, text and resources allows the used to gather resources to share with their own students. I also found it effective in that I could pace myself without missing anything. The art curators commentary was informative and succinct. It is one of the better online courses I have taken.

I was disappointed that my final project peer review did not provide me with any comments or feedback. Just a number rating without an explanation.

By María F

Apr 13, 2021

Un curso perfecto para realizar simultáneamente con Modern Art & Ideas, ya que comparten contenido.

Genial para aprender a elegir temas de forma original y trabajarlos de manera que el alumnado aprenda, se motive y disfrute.

By Nina P S

May 30, 2017

This is a good course that can gives us ideas how to teach art to our students with some sections that very interesting.

By Maureen W

Mar 16, 2018

Excellent, well paced, interesting, good instructors, great usable well defined ideas. Thank you.

By Jennifer A

Jul 8, 2019

Lots of great ideas for the classroom and insight into unfamiliar works of art.

By María S C L

Mar 1, 2021

Me gustaría que hubieran avisado el trabajo final desde antes

By Qufthaq A

May 7, 2017

Good course for Art teachers

By INGRID T H

Jun 15, 2017

It is a great course.

By Clara R

Mar 22, 2021

El curso ha estado bien. Me ha resultado básico. Ciertas cosas podían haberse profundizado, en vez de centrarse tanto en presentar obras o en mostrarnos las obras a través de los temas, podrían haber profundizado más en cómo construir dichos temas y dichas presentaciones de obras. Las herramientas más interesantes son los anexos de cada tema. Creo que los vídeos deberían haberse centrado en eso.

By Aisha B

Mar 13, 2018

It was good. I'm not a lover of contemporary art but i found it challenging in a positive way. This course has taught me look at contemporary art in a different way.

By Carla B

Feb 15, 2018

This class would be more effective with more participants. I enjoyed the content and learned a lot, the course giving me new ideas to pursue in my teaching.

By Emil

Jun 10, 2020

Not bad for an introductory course.

By Qi Z

Jul 23, 2020

Quiz questions are too difficult, some are too general, but the answers hide in small details. It is really unfriendly for a beginner.