Chevron Left
Back to Identifying Security Vulnerabilities

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Identifying Security Vulnerabilities by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
138 ratings
41 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you build a foundation of some of the fundamental concepts in secure programming. We will learn about the concepts of threat modeling and cryptography and you'll be able to start to create threat models, and think critically about the threat models created by other people. We'll learn the basics of applying cryptography, such as encryption and secure hashing. We'll learn how attackers can exploit application vulnerabilities through the improper handling user-controlled data. We'll gain a fundamental understanding of injection problems in web applications, including the three most common types of injection problems: SQL injection, cross-site scripting, and command injection. We'll also cover application authentication and session management where authentication is a major component of a secure web application and session management is the other side of the same coin, since the authenticated state of user requests need to be properly handled and run as one session. We'll learn about sensitive data exposure issues and how you can help protect your customer's data. We'll cover how to effectively store password-related information, and not to store the actual plaintext passwords. We'll participate in coding assignment that will help you to better understand the mechanisms for effectively storing password-related information. Along the way, we’ll discuss ways of watching out for and mitigating these issues and be able have some fun and exploit two different vulnerabilities in a web application that was designed to be vulnerable, called WebGoat....

Top reviews

DA

May 2, 2020

Instructor is very knowledgeable. Content was fantastic & modern. Quizzes weren't easy & really enforced the course content. My favorite course so far of the 4 part series.

HT

May 15, 2020

The course is really great and got to learn new & interesting concepts except that the webgoat installation tutorial/document is not up to date.

Filter by:

26 - 43 of 43 Reviews for Identifying Security Vulnerabilities

By Andrea G

Oct 6, 2021

Wonderful class! Amazing teacher :)

By Dr V C S

Apr 30, 2020

Very informative course

By MORA V J C

Mar 16, 2022

un curso muy completo.

By Daniel F O D

Aug 19, 2021

Excellent Course!

By MIGUEL A C L

Nov 16, 2020

It's great theme

By IBARRA L F

Apr 28, 2022

Excelente curso

By Ivan A R B

Mar 24, 2022

excellent

By APOORV G

Nov 16, 2020

Good one

By Mac L

Mar 31, 2022

Done

By Christoffer L

Sep 15, 2020

First week very theoretical, while the last three becomes more practical. I did however feel like I learnt something that I could use in everyday life. The additional resources and reading is really nice, though you might want to check up on the current OWASP top 10, since this course is from 2017.

By Wilco K

Oct 27, 2020

Excellent course with a broad coverage of all the aspects involved in Application Security, clearly explained and the peer graded labs were fun to do!

By Edinson G

Jun 28, 2021

Excelente curso, lo único que mejoraría es que para el último ejercicio, indicaran claramente en que versión de Java se debe hacer.

By Kevin P

Jul 20, 2020

Really awesome to learn about vulnerabilities.

By Dr. D R

Apr 13, 2020

I was excellent

By Paramananda M

Nov 8, 2020

Good

By Nickolas D

Jun 4, 2021

The information presented in this course is easy to digest and on point when discussing the identification of security vulnerabilities. The information related to ciphers, hash functions, threat model description, cryptography usage, OWASP, various security vulnerabilities (sql injection, cross site scripting, permissions, authentication via cookies and sessions, etc) were all fairly modern (I think?) and well explained. WebGoat and Burp were cool tools (once I got them working...) and their associated labs (while not required for completion) were useful and interesting. While the information was good and fairly well presented in general, I think this class would be greatly improved with an integrated jupyter notebook for the java programming sections. This would allow auto-graded input/output based assignments. Additionally create more jupyter notebook assignments in each module to further solidify chapter topics. The labs were difficult to setup: the tools themselves seem to be fairly old and required a bit of configuring to get them to work correctly. The assignment is out of date: javax has been deprecated since the release of java 9 in 2017; the assignments should be updated to use the latest technologies. If a jupyter notebook was used the above problems would be solved, as the lab/assignment environment would be pre-configured correctly. Additionally, this would guarantee all students access to the same development environment and that all the necessary packages are available.

By Praveen P

May 21, 2020

Peer Grade Assignments Marking By Indian Peers are validating our assignments very poor manner overall very bad attitude

By Balraj B

Nov 28, 2021

T​he peer reviews ruin the course.