Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Immunology: Death by Friendly Fire

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Immunology: Death by Friendly Fire by Rice University

4.7
stars
192 ratings
28 reviews

About the Course

Course 3 of a three course specialization called Fundamentals of Immunology. Each course in the specialization presents material that builds on the previous course's material. This is the third leg of the journey through the defenses your body uses to keep you healthy. In the first course we learned about innate immunity and B cell function. In the second course we studied T cell function and coordination of the immune response. Fundamentals of Immunology: Death by Friendly Fire introduces students to the basic functions of the adaptive and innate immune systems. The early lectures survey cells, tissues and organs using metaphors, cartoons and models to improve understanding and retention. After describing the form, function, origin and varieties of antibodies, subsequent lectures provide details on the mechanism of the generation of variation. The course provides animations of gene rearrangement and class switching and descriptions of affinity maturation correlated with detailed physical models of antibody structure. The final lecture reviews these concepts in anatomical context. Testing employs multiple choice questions testing facts, concepts, and application of principles. Questions may refer to diagrams, drawing and photographs used in lecture and reproduced in the outline. What You’ll Learn: A survey of immune cells and how they attack pathogens, with emphasis on the mechanism of inducing apoptosis and details of Antibody Directed Cell-mediated Cytotoxicity. The inflammatory response and mechanisms of generating tolerance, presented in sequence to emphasize the decision making involved in controlling attacks. A survey of autoimmune disease, their characteristics, cause and treatment. Survey of hypersensitivity reactions, including allergy, anaphylaxis, anemias, granulomas, and a variety of skin responses. This is accompanied by identification, prevention and treatment. The final discussion of preventing transplant rejection is preceded by a detailed unit on antibody technology and the methods of testing for incompatibility....

Top reviews

MF
Sep 8, 2020

Highly recommended to Biology and Life Science students.\n\nI liked the enthusiastic way of teaching from Dr. Alma\n\nIf you have a small interest, go ahead.

IS
Apr 21, 2020

Amazing course, brilliant lecturer, entertaining and fascinating presentation of complex material that contributes to quick memorization.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 28 Reviews for Fundamentals of Immunology: Death by Friendly Fire

By Wenlei Y

Apr 8, 2020

This course connects the knowledge points introduced in the previous two courses, offers a systematic overview of immunity from a cell level to an individual level, and provides information with clinical implication. The practice quiz has a few mistakes, but you can figure them out in the discussion forum. Overall, I recommend it!

By Chris P

Jan 13, 2020

Third course of lectures in a series that gives a great introduction to immunology. This is a more applied course compared to the two earlier courses, but I'd recommend starting with the earlier lecture series unless you have a prior grasp of immunology fundamentals.

By Irina S

Apr 21, 2020

Amazing course, brilliant lecturer, entertaining and fascinating presentation of complex material that contributes to quick memorization.

By Durbar S

Jan 3, 2020

the course demands the application of the other two courses. the material was sufficient. Prof. Novotny was really good and funny.

By Sunil S

May 17, 2020

The best and concise course on the important fundamental immunological process.

By Lorenzo T I

Oct 27, 2020

Dr. Novotny never failed to amaze me from the first course up to this last part of the series. This specialization provides a well-structured flow of thought that will help you digest the humungous amount of information and overwhelming terminologies inherent in the field.

By Arunangsu S

Aug 21, 2020

I never had a professor like Dr Alma Mam. She has been excellent throughout the specialization course. Although I will have to go through all of this again to grasp the concept even better thanks for making it so smooth

By MUHAMMAD Z A F

Sep 9, 2020

Highly recommended to Biology and Life Science students.

I liked the enthusiastic way of teaching from Dr. Alma

If you have a small interest, go ahead.

By Piatkova M A

Jul 15, 2020

I really like this course, it's a great chance to understand the complicated things in a simple and funny way

By Sholeye M I

Jul 7, 2020

Excellent lecture and a very good content and a brilliant and funny lecturer.

By Prarthana S

Oct 27, 2020

Very interesting course with great insights into the field of immunology

By Dr. V V

Jul 15, 2020

Interesting course and more informative. Thank for Teacher

By GUTALA S

Jul 21, 2020

Very useful go me and I had gain more knowledge from u

By SANDRA M S

Aug 15, 2020

This is really amazing.. Prof. Alma is the best

By Prashanna K

May 10, 2020

Excellent content with a very good instructor.

By JASEERA N

Jun 16, 2020

Excellent presentation

By Rui H

Feb 22, 2020

Very helpful to me.

By AGRAHARI A R G

Sep 20, 2020

very good course

By Mohamad A M

Apr 8, 2020

perfect course

By Sathyaprakash

Sep 12, 2020

Very good one

By MOHAMMAD G A A

Jul 30, 2020

Good course

By fernando g u

Jun 14, 2020

excelente

By Nikhesh C

Apr 29, 2020

very good

By Mintu S

Sep 30, 2020

Cool!!

By Mary R

Nov 2, 2020

Another interesting and well taught course. I would have preferred more of an emphasis on disease and treatment of autoimmune diseases and hypersensitivity, at this point. I think most people know someone who suffers from these disorders. This material was much more easy to relate in the course than, for example, details of the different types of Elisa assays.