Chevron Left
Back to An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 2)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 2) by Rice University

4.9
stars
1,109 ratings
280 reviews

About the Course

This two-part course is designed to help students with very little or no computing background learn the basics of building simple interactive applications. Our language of choice, Python, is an easy-to learn, high-level computer language that is used in many of the computational courses offered on Coursera. To make learning Python easy, we have developed a new browser-based programming environment that makes developing interactive applications in Python simple. These applications will involve windows whose contents are graphical and respond to buttons, the keyboard and the mouse. In part 2 of this course, we will introduce more elements of programming (such as list, dictionaries, and loops) and then use these elements to create games such as Blackjack. Part 1 of this class will culminate in building a version of the classic arcade game "Asteroids". Upon completing this course, you will be able to write small, but interesting Python programs. The next course in the specialization will begin to introduce a more principled approach to writing programs and solving computational problems that will allow you to write larger and more complex programs....

Top reviews

IS
Jun 22, 2016

This course is the best course I have ever taken. It covers all the topics very well. And importantly I love the treat at the end of every week. The ultimate showdown between the two best instructors.

JG
Apr 1, 2020

A very elegant yet fun way to explain python. I have used the skills learned here and build very useful scripts and python-based micro-services in my current company that have enabled many use cases.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 275 Reviews for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 2)

By Antonio V

Sep 7, 2020

It is a very good introduction to object-oriented programming, with projects that help to implement all the knowledge acquired in Part 1.

By Nisarg T

Sep 25, 2016

Amazing Course. Enjoyed every bit of it. Only constraint is that of finding time for the course in my current hectic daily routine.

By Omais R K

Feb 9, 2019

Great course for an introduction to programming and Python. With projects to work on every week, you learn the material well.

By sajad a

Dec 18, 2018

Great course .Teachers are awesome and fun .Nice course material .Go get it attitude habit cultivation.No spoon feeding.

By Derk-Jan W

Dec 1, 2016

Excellent and fun course (part1+2), thank you very much! It has given me the head start in Python I was looking for.

By Jon V

Dec 14, 2016

This was a great python class!! The projects were practical and useful in understanding python for a everyday use.

By Yurchenko M

Jul 22, 2016

Thank you for course! It's very interesting and quite challenging. Very nice teachers and fun, but cozy atmosphere!

By Rudy H

Jan 31, 2019

It is a great course, highly recommended, learn so much. Instructors are first class, they are fun to learn from.

By Yiang Z

May 11, 2017

Thanks for all the time and energy these professors put into this course. If you go through it, you wont regret!!

By Deleted A

May 26, 2019

Great way to improve Python skills. The course teaches object-oriented programming. Instructors are excellent.

By John J

Feb 6, 2018

Really good class, very well organized and you learn a lot about programming. Great for people just starting.

By Jonathan L

Feb 6, 2017

First of all, it is free to enroll.

Second, lecturers provide clear instructions and guideline for learning

By Sergey V

Dec 18, 2016

Absolutely great! The course gave all the basics to make it possible to explore Python further.

Thank you!

By Shishir S K

Jun 12, 2020

Excellent Course. The lessons and assignments really test out the learner's knowledge in Python.

Thanks.

By Lien C

Jan 15, 2019

Learnt a lot about programming and created some amazing mini games! All thanks to the AMAZING teachers!

By HJ P

Sep 17, 2018

Challenging but rewarding, this is really helpful course to improve programming skills in python! :)

By Ze C

Feb 9, 2017

Final project 'Asteroid' is really fun! It makes me feel really having some deliverables in the end.

By Paula B

May 29, 2020

Just like Part 1, I had an amazing experience again. Love the content and these professors so much!

By HerlinHe

Jul 30, 2019

一门非常生动有趣的课程,以游戏为载体讲解了python的编译方法和技巧。寓教于乐,教授们都非常可爱,平易近人。并且教授们开发了一个很好的在线编译平台供我们使用。希望能够再学习本专项课程的其他部分。

By Rohan G L

Oct 30, 2017

Scott and Joe are great. John is terrible please eliminate him/redo his videos with one of you.

By McWelling H T

Sep 21, 2017

Excellent course. Highly recommend (along with the pre-req) for those looking to pick up python.

By Abhishek J

Sep 23, 2019

Thanks for this wonderful and interactive course. I thoroughly enjoyed learning python here.

By Ivan

Jul 8, 2020

I've finally understood classes! Very well done course. Done with love and professionalism.

By Wei-Mien M H

Apr 26, 2018

Great course organization and entertaining coursework! I really like this Python course!

By Jayadev

Apr 13, 2018

Very good.

Doing the peer assessment can become slightly tedious.

Thank you professors!:)