Chevron Left
Back to An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 2)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 2) by Rice University

4.9
stars
956 ratings
245 reviews

About the Course

This two-part course is designed to help students with very little or no computing background learn the basics of building simple interactive applications. Our language of choice, Python, is an easy-to learn, high-level computer language that is used in many of the computational courses offered on Coursera. To make learning Python easy, we have developed a new browser-based programming environment that makes developing interactive applications in Python simple. These applications will involve windows whose contents are graphical and respond to buttons, the keyboard and the mouse. In part 2 of this course, we will introduce more elements of programming (such as list, dictionaries, and loops) and then use these elements to create games such as Blackjack. Part 1 of this class will culminate in building a version of the classic arcade game "Asteroids". Upon completing this course, you will be able to write small, but interesting Python programs. The next course in the specialization will begin to introduce a more principled approach to writing programs and solving computational problems that will allow you to write larger and more complex programs....

Top reviews

IS

Jun 23, 2016

This course is the best course I have ever taken. It covers all the topics very well. And importantly I love the treat at the end of every week. The ultimate showdown between the two best instructors.

JG

Apr 02, 2020

A very elegant yet fun way to explain python. I have used the skills learned here and build very useful scripts and python-based micro-services in my current company that have enabled many use cases.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 239 Reviews for An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 2)

By Eugen W

Dec 20, 2017

This is a really great course. It really pushed me and I gained quite a bit from it. The professors are very well versed in the topic and they do a very nice job in presenting the subject matter.

However, be warned that you will need to do some outside research and reading on the subjects covered. Especially when the topic of classes is covered. The subject can get confusing quickly and some backup books or websites will be very useful in understanding them.

The coding is done in python 2.5 or 2.6 (I believe). As of now, the current iteration is 3.6. This is not a problem. The logic and code structure that they are teaching is the same regardless of which version you end up using and it is really not an issue to transition from 2.5/2.6 to 3.6. So, please don't let this prevent you from signing up. You'll gain a real sense of accomplishment when you finish.

By Milos P

Jul 22, 2018

This was an amazing course! I loved everything from the well-thought-out structure of each assignment down to the personalities of the professors. While I have been programming (on-and-off) for quite a while, I learned DEEPLY. Rather than focusing on blasting students with excessive amounts of information, the professors insert the right knowledge at exactly the right time, making the learning process organic and intriguing. They motivate concepts by application, making it readily apparent why a new tool is necessary for each next step. I look forward to completing the specialization this course is a part of. Thank you!

By Filip Z

Apr 02, 2019

Great course. New concepts are introduced in a undestandable manner. The miniprojects and quizzes are fun and interesting. They can all be solved by paying attention to the class videos and materials, however, they still leave some room for students to figure out stuff on their own. The teachers are great and have a very friendly, fun approach. You can see they put a lot of thought into how to explain complex topics like object oriented programming so that students do not only learn the syntax, but really understand the idea behind those concepts. Some basic highschool math is needed but the teachers explain all of it.

By Duane Y

May 04, 2017

I loved this course, it's doing for me exactly what I hoped it would by forcing me to think computationally. The projects we've built are great, but the way I see problems and find ways of breaking them apart into smaller, more manageable components has been an invaluable skill that is even manifesting itself in little ways in my daily life. Thank you Coursera and thank you Rice University Computer Science Department! Now on to the remaining courses in the specialization. :-)

By Avnish

Sep 19, 2018

The best course I have taken. It has changed my thinking about everything related in computer from a simple program to games, It has given me a deep understanding of how things work, and has given an enormous amount of confidence. The content is awesome and so do the instructors.

If you are having any doubt, just go for it. I promise, you won't regret later!

By Maksim U

Jan 03, 2019

Everything was already said as the course is going for quite a long time. It really is great. Having absolutely zero programming experience before the first course of the specialization, some assignments and quizzes were tough yet solvable in the end. I definitely recommend the course to anyone willing to make their first steps into programming.

By Mohit T

Jan 11, 2017

Moves at a faster pace than part 1 (which is a prerequisite unless you are already familiar with programming. But the final projects each week are even more rewarding and it maintains the sense of fun by the instructors as part 1.

By Chris G

Mar 10, 2019

Fantastic course, pleasantly surprised at top quality lessons and you can really see that the instructors love to teach the course also. Would recommend to anyone interested in learning coding.

By Don S

Mar 09, 2017

I've finished my specialization in "Python for Everyone" and thought this specialization would be a nice follow on. The instructors are funny and try to keep it light, but it certainly is NOT an intro level course. It took me nearly 8 months to finish the final 3 projects. I won't be continuing this specialization. It might have been OK if they had an intro to OOP that was a prereq for both of these courses

By Peyman P

Nov 26, 2017

I am a 53 year-old physician with no previous programming experience who took this course purely to fulfill an intellectual curiosity. I was rewarded beyond my expectations. I have been through many educational experiences in my life, both as a student and as a teacher. I recognize good teaching when I see it. These Rice professors are the cream of the crop. They are brilliant, articulate, and amicable. Also, they have created a web-based Python coding environment called CodeSkulptor (complete with its own graphical user interface and detailed documentation) that makes it a snap to get it started with Python. You can keep using CodeSkulptor forever after you have finished this class. I finished parts 1 and 2 of this course in a few short weeks and got hooked on the experience. I plan to keep taking additional courses by these professors in this specialization on Coursera. I give this course my highest recommendation.

By Alexandra L M

Jun 14, 2017

As an extension to Part 1, this course flows very well.

I believe they tackled OOP in a very logical way. Not having OOP experience, I found this fairly easy to pick up (although it took me about a week to really wrap my head around it since I am use to a different coding style).

Final project is super fun! Although if I had one complaint it is that they shouldn't have given so much in the template. I found myself eager (and a solid challenge) to code RiceRocks from scratch.

All-in-all, this was a great course and I really enjoyed this class!

By sue142857

Jan 13, 2020

I am a python beginner and "An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (part 1 & 2)' are my first python courses. I am very glad I chose them as my introduction courses. There are more than usage of lists, tuples, dictionaries, etc., in these courses. I also enjoyed the processs of constructing and playing my own game projects. It is unbelievable that I can make a star war game after just one-month learning. But, it did happen to me. I hope more beginners can get benefits from this well-organized and interesting course.

By Jeremy L

Jan 03, 2018

Excellent course. You can tell that the profs worked hard to put this course together. Everything about it works: the lectures introduce new Python concepts; practice problems allow you to, well, practice using those new concepts; the quizzes reinforce those concepts; and the mini-project challenge you to put the concepts to use in an interactive game. The games are actually games that someone might enjoy playing - Memory, Blackjack, and esp. RiceRocks. Highly recommend this course. The profs are funny and entertaining, too!

By Muratcan A

Feb 18, 2018

I had completed the Python for Everybody course on Coursera, from Michigan Uni. and this 2-part IIPP course was a great follow-up to that. I enjoyed the assignments very much and the instructors were really enjoying themselves which made the class very fun to follow. This is a great course which will teach you the basics of Pyhton and also how to implement GUIs and how to code simple games. Now I'm continuing with the rest of the specialization...

By Mini A

Jun 01, 2018

A perfect course to learn Python,without facing any trouble.The content is perfect combo of lecture & enough practice.All respected instructors(especially Joe and Scott)are so much energetic and enthusiastic.Their energy has kept me energized and connected throughout the course.The instructors have covered every smallest concept.Content is well structured to guide step by step.And Coursera is always a great platform to learn any subject.

By zc52rd

Aug 21, 2017

Maybe the best Python course ever. The experience I've gained here is not only valuable but also interesting.

I've learnt a lot in this class and finishing Asteroids makes me proud. Furthermore, moving on is easy based on the knowledge here and the short and sweet post-class videos help as well.

Thanks to the nice instructors and TAs. Joe Warren, Scott Rixner, John Greiner, Stephen Wong and Michael Cimino, thank you very much!

By Giovanna A S

Jun 03, 2017

Dear Professors,

You are amazing!!! All I had to say about all course it same then I said in the first video, and I am continuing the courses from this specialization only because I really loved this one, and I learnt a lot.

We have an ocean between us, but you all Joe, Scott, John and Stephen (I am sure he contributes to this be real) made diference on my life, and I think, in the life of many others.

Thank you all very much!

By James B

Jul 16, 2018

One cannot help but to learn a lot from this very well-designed course. The projects take time, but are extremely worthwhile. I appreciate the emphasis on letting the student figure things out, given clear, helpful instruction in lecture. The required leap from lecture to coding project is just right. Highly recommended. ... I think I can already -after a week - strongly recommend the next in the series, PoC.

By Tibra A

Jan 08, 2018

This is a great course. It builds on the previous course where the student is introduced to event-based programming. In this course the emphasis is on object-oriented programming and the instructors do a great job. They provide a lot of help in terms and the way that they build up the course the assignments almost write themselves. I enjoyed doing this course a lot and learned a lot from it.

By Evgeniia P

Aug 19, 2018

It was an exciting experience! Very interesting course with a lot of useful information and fun at the same time. Teachers are very nice and provide the information in a very convenient form. You have a right amount of theory and lots of practice which is great (cause you can't be a real programmer without righting code). Thank you, guys, for this great course!

By Joshua B

May 30, 2016

I learned a great deal. No shortage of frustration in getting the mini-projects spot on, but that's just the learning curve for (Python) programming. If it wasn't challenging, it wouldn't be so rewarding, and rewarding it has been!

I learned to just never give up, that there's always a way (within reason). Thank you to all the profs at Rice.

Cheers... Joshua B-A

By SuperAlloy

May 17, 2019

A great introduction course of python programming for beginners. Both the optional practices and the quiz are well designed to help me review what I've learned. I learned a lot and enjoy a lot in the mini-project in each week, though I got stuck many times in debugging the code. And the instructors are humorous, which makes the class more enjoyable.

By Ikseon K

Mar 22, 2018

This course is not easy for beginners, but meaningfully challenging. It's worth of challenging and trying. Also, professors try to do their best to deliver the contents as interesting as possible. I fully respect them and thank for their genuine efforts. I love this course and I'd like to recommend others to join. Thanks a lot, professors!

By Song S

May 26, 2019

I like this series of courses as it takes advantage of various mini-projects to help students completely understand concepts. Those mini-projects are not easy, but if you take previous courses, you can finish it after thinking carefully. I have acquired a lot in those courses, thanks everyone who make efforts to perfect those courses.

By Tamira G

Mar 31, 2018

Great class for beginners. Cool to go from zero to writing short game programmes. Huge confidence boost. The lecturers were great fun, there was a playful atmosphere hat made learning enjoyable. Not very theoretical, but more applied. I would recommend it for people who have never programmed before.