Chevron Left
Back to IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts by Google

4.8
stars
22,223 ratings

About the Course

This course covers a wide variety of IT security concepts, tools, and best practices. It introduces threats and attacks and the many ways they can show up. We’ll give you some background of encryption algorithms and how they’re used to safeguard data. Then, we’ll dive into the three As of information security: authentication, authorization, and accounting. We’ll also cover network security solutions, ranging from firewalls to Wifi encryption options. The course is rounded out by putting all these elements together into a multi-layered, in-depth security architecture, followed by recommendations on how to integrate a culture of security into your organization or team. At the end of this course, you’ll understand: ● how various encryption algorithms and techniques work as well as their benefits and limitations. ● various authentication systems and types. ● the difference between authentication and authorization. ● how to evaluate potential risks and recommend ways to reduce risk. ● best practices for securing a network. ● how to help others to grasp security concepts and protect themselves....

Top reviews

OA

Jun 30, 2023

Great course for beginners and experts. Easy to understand and a good refresher for those who have been into IT for a long date. Recommend it to everyone looking for a high quality course on coursera.

PK

Apr 9, 2022

Great course for beginners and experts. Easy to understand and a good refresher for those who have been into IT for a long date. Recommend it to everyone looking for a high quality course on coursera.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 3,553 Reviews for IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts

By Gijs O

Mar 24, 2021

Many thanks to the teachers, who explained key principles in a clear and accessible way. I appreciated their knowledge, experience, enthusiasm, and encouragement. Thanks to Coursera for providing this user-friendly learning platform. Via regular assessments, I could apply principles I had learned and consolidate my understanding. Help Center staff responded to queries promptly and were friendly and supportive. The knowledge I gained from these courses has boosted my confidence and will serve as a foundation for further reading and practice. I would not hesitate to recommend this certificate programme to anyone wanting to develop their IT and IT support knowledge.

By Dana A F

Apr 14, 2022

I must be honest...module 3 was my preferred since it had some practical features, then I liked a lot the last module since contained information which I was really familiar and also other that I didn’t know at all. In module 1 I liked a lot the part with "building" a computer and all the useful information received in order to start better understanding all the IT stuff. I've struggle a lot in module 2, the info was so dense, a lot of terms were new for me and a bit difficult to understand but I managed to pass through them. Overall it was an interesting experience, I've learn a lot of things and hopefully I will have sun the chance to apply some of them.

By Patrick L

Dec 26, 2021

I absolutely loved this course. It was a great ending to the IT Tech Support Certificate because we could understand a lot of the concepts used to breach networks. I loved this course in the way they illustrated what historical hacks have occurred due to oversights and unseen gaps. I've learned the bad guys are just as up on things as the good guys, sometimes even more so. What a challenging environment IT security is. This course only scratched the surface as I'm sure there is a lot more to know, but it definitely does all it can to prepare on the defenders side of things. I'd recommend this course. It's a great starter for an online six week course.

By Kevin L

May 21, 2021

Wow! Here I am at the end of this certificate, but definitely not at the end of continuing to learn and keep my skills fresh. I never ever thought about quitting, but this hasn't be easy! But, things that are worth it rarely are easy.

This was a module I was able to really think about how my company handles things for security and privacy, especially with Covid as things have moved to a more remote focused level. I'll want dive into these topics further even though my role is focused on the front end. Thanks to everyone that put this course together, and I look forward to seeing what other certificates I can gain. Gotta keep going!

Thank you,

Kevin

By Francis L

Nov 30, 2020

A good course wrap up, I found the topics on this section very engaging as it is something we can all actively relate to (the safety of our devices). There was a lot of cool new concepts to learn and the pacing was very smooth in that I found myself clicking the next video so fast because I WANTED to know the next topic. The great thing about this course was it also included the interview strategies and helpful advice in the end so that it does not leave you hanging. Honestly my biggest fear was completing the whole program and not even know how to speak in an interview. Definitely would recommend the Google IT program to all!

By Kerdia J

Nov 4, 2020

I'm thrilled to have just completed the last course in Google IT Professional Certifcate! I enjoyed this course and really appreciated the practicals. At times it got a bit technical and that's expected, this is IT! 😊 There are some things I need to brush up on, but overall this course is great, with customer service and interview training included, made it more all rounded. This has been a wonderful learning process, made me more confident that I am being productive with my time by learning new and valuable skills. Thank you so much Google and Cousera!

By Fernando F

Jul 21, 2023

The hands-on labs and real-world scenarios provided a great opportunity to apply what I learned in a practical setting, helping me build essential IT skills.

As I graduate from this certificate program, I am most excited about the career opportunities that await me. The knowledge and skills I gained throughout the course have equipped me to pursue a career in the IT industry with confidence. I look forward to utilizing my newly acquired expertise to provide technical support and contribute to the success of organizations in need of IT professionals.

By Jashawa P

Jun 4, 2023

Was a great course for me to take as a prerequisit to my ultimate goal of Front End Web Development. The skills I have learned throughout this course have already helped me in my Front End Web Development course by teaching fundamentals about IT and giving me a unique perspective. I believe this is a great stand alone course for those wanting to dive into the IT field and its many options. This course will give those who successfully complete this course the knowledge and confidence in an entry level IT role. Learn with Confidence!

By Ritche L

Jun 22, 2023

Thank you, including Google and Coursera; at last, I finish this opportunity for providing this course. Your dedication to providing high-quality education and the opportunity to learn IT Support skills is genuinely commendable. This course has equipped me with the knowledge and confidence to embark on a career in the IT industry. Thank you for investing in my professional development and empowering me with the skills needed to succeed. Your commitment to education is making a positive impact on individuals like me.

By Rhoda O F

Feb 5, 2023

This course has prepared me to Launch my career in Information Security, Specializing in Penetration Testing.

As a mother of four, I never imagined i would be this engaged. Thank you Google, Thank you Coursera.

I recommend this course and the entire Google IT Support Professional certificate to everyone.

RF

By PEDRO H M F

Sep 6, 2020

This course taught me the arts of cyber security, how to protect and protect my company from hacker attacks, what are the main types of attacks and how to defend, what are the main vulnerabilities and how to minimize them, methods and ways to ensure that information be transmitted in a safe, confidential and authentic way, I learned a lot from this course and the teacher is great, taught each step in detail and gave practical activities on how to put the course into practice. Thank you all.

By Idris B

Jul 7, 2023

My most favorite part of taking this certificate program were the very fun and interactive videos. There are many notes to read but it all balances when you have a read aloud, accessibility extension. The instructors are knowledgeable and passionate about the course they taught, which made the program all the more pallatable.

I encourage any one thinking about taking the course to dive in. It has been am amazingly enjoyable journey for me and I feel you will be thrilled too.

By Van L

Apr 13, 2022

I am very very happy that I found the Couresa online program, I think, this program is one of the very best program to study online, reasonable free, and very profesional platfrom easy to follow, plenty of topic to select.

I have been telling all of my friends and all the peoples that I know about how greatful of Couresa,

Thank you so much for create such a wonder program that you can help alot of people to gain more knowledge

that they can improve their jobs

Van Le,

By Luis

Jul 29, 2020

I genuinely enjoyed this course, it was very informative and made me aware of small changes that I can make in my personal home network to be more secure. It also gave me a great overview of all the possible attack vectors, which might be a little overwhelming but great to know.

There aren't as many practice exercises as some of the other courses in the specialization but they have the information in this course has been amazing, especially for a beginner like myself.

By Jing W Z

May 17, 2023

great introduction and very heavy knowledge. I advice not to rush it as it can hurt your brain and you won't retain much knowledge. I took about 4 weeks and took my time to dream about this. Do some practice question and rewatch most topic. I would test myself on what I just watch. Reading all the instruction carefully is important. I know during the lab, copy and pasting the CLI is pointless. I would try to type them out and read up on each command line meaning.

By Autumn S

Mar 20, 2023

The course was very informational. It had enough information for you to understand everything by the time you are done with each section. I noticed most courses just have way too much information and I could not retain it all. You can do it at your own pace and take as long as you need to. I did have one issue on the Linux part and the customer service kindly helped me through it step by step. I would recommend it if you are looking into online courses.

By ABIBOU F

Jul 9, 2020

I am among the first people to take since course in 2018 but I didn't have the opportunity to finish the chapter on IT Security. I have a bachelor in Arts and Humanities in 2010 and I was not sure what path to take if I am going back to school. Thanks to this course, I decided to major in Computer Information Systems and will graduate with an Associate degree in Spring 2021.

Thank you all the instructors. You guys are awesome. Love you.

By Vincent K

Oct 5, 2023

Prevents malicious threats and potential security breaches that can have a huge impact on your organization. Helps ensure only authorized users can access and make changes to sensitive information that resides in your internal company network. Protects the organization's ability to function. Enables the safe operation of applications implemented on the organization's IT systems. Protects the data the organization collects and uses.

By Krishna S

Sep 16, 2020

The all 5 courses are really well organised in-terms of their importance in today IT industry. I really enjoyed all courses it's refresh all concepts and improve yourself to do more in better way. I can say it was right decision for me to go for Google IT support professional certification. I hope everybody whether fresher or experienced will learn from this and utilize in real scenario to be a better IT professional.

By JOSEPH B

Aug 29, 2022

This course has up my skill in the IT fraternity as an entry level support specialist. I am now confident to apply for jobs in the IT field.  Big thanks to Coursera and Google for making these studies a reality for some of us who have literally near no knowledge before the start of the program. I really appreciate all the instructors for taking me along till the end of this program, your impact was/is phenomenal.

By Chris A L

Feb 23, 2023

Overall, the course provides a valuable learning experience for anyone interested in pursuing a career in IT, and it equips learners with the skills and knowledge necessary to address the challenges faced by organizations in the rapidly evolving technological landscape. The entire course far exceeded my expectations in content, delivery and ability to be engaging on such diverse and technological realms.

By Cynthia D S

Jul 26, 2020

Superb. Thoroughly comprehensive. You will not find a course with this thorough covering of the subject matter. I gave it 5 stars even though the QwikLab had two problems: 1) an error when connecting to the Secure Shell and 2) convoluted instructions. Sadly, QwikLab does not seem to care about their error. This class is otherwise outstanding and prepares you for an intermediate cybersecurity class.

By Mª N L C

Aug 10, 2020

It is being tough to accomplish this course for someone like me with a very basic knowledge of computer science. Nevertheless, thanks to the great work done by coordinators and teachers, I have been able to easily follow all their instructions and do my tasks. I have gained a deeper understanding of what is behind the scenes of an internet connection and how important it is to keep safe from attackers.

By AVINASH A

Oct 8, 2022

Hey..!!

Myself Avinash Andhale, first ofall thank you soo much to the whole team of the faculties and the coordinators And also thanks to the coursera for giving me these golden opportunity to complete the course. It's an amazing course we get to learn and experience a lot's of skills and knowledge. i have gained a lot's of technical skills & techniques to enhance and build my career successfully.

By Eugen M N

Jun 13, 2022

I am overwhelm with the content of this course. I never expected to cover much in a short time. The course is loaded with so much rich material about security until i fel i am ready to take seat for the CompTIA A+ certification. I wish to thank Merit America and Cousera for a great JOB. I am certainly coming back to specialise on cybersecurity. I appreciate the course instructors for their savvy.