Chevron Left
Back to Emerging Trends & Technologies in the Virtual K-12 Classroom

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Emerging Trends & Technologies in the Virtual K-12 Classroom by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
504 ratings
145 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Emerging Trends and Technologies in K-12! This course will help you evaluate and implement technology in the most useful way within your virtual classroom setting. We will discuss the possibilities and challenges of using technology in fully online environments, although many of the ideas can be applied to blended and traditional environments as well. This course is focused on emerging trends and technologies, specifically for K-12 instructors. Most of the content will be aimed at high school-aged students in the U.S., or ages 13-18 in other countries. Due to the nature of some of the internet-based technologies, young students are required to be 13 or older to participate. That said, many of the examples we discuss can apply to younger ages. This course is focused on virtual education. In other words, blended or fully online teaching and learning experiences. Nevertheless, you can apply the concepts to a traditional class, adult education, and higher education. Lastly, please note that many of the examples will be U.S. based. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: • Define educational technology's role in supporting the virtual environment. • Identify and evaluate existing and emerging technologies for virtual course instruction or curriculum development. • Use collaborative learning tools to design and assess learning activities. • Use game-based strategies to deepen student engagement in virtual courses. • Research, evaluate, and employ open content in virtual education. • Debate the role of MOOCs in virtual K-12 education....

Top reviews

DP
Jul 29, 2020

Maybe for me there wasn't so much new ideas but I count myself as advanced in ICT field also ;) But course is build up really well and this resource pdf-s in every week are especially good ...

GC
Apr 13, 2021

HIGLY RECOMMEND THIS COURSERA TO OTHER STUDENTS WHO WOULD LIKE TIO LEARN MORE IN EDUCATIONAL TECHNOLOGY, INSTRUCTIONAL MATERIALS, COLLABORATION AND OPEN RESOURCES EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 142 Reviews for Emerging Trends & Technologies in the Virtual K-12 Classroom

By Catherine B

Mar 20, 2019

This course was very informative and allowed me to see how and what can be done in the classroom that best meets the needs of the students in terms of technology.

By Richard D V

Sep 12, 2020

Thanks for this great course. I was able to share great amount of new information to my co-teachers here in the Philippines. Thanks and God bless :-)

By Jitendra Y

Jun 20, 2020

it is a very good experience to know the use of social media and recent trends in technology by this course. definitely there is a value addition

By Farah f

Jul 13, 2020

this course is very helpful for students for increasing their knowledge and how to take assignments and quizzes through different technologies

By Fazlur R

Nov 8, 2016

The course is designed in a very structured manner and the topics are well paced. The assessment and reviews enhances independent learning

By Dr. J A

Jun 29, 2020

this course was interactive with plenty of resources. The final quiz was a little bit difficult. I have to go through the videos much time

By Laurel B

May 29, 2017

This course provided so many useful ideas and methods for using technology to teach various subjects online. I definitely recommend it!

By Cristina M C M

Apr 2, 2018

Really good course, even if you are not a k12 professor, you can apply this knowledge in a higher education environment.

By Upananda P

Jun 14, 2020

This is very good course which update us regarding latest technologies and tools which can be used in the classroom.

By nimra y

Sep 19, 2020

Very much helpful in learning how to use social technologies and games as educational learning in Virtual Education

By Jennifer K

May 24, 2017

I especially enjoy Melissa and Jesse's personalities and the familial feeling their continued interviews provide!

By Alvaro C C

Aug 12, 2020

Very interesting course where I discovered a lot about different technologies to implement in my classrooms.

By Ruth R

Apr 18, 2020

This course contained very relevant information that I can use immediately in my current teaching situation.

By ravi c

Mar 12, 2019

good hands on course, assignment part is quite well thought one. which helps to understand the process well.

By Ioulia P

Apr 20, 2020

Really helpful. I really liked the lecturer. It offers you so many different important web pages. Thumb up!

By Valentina A R C

Mar 26, 2019

I loved how everything that was taught was given with examples to use in different ways, very practical!

By Vickie B

May 18, 2017

Great info. Pretty fast-paced, which worked well with my schedule. Finished a week early, even!

By Ing. J H B S

Feb 5, 2018

Pretty good contents and resources to apply in a virtual classroom. The teacher is great!

By Rajesh M

Feb 11, 2021

A wonderful opportunity to see how technology is emerging in K-12 education.

By Kunal S

Jun 1, 2020

Too Many quiz questions in 5th week. Instead of 35 it should 25 questions.

By July A B M

Jan 28, 2019

Thank you for all this knowledge that you share and allow us to learn.

By Phyoe K K

May 8, 2016

Nice course and very engaging although in virtual learning.

By cristina a

Sep 20, 2020

absolutely satisfied with the content, thank you very much

By Dr. S S K

Jun 21, 2020

All the modules are nicely covered in the entire course

By Krzysztof F

Jul 15, 2017

Great course, very engaging with an amazing teacher!