Chevron Left
Back to Emerging Trends & Technologies in the Virtual K-12 Classroom

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Emerging Trends & Technologies in the Virtual K-12 Classroom by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
507 ratings
145 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Emerging Trends and Technologies in K-12! This course will help you evaluate and implement technology in the most useful way within your virtual classroom setting. We will discuss the possibilities and challenges of using technology in fully online environments, although many of the ideas can be applied to blended and traditional environments as well. This course is focused on emerging trends and technologies, specifically for K-12 instructors. Most of the content will be aimed at high school-aged students in the U.S., or ages 13-18 in other countries. Due to the nature of some of the internet-based technologies, young students are required to be 13 or older to participate. That said, many of the examples we discuss can apply to younger ages. This course is focused on virtual education. In other words, blended or fully online teaching and learning experiences. Nevertheless, you can apply the concepts to a traditional class, adult education, and higher education. Lastly, please note that many of the examples will be U.S. based. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: • Define educational technology's role in supporting the virtual environment. • Identify and evaluate existing and emerging technologies for virtual course instruction or curriculum development. • Use collaborative learning tools to design and assess learning activities. • Use game-based strategies to deepen student engagement in virtual courses. • Research, evaluate, and employ open content in virtual education. • Debate the role of MOOCs in virtual K-12 education....

Top reviews

DP
Jul 29, 2020

Maybe for me there wasn't so much new ideas but I count myself as advanced in ICT field also ;) But course is build up really well and this resource pdf-s in every week are especially good ...

GC
Apr 13, 2021

HIGLY RECOMMEND THIS COURSERA TO OTHER STUDENTS WHO WOULD LIKE TIO LEARN MORE IN EDUCATIONAL TECHNOLOGY, INSTRUCTIONAL MATERIALS, COLLABORATION AND OPEN RESOURCES EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 143 Reviews for Emerging Trends & Technologies in the Virtual K-12 Classroom

By Tracey J K

Oct 26, 2018

Excellent videos and engaging material. Some of the discussions of augmented reality and similar technologies is already somewhat out of date. The forums are repeatedly referenced, but were never available as I moved through the course.

By Nazarelys B A

Oct 27, 2020

It is a great opportunity to have tools relate to virtual education. It is very completed. Eventhough it is a course to virtual K-12 we can use all the strategies and tools provided to other levels of education.

By MAXIM B

Sep 9, 2020

Great course for those who are interested in implementing new teaching methods in their classroom! I especially liked conversations between Melissa and Jesse! Thank you for your hard work!

By Michael B

Apr 28, 2020

Very well structured, a perfect introduction to the available tools and how to make good use of them. Nevertheless, the course needs to be updated to reflect more recent tools.

By Junaid Z

Jul 21, 2020

Very nice and engaging course much better than the first part. Although I am teaching post graduates. I owuld recommend to all the people who are new to online education.

By Mudit M

Jun 22, 2020

Quite well designed. A lot of information to use when designing virtual classrooms. Discussion forums were missing. So couldn't learn from fellow participants.

By Mayur P

Jul 6, 2020

Definitely good for K 12 teachers, however the resources are still dated as the course is of 2014 and there have been tremendous changes since then.

By Robert M

Jul 24, 2019

The course presenter is engaging and is well prepared. Some of the links were broken but there is more than enough material to get through.

By Mr H S

Jun 4, 2020

Got introduced to very new technologies useful in online teaching and content development. but the video contents are unnecessarily long.

By Carolina C

Oct 27, 2020

I think it was really rich on its content and I'd love to have another one like this, Now I have some new resources for my classes.

By Dayna A

Feb 10, 2017

A very thorough look at how technology can be incorporated into a blended learning or completely virtual learning environment.

By ANGELA M R T

Nov 30, 2020

It helps you understand what kinds of technologies and tools are available and which ones we can use for our online classes.

By Virginia K

Jul 25, 2020

The most valuable part was the resources page. Unfortunately, many of the links are outdated and no longer working.

By LeapingFrog E

Sep 2, 2016

Great info but some of the terminology was rather vague in explaining. Would of loved a glossary to refer to.

By Renee A

Jan 25, 2019

Some of the technology mentioned in this course is outdated, however this course is generally solid.

By Jamie A

Aug 26, 2020

It´s a great course. Many clear examples of how to use different platforms and awesome advice.

By Philipp T

Jul 25, 2020

The assessments were fine however I dislike quizzes. The info is quite US centric.

By Arvind V

Sep 19, 2020

Good course and valuable exposure for teachers from India

By Nanda P

Jun 26, 2020

great experience of using technology in virtual learning

By Januaira L

Nov 2, 2020

Very informative with lots of links to useful websites.

By Catalina

Sep 27, 2017

I found really interesting ideas to apply in class.

By karuna g

Aug 17, 2020

Nicely compiled with relevant information.

By RAMLATH K

Aug 8, 2020

EXCELLENT CORSE, REALLY WORTH TO TEACHERS.

By Rajeshwar M

May 26, 2020

Good Course contents. Enjoyed learning!!

By Raheema M R A

Oct 16, 2020

Interesting but final quiz was taugh