Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
5,569 ratings
1,681 reviews

About the Course

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(121 Reviews)
Creatively designed course
(270 Reviews)

Top reviews

AA
Jun 21, 2021

Interesting courses! I am learning a lot. Thank you very much Coursera. I have just completed course 2 and been delivered a certificate but I just can't access my new course. What should I do, please?

NZ
Jun 10, 2018

I'm really enjoying this course. I'm about half way through. I'm looking forrward to how the various courses in this series take me farther and farther into language learning theories and techniques.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 1,657 Reviews for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

By Cherli C L

Mar 10, 2017

It was incredible how I could understand why I teach, the way I teach and what my students want to learn. Thank you.

By Pinkie M

Mar 30, 2016

I think this will be a great course. I already have the Foundational course and Lesson Design and Assessment course.

By Hanna S

Sep 10, 2020

Very interesting and useful historical tour for better understanding of language learning processes and techniques!

By Waraporn P P

Jan 22, 2019

I have learned the essential SLA theories throughout the insightful and comprehensible videos. Thank you very much.

By Vasilii B

Oct 14, 2018

This course is very useful, full of important information that will help any teacher to become a true professional.

By Bernadette A

Sep 11, 2017

I enjoyed this course immensely. Thank you for giving me more materials and techniques to better my teaching style.

By Husam H O A

Dec 8, 2020

It was very effective and therefore I would definitely be interested in attending other classes in the same format

By sally q

Mar 19, 2020

A really informative course, but the names are a little bit confusing. Over all it was a really beneficial course.

By Edgar G

Mar 21, 2018

It was great course. Thanks a lot to all creators of this course. Especially to Dr. Shane Dixon for marvelous act.

By Jule B R

Jan 16, 2017

strongly reccomended. Video lessons shows exceptional clarity and provides all that is needed to pass the course.

By Charlotta S R

Oct 1, 2016

I think this is a great course for any beginner in the teaching field, interesting, intuitive and well structured!

By Susan D

Dec 29, 2015

***** Amazing! Absolutely Amazing! *****

This course has to be the easiest way to learn English Language Theories!

By karol m l

Aug 25, 2021

This course is amazing, I love the content and also all the activities and strategies applied, I recommend it :)

By Mariia K

Mar 28, 2020

I was amazed by this TEN course! Dr Dixon, you are a movie-STAR! Engaging, interesting, exciting and very useful!

By Kristen V

Aug 13, 2019

Amazing presentation of material. The course was fun and engaging, and I actually looked forward to each lesson.

By Daniela

Feb 10, 2019

Love this course and how everything is explained. Definitley beneficial when you want to start as an ESL teacher.

By Lucia J P

Apr 20, 2018

Great way to introduce many of the modern theories for language instruction. Loved the angel vs. devil arguments!

By Richard R

Oct 30, 2016

An excellent overview. A lot of material is covered but it's easily digestible...especially for working students!

By Tatiana

Jan 3, 2016

Very educative course presented in an exciting way! I never thought that learning theory might be so interesting.

By Louise M

Jan 30, 2019

It is really a good course. I have learned many useful theories inside. Hope I could finish the whole part soon.

By Deleted A

Jan 26, 2018

Muito bom! Esse curso me ajudou a ter uma visão melhor sobre como ensinar uma língua. Aprendi muito e recomendo.

By Mauro T

Sep 20, 2016

amazing teachers, content, smooth learning curve. Very practical and useful knowledge for the classroom teacher.

By Gyorgy D

Oct 24, 2019

Absolutely brilliant. The structure of the course was amazing. ASU clearly leads by example as to how to teach.

By Harshana S

Sep 24, 2018

Exceptional online modules by the lecturers! Really a very fun and exciting course. I loved every minute of it!

By ISAAC A

Feb 11, 2016

we most often tend to overlook the past but building on that is very vital, that is what this course sort to do