Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
6,976 ratings

About the Course

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
Highlights
Applicable teachings

(121 Reviews)

Creatively designed course

(270 Reviews)

Top reviews

AA

Jun 21, 2021

Interesting courses! I am learning a lot. Thank you very much Coursera. I have just completed course 2 and been delivered a certificate but I just can't access my new course. What should I do, please?

AY

Oct 10, 2018

Teachers are great. The course is fun and informative. I love this specialization. I look forward to completing all the courses as soon as possible. I highly recommend this course and specialization.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 2,063 Reviews for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

By Carolina N

Aug 23, 2019

As usual, great course!! I just love it! It's extremely interesting, we have a huge amount of information amusing ourselves watching the videos.

By Melike U

Jun 26, 2017

It was really amazing and highly beneficial! For the first time I really understood these theories. Many many thanks to Dr. Dixon and Dr. Cinco!

By Stephanie R

Jan 28, 2017

The lessons are laid out in a very organized manner. It is easy to review what was taught and the quizzes and assignments are not too difficult.

By Sharon L

Feb 8, 2016

I loved this course! The teachers went the extra mile to make learning about the historical approaches to language teaching easier and more fun.

By Brian R

Feb 27, 2023

I learned a lot from this course about different language teaching approaches, as well as the history of language teaching. Highly recommended!

By Nastya E U

Sep 22, 2021

This was quite useful and interesting. I learned a lot of new things in this course. It was an enjoyable journey. Many thanks to the creators!

By Chanikarn W

Dec 27, 2020

I must say that Dr. Shane and the team made this course engaging for me. I enjoyed learning theories and hope to apply it to my teaching style.

By Muhammad A

Oct 12, 2017

Of course one of the best course. Though it was related to the history but I never know history could be made so much interesting. #appreciated

By Claudiano F d F

Aug 5, 2021

Loved to learn more about the eight English approaches. They are very important once you learn or teach English to specific types of learners.

By Gülnaz A

Jul 16, 2022

It is such a great course that I have completed it as if I were in real ,face to face education .thanks for your contributions to my career .

By Elizaveta A

Jun 13, 2021

A great course with unimaginably professional teachers! Videos, materials, and the atmosphere of the course inspire you to move only forward!

By Ad D

Sep 26, 2020

Very creative. Its full packed knowledge and information. Very fun. Thank you Professors and all the people behind this Course. All the best.

By Dani G

Jul 6, 2020

¡Emocionante! Es toda una aventura que te hace experimentar las teorías de primera mano, los videos son interactivos y faciles de comprender.

By Jun Y

Jan 27, 2018

The theories give me a clear understanding the specific approaches in different type of schools as well as in different countries. Thank you!

By Neveen H

Jun 21, 2020

At first,I want to thank coursera for it's wonderful platform.It,s great course provides me with a great wealth of information and skills .

By Oscar E G D

Jan 29, 2020

Great content; however, there was to much information to learn in a short amount of time. The instructors are incredible good at this field.

By Zelal Ç

Apr 10, 2023

It is a great pleasure to be educated by this platform. I am so happy. I got my certificate. Thanks Coursera and Arizona State University.

By Ulkar A

Mar 18, 2021

very well developed course explaining complex and the most boring things in a simple and fun way. I have learned a lot thanks professors :)

By Francisco C

Feb 12, 2021

I've loved the way the classes were structured during the whole course. The teachers are simply extraordinary!

(Francisco Cesar, RS, Brazil)

By Calvin

Sep 20, 2018

Engaging and "meaty" content mostly going through the main methods of teaching a second language. I enjoyed the effort by all the teachers.

By Ariel P

Aug 26, 2018

This course is great. Everything we learn in It is useful and help us to better understand what we are doing and how to improve It quickly.

By Laveda T

Dec 2, 2017

Amazing course! Informative and engaging. The teachers made this course very accessible and fun. Wasn't bored by the "theory" for a minute.

By Fatemeh S

Apr 17, 2024

I've learned lots of things about the timeline of teaching English approaches, It was really interesting and funny thanks to Dr. Dixon. :D

By Laurie S

Aug 8, 2022

This course offers great teaching, interesting content, and clear assignments. I just wish the final certificate didn't say "non-credit."

By Britt B -

Jun 13, 2018

A really great overview of the historical development of L2 teaching and very useful in determining your own personal teaching philosophy.