Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
5,481 ratings
1,660 reviews

About the Course

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(121 Reviews)
Creatively designed course
(270 Reviews)

Top reviews

AA
Jun 21, 2021

Interesting courses! I am learning a lot. Thank you very much Coursera. I have just completed course 2 and been delivered a certificate but I just can't access my new course. What should I do, please?

NZ
Jun 10, 2018

I'm really enjoying this course. I'm about half way through. I'm looking forrward to how the various courses in this series take me farther and farther into language learning theories and techniques.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 1,634 Reviews for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

By Marilia L S

Mar 20, 2016

I really, really enjoyed this course. As a beginner in the teaching career, it was really mind opening, I've already applied some of the things learned in my classes. The teachers are amazing, and made me really want to have classes with them personally. I've just started the next course, and probably will do all the ones available. Thank you, very very much!

By Mariia T

Sep 7, 2019

Thanks a lot to our professors for the material they have prepared in this course. I enjoyed it a lot, especially Dr. Shane’s videos in which he tried to show different approaches (my favorite ones are the Audio Lingual approach and the Affective-Humanistic approach). All of them are true-to-life and funny which makes learning easier and motivational for us.

By Atiqa F

Jun 25, 2020

I am so glad to finish this amazing and informative course on Teach English Now! It gives me a vast knowledge of different approaches and theories that will help me to teach the second language acquisition.Now I am confident enough to share my knowledge about theories of Second Language Acquisition . Thank you, Coursera to provide us such a great platform.

By Zerrin C

Dec 13, 2020

I really learnt a lot and revised my old knowledge. As I said for the Part- 1 , it was a pleasure to learn by videos that Dr. Shane taught. The course is well organised and clear to understand and follow the steps. I want to go on with Part-3. I had these lessons before but the presentation wasn’t clear And concrete like this. Thank you for your success.

By Do H A

Aug 20, 2020

This course is awesome, the instructors are really great, I understand deeper about Theories of Second Language Acquisition and know how to apply for my teaching. Thank you very much Dr. Shane Dixon, Dr. Justin Shewell, Jessica Cinco and Arizona State University for giving me this opportunity. Highly recommend this course for who are ESL teachers.

By 邝锦滔

May 30, 2020

I find the course very informative and useful for me as a beginner in teaching. The professor's teaching style is very friendly and all the theories are explained in a very comprehensible way. I also enjoy reviewing peers' works as they offer some new insights to me. I appreciate all the people who have contributed to this good course. Thank you!

By Adriana S

Feb 18, 2018

For me it was amazing to discover how language works in our brains, but also to know why and how different theories worked in the past and now was really amazing for me. It really make me understand how education evolves through time and to objectively observe which strategies could work for me. The instruction it is also very clear. Thank you!

By Marian B G

Nov 1, 2016

Thank you for such an amazing course. My dream is to become a certified English teacher, but the situation in my country right now (Venezuela), Doesn't allow me to enroll in a Master's program. This is the closest I will get. I love the way you designed it, and all the information is so current and update I could put it into practice at once.

By C. C

Jan 9, 2016

It is a very enjoyable course, and anyone should take it even if only for the entertainment value! The professor is a stellar actor and the lesson plans are very well-made. That been said, the final exam is not easy! But it's worth it! :) I smiled so much all throughout this course, having this professor as a teacher was a real treat!

By Cynndi N

Dec 23, 2018

If you have gotten this far - MY ADVICE: Don't cheat yourself; dismiss any excuse or obstacle that prevents you from continuing because it is SO WORTH IT!! You will have fun in finding out more about yourself and the feedback from peers is so worth you taking a second look at what you thought you were doing 'right'. A++ ASU courses!

By Justin I R

Jul 11, 2017

It provided me with a clear view of what is going on in the teaching world. Before I had seen teachers that stubbornly prefer one approach. Now I understand the purpose of different approaches and can better fit them to the students I am teaching. Understanding the purpose, I feel I can better understand how to teach each approach.

By Bohdana Z

Apr 18, 2016

I really enjoyed this course. Professional, fun, filled with tons of useful information. I recommend to take the Lesson Design as well. Then it really clicks, all the theory they teach you is actually applied to all the courses of this Specialization in the videos, the assignments...reinforces the message😉 Great job team ASU👍😊

By Joshimar E d l R

Apr 3, 2019

Excelentes cursos, antes de tomar los cursos que eh llevado hasta ahora no creia que se pudiese aprender tanto de cursos en linea, pero vaya que estaba equivocado, el Dr. Dixon y su equipo tienen la medotologia perfecta para transmitir sus conocimientos a traves videos y las practicas que se llevan a cabo en los cursos de TESOL

By Mudita G

Aug 11, 2020

I really like this course. It offers theoretical background and concepts in Second Language Acquisition in a simple way for everyone who may have or not have an academic background. Highly recommend for anyone who wants to be a well-prepared teacher and for any professional who wants to refresh and strengthen their knowledge.

By Roohi R D

Dec 8, 2019

A comprehensive, elaborate course which effectively contrasts, compares and lays down techniques that modern teachers could use in their language teaching classroom. The teaching models used and demonstrations are praiseworthy in terms of their effectiveness in communicating the gamut of information necessary for the course.

By Reenie P

Apr 14, 2021

This course was very enlightening for me as a teacher! It has lots of history explained in a way that is concise and entertaining. It´s interesting to see how a course designed for teachers is so well thought out, it can be used as an example of how true teaching and lessons with adequate planning lead to a great experience!

By Theresa M

Dec 15, 2015

The instructors' videos are hilarious, making the content memorable. Well worth paying for this course just for its comedic value alone. Unlike the first course in the specialization, which focused on students speaking through video recordings, the second course focuses on writing short answers to demonstrate comprehension.

By Konul H

Feb 22, 2021

My dear teachers!

You are amazing! Energetic, enthusiastic, well-educated, and professional!

You motivated me and I have learned a lot of techniques and strategies.

I can compare all the techniques and choose the best one now.

I appreciate your effort and hope I will be as professional as you one day God willing.

Thanks a lot.

I

By John K S

Aug 4, 2018

This course is personal, fun, and well-paced. It has filled gaps in my understanding of how to teach English as a second language. The presentations are documented, so I have been able to read beyond what was presented in the course. I'm surprised how much I like to review what other students write about the material.

By Thu H N

Aug 31, 2021

The course's contents are so well-organized and well-presented that I, as a learner, consider completing this course an enjoyment instead of a task. The knowledge gained from this course is absolutely helpful for me as an English teacher to enhance my professional expertise. Thanks for the wonderful lessons, lecturers.

By Leo S

Jul 14, 2020

I have taken a lot of online courses but definitely this is the best course, it is excellent for many reasons, the methodology of the instructors, the material of content, the videos, the inspiration and passion of the theacers, I recommend this course for every teacher, not only languages teachers but for all of them.

By Deonne R M

Feb 9, 2018

This course offers deep insights on the specifics of how to prepare students to maximize language acquisition skills. The content and techniques are appropriate and very relevant to real life. The presenters are quite knowledgeable and enthusiastic in delivering each lesson.

I highly recommend. Thank you Coursera!

By Sutiksha D

Jun 14, 2021

A wonderful course which has carefully created content just apt for online learning platform. I like the way it is presented by the awesome teachers. Not even for a minute is it boring or dragging anywhere. It actually motivates one to inculcate all the principles and new techniques learned in your everyday teaching.

By Yara N

Jul 2, 2019

The course is a collection of the most wonderful videos that present information in a creative, fun and beneficial way. I enjoyed the lectures and learned a lot of valuable information. besides that I gained many useful new techniques to apply in my own classroom. Thanks to everyone that helped creating this course.

By Anna N

Oct 5, 2021

This course is really helpful to me. I have applied some approaches in this course to my class. I have learned some more great approaches from history. I can combine these approaches to my class to help students acquire the language easily and feel more interested in studying languages. Thanks a lot for your help!