Chevron Left
Back to A Law Student's Toolkit

Learner Reviews & Feedback for A Law Student's Toolkit by Yale University

4.7
stars
1,093 ratings
312 reviews

About the Course

Whether you are an advanced law student looking to review the basics, or an aspiring law student looking for head start, this course will help you build the foundation you will need to succeed in law school and beyond. This course will introduce you to terminology, concepts, and tools lawyers and legal academics use to make their arguments. It will help you follow these arguments—and make arguments of your own. This course consists of a series of short lectures and assignments. A reading list complements each lesson, providing you with a roadmap to help you explore the subject matter more deeply on your own. Although the lessons may cross-reference each other, they are modular in nature: you should feel free to approach them in whatever order fits your schedule, interests, and needs....

Top reviews

HK
Mar 28, 2016

I enjoyed this course but you really need to have some legal background to get the most out of it. The assignments were worth the time they took and I learned a lot trying to grade my fellow students.

CT
Oct 14, 2018

The course is gorgeous!!! Although I am an experienced lawyer in my country it was an excellent training for my brains, more over, the lectures were really very interesting!!! Strongly recommended!!!

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 307 Reviews for A Law Student's Toolkit

By Hootashna R

Jan 12, 2017

Good

By Aditya T

Nov 9, 2019

wow

By Julius G

Jul 17, 2017

This course is far more difficult to complete for credit than it seems based on the syllabus and marketing materials, and that is a good thing for serious learner. The readings are long and complex and must be completed in order to get anything of value from the course. Just watching the lectures only gives you a small percentage of the concepts being transmitted in this course which is really for pre-law students or serious learners.

One serious drawback is the peer grading system which you have to go through in order to complete assignments and get a certificate. Too many of the students do not complete the assigned readings and then try to answer the professor's question based only on the 5-10 minute lecture or their pure opinion. Often written in poor English (because the student is not a native English speaker), these same students are the ones who will grade my serious assignment. The results are not good - too much pettiness and downright revengeful grading. I got through it but it is a serious flaw because it's unfair. These are not peers.

Other flaws are the the course length (it should be spread over about four to six weeks instead of three), and there is no participation by teaching assistants (none, zero, zilch).

In the end I got a lot out this course but I was persistent and I have already have two degrees from major universities.

By Ian L

Feb 7, 2016

This was a very good intro course.

Some additions that could be applied may include: describing different types of motions (interrogatives, cross motions); types of judgments (proscriptions, summary judgments, enjoinment), types of memoranda, or even a FOIA request.

Maybe a look into work product privilege, protected documentation, principles of discovery. And finally, a little intro into the art of using case law as an event or test, for example; in "Miranda", "Keller", "Brown", or the "McDonnell Douglas test".

I understand this is just an intro, but if these things could be fit in somehow that would be cool.

By Nuria L G

Sep 19, 2016

The course presents interesting topics about law in a concise way and invites reflection. My background in law was quite limited and even though I struggled to understand everything the first week, I now comprehend the principles of common law and have the right tools to approach legal decisions. Doing this course has been a very enriching experience for me because not only have I learned more about key concepts in law, but I have also improved my way of writing and summarizing information.

By Beatriz H

Jan 27, 2020

I really enjoyed this course! The professor is extremely well spoken and engaging and makes easily understandable analogies to picture what he's saying. My only criticism is that some assingments didn't have clear questions, which made my ( a seventeen year old with English as a second language ) understanding of said assignments a bit confusing. Other than that, I recommend this course to anyone who's starting law school or is interested in the topic!

By Joseph H

May 22, 2020

An excellent introduction to legal thinking, with concise lectures and a well curated (and extensive!) reading list. I have a learned a lot from this course. My only criticism is that some assignments were not clearly described and, similarly, the purpose of prescribed reading material wasn't always explained/it wasn't always clear what part of provided documents needed to be read.

All in all though, I would highly recommend this course.

By Tommy V

Jan 29, 2019

The course does a pretty good job on giving a primer in legal concepts that may be useful if you consider following a law degree, or just if you are interest in law. The chunks are so that they tackle one or a coherent set of concepts in 10 to 15 minutes, which is ideal to study it in between other activities you may have.

By Konstantinos A

Oct 2, 2019

Very interesting and well structured course. Its content undoubtedly cannot be found in every Law school. However, every person willing to enroll in this course must keep in mind that this particular course focuses primarily on American law and thus many a thing may be inapplicable to their homeland's special law.

By alex s

Jan 25, 2016

Okay class. Could deal more with terminology, how to break down a case to read it and obtain information. How to's of it all. From getting the case on my desk, breaking into segments, how to make a claim and finding laws to support it. What is a theory versus what is a developed idea.

Thanks!

By Philip P

Sep 13, 2016

Fascinating. A lot of depth, with so much supplementary reading you get out what you put in, but it felt rushed and with so many unassessed topics some seemed inconsequential. I would have preferred it to have been spread out over another week with a couple extra assessments overall.

By Jan Z

Apr 28, 2017

Good overview for law beginners, interesting lectures and useful tips.

The downsides are the peer-review system of grading (sometimes you get a bad grade and there is no explanation why) and the fact that the links to recommended and mandatory literature are not working.

By METTA S

Jan 9, 2020

This course is really nice for anyone who want to start law school. But it is completely in US context. Though the concepts remain the same across common law countries, Indian students and non Us students probably find it difficult to do the course.

By Phoebe C

Aug 17, 2020

The course was particularly helpful introducing me to legal terms and concepts. There were times I felt that this could have been explained better, but overall would recommend. I enjoyed the quizzes and assignments.

By Julie T

Dec 26, 2015

I found the range of topics extremely helpful and relevant. There were some minor technical problems with regards to grading, but overall, I really enjoyed the learning experience from this particular course.

By Micah K

Jul 7, 2017

Great course. Very useful skills and helpful lessons. Definitely a lot of work and the lectures aren't incredibly intuitive, but useful if you are preparing for your first year of law school.

By Hesham O K

Nov 12, 2015

it is great for citizens students, However, the speaker uses such a little hard vocabulary to understand for international students as me. I really enjoy in this course. Thanks.

By William X

Jun 7, 2017

Very challenging but there are many lessons to be learned. Law is a challenging and complex field, and prof. Ayres comes at it with good analogies and helpful advice

By Jan P

Dec 24, 2015

The course was beneficial to me and I learned a lot of new things. I took one star because of the assessment of students who are too poorly evaluated.

By Susan A C

Sep 15, 2020

Excellent course that covers a *lot* of material. The amount of reading far exceeded the estimated reading time of 10 minutes in almost all cases.

By Evan C

Apr 5, 2020

Fantastic course, but an estimated 10 minutes to read one or two law review articles is really unrealistic.

By Do H K

Apr 10, 2016

Since this course handles difficult context, it may be little bit hard to one who studies law first time.

By Sander S

Jun 20, 2016

Simple and well explained, but perhaps more information should be put on slides behind the lecturer.

By Tamara M

Feb 15, 2016

Excellent and fun class to understand Common-Law concepts and be prepared to with US Law cases.

By Aaron M

Sep 6, 2020

A broad overview, well communicated though, and the readings are useful for future reference.