Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Lesson Design and Assessment

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Lesson Design and Assessment by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
3,919 ratings
999 reviews

About the Course

Learners will be introduced to designing lesson plans based on principles and knowledge of learning objectives, assessment plans, methods, materials, and learning activities. Learners will find and prepare appropriate teaching materials through careful analysis, adaptation and creation of professional resources. Learners will also reflect on the cohesion between lesson design and teaching philosophies....
Highlights
Enriching course content

(161 Reviews)

Great instructors

(53 Reviews)

Top reviews

SS

Jan 31, 2021

What makes these courses is fun are the instructors. I love their role-playing, and they make me laugh sometimes. Not that the material is difficult, but the instructors keep things from getting dull.

IM

Mar 4, 2021

The course content is so beneficial. I'm now able to make a stunning lesson plan, thanks to the effort of these amazing professors. You are building a community of good teachers of English language.

Filter by:

976 - 989 of 989 Reviews for Teach English Now! Lesson Design and Assessment

By Jia H

Dec 5, 2021

useful

By Disila B

Jun 22, 2022

Great

By Sarah R

Jun 10, 2022

T​his course did provide a very clear, easy-to-follow overview of designing lesson plans/assessments. Everything was well explained with lots of clear examples. This would be a very valuable course to beginning teachers going into teaching regular English as a first language-speaking students.

However, I am concerned that this course falls into the same trap as a lot of other ESL teacher trainings. The model lesson plans and the model demonstration lessons were not in any way, shape, or form appropriate for real English Language Learners, except for the most highly advanced adult students who are simply fine-tuning their grammar and writing skills.

The teachers spoke to their "low intermediate" students in exactly the same way they would speak to fluent English speaking students. Rather than isolating skills, they dumped a huge amount of complex content into a single lesson. In real life if you tried this, students would mutiny.

This does a real disservice to new teachers who have never taught ESL before. One of the hardest things to understand for new teachers is what ESL levels look like. Example lessons could have been taught as they would be for true beginners and low intermediate student. Low intermediate students are not learning how to write a 5-paragraph essay. That is a task that is difficult even for regular English speakers. It just seems like it would have been easy to use a real ESL-appropriate sample lesson plan.

By Weisi Z

May 11, 2016

The course is perfect, however, since I am a person who prefers more concise information and pragmatic skills, the teaching examples with analyses might seem lengthy and not so efficient for me.

By Andre E

Nov 1, 2020

The course is beneficial and I am learning quite a bit. However, I would like to see live input from ASU instructors

By 郭瑞佳

Dec 30, 2018

It takes a longer time to be reviewed for my submission

By Eric S F

Sep 26, 2019

I thought this course was overly complicated.

By Margaret P

Sep 24, 2017

Good class, but a few hassles with this one.

By Jay M

Apr 5, 2016

videos too long.

By Deleted A

Dec 23, 2016

good

By Natalie E

Mar 23, 2016

I feel like there should be more teacher involvement within this course.

By Lindsey L

May 3, 2020

I AM TRYING TO CANCEL THIS MODULE!!!!!!! in the full TESOL package with 4 modules. ITS NOT APPEARING on my mypurchase page. I need to CANCEL. still on free trial. this has to be done now!!!!! TECHNICAL PROBLEM

By Kea G

Oct 7, 2016

Ended up not being able to take the rest of the courses I paid for because Coursera kept pushing it back... Start date after start date moved ....

By Luis A

Feb 22, 2017

Could not get to the fourth course and was asked to pay for it twice.