Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
9,184 ratings
1,859 reviews

About the Course

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

Top reviews

EC
Sep 9, 2019

Excellent review of Linear Algebra even for those who have taken it at school. Handwriting of the first instructor wasn't always legible, but wasn't too bad. Second instructor's handwriting is better.

NS
Dec 22, 2018

Professors teaches in so much friendly manner. This is beginner level course. Don't expect you will dive deep inside the Linear Algebra. But the foundation will become solid if you attend this course.

Filter by:

1776 - 1800 of 1,859 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra

By N s n r

Dec 11, 2019

i expected a practical mathematic approach rather than only mathematical approach.but page rank algo is good

By Tony M

Oct 23, 2020

Good course, but could add extra steps for those a little rusty with algebra, matrices, vectors and so on.

By Jared E

May 26, 2018

Overall good, but some nasty difficulty with the programming assignments... especially the last one.

By Almir B

Oct 15, 2020

The programming part is too confusing for someone that is just starting.

Thanks for the opportunity.

By Aniket D B

Aug 9, 2020

Everything is good. But I still don't have any idea about how I will use this in Machine learning.

By Alberto M

Apr 4, 2019

Good material if you want to refresh your knowledge, poor programming assignment support/feedback

By Ahmad A R

Oct 1, 2019

Repetitive/redundant questions in the assignment and minimal use of coding during the videos

By Carlos R T G R

Mar 18, 2019

The videos need to be updated, there are quite some errors that are already identified...

By rishabh t

May 5, 2020

Explainations was good but some topics was difficult to get may be due to my basics

By Adam R

Nov 16, 2018

Some of the quizzes go beyond what is in the videos and often spent ages on them.

By Nicholas K

Apr 20, 2018

Enough gaps that I finished feeling like I really had no idea what was going on.

By David R M

Jul 13, 2020

Requires an understanding of python that doesn't seem to be expressed anywhere

By Jose H C

Dec 19, 2019

I did not see any specific application of what was learned to Machine Learning

By Tory M

Sep 3, 2020

All in all this course served as a good refresher for linear algebra.

By Gary M F T

Oct 29, 2020

Esta en el idioma inglés. Seria factibles en el idioma español

By Alejandro T R

Aug 2, 2020

Really difficult to understand the explanations of the course.

By Ayala A

Jul 25, 2020

The course is good but the explanations are not clear enough.

By Ninder J

Jun 17, 2019

not well explained...Rather than this go for khan's academy

By rajiv k K

Jul 21, 2019

Good for rivision but I will not recommend to beginner.

By omri s

Oct 25, 2019

Good, but a lot of stuff is not explained in detail

By สิทธิพร แ

May 29, 2020

some lessons don't cover knowledge for assignment

By Flávio H P d O

May 11, 2018

explanation not very clear

not enought examples

By Rosana J B

Mar 1, 2021

muy confuso el sistema de envío de tareas

By Hiralal P

May 4, 2020

they should provide more examples

By Neha K

Oct 9, 2018

The style of teaching is great.