Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Macroscopic and Microscopic Thermodynamics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Macroscopic and Microscopic Thermodynamics by University of Colorado Boulder

4.3
stars
178 ratings
40 reviews

About the Course

Course 1 first explores the basics of both macroscopic and microscopic thermodynamics from a postulatory point of view. In this view, the meaning of temperature, thermodynamic pressure and chemical potential are especially clear and easy to understand. In addition , the development of the Fundamental Relation and its various transformations leads to a clear path to property relations and to the concept of ensembles needed to understand the relationship between atomic and molecular structural properties and macroscopic properties. We then explore the relationship between atomic and molecular structure and macroscopic properties by taking a statistical point of view. Using a postulatory approach, the method for doing this is made clear. This leads to the development of the partition function which describes the distribution of molecular quantum states as a function of the independent, macroscopic thermodynamic properties....

Top reviews

DB
Apr 23, 2020

Very Much interesting and Problem solving is the challenging. Need some more references in solving Problems. Which will help the learners concentrate more.

SS
May 17, 2020

Just to the point. Cut down on the frills. Love it. Little errors in the videos and ordering. nonetheless, excellent content

Filter by:

26 - 40 of 40 Reviews for Fundamentals of Macroscopic and Microscopic Thermodynamics

By Muhammad H K

Jul 16, 2020

The beginning of Everything is Difficult. If you want to start statistical thermodynamics, this is it.

By ALAN S M

May 10, 2020

Excellent course providing basic outline of statistical thermodynamics

By Ma Y

Oct 13, 2020

Assessment of this course should be harder.

By ORLANDO C R

Oct 22, 2020

Great i would like more problem solving

By Divya M V

May 25, 2020

I find it very good.

By Gopika M M

May 21, 2020

The course needs to provide some reference material for problem solving since the quizzes and discussion problems are majorly assignment based.

By Vladimir R P B

Aug 20, 2020

I found the course very interesting, but quite confusing at times. Having some solved problems would help a lot.

By Allan J G V

Apr 27, 2020

Most of the time I felt I was being evaluated in aspects that didn't come in the material.

By Karan P

Sep 4, 2020

More detail can be added as more part to interpret is left to students.

By BODDU H

Jun 27, 2020

explanation part is good and there are some issues with quiz

By Leonel G

Jul 13, 2020

The statistical part lacks of development

By alok t

Aug 15, 2020

The instructor is just reading the slides, nothing else. It would be better if you find some other relevant courses.

By Arvin M Y

Jun 11, 2020

It takes 2 days for grading peer to peer assignment!

By Daniel A S M

Nov 25, 2020

I did not like the course. All the course is presented by slides. The organization of the course is strange. At the beginning it goes slow, but the third week it has a lot of topics, and these were presented fast and unclear. I think this course could be better if it is more interactive, maybe showing simulations or videos for a better understanding.

By Camila A

Sep 25, 2020

Quizes are very hard