Chevron Left
Back to Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19 by University of Toronto

4.8
stars
8,577 ratings

About the Course

Never in the history of humanity have so many people been feeling intense anxiety related to COVID-19 and the world it will leave in its wake. The intent of this course is to give you a deeper understanding of the anxiety reaction as it relates to various aspects of our current life, ranging from our consumption of news to the way we talk to our children about this. I will also give you clear strategies for managing and, in fact, turning off the anxiety response at least for short periods. My sincere hope is that you will leave this course with a better understanding of how your brain reacts to crises, along with some powerful tools for managing it before it manages you. In this course we will cover: 1.1 Introduction and Overview 1.2 Understanding the Anxiety Response 1.3 The Necessity of Strategies to Manage Anxiety 1.4 Achieving Relaxation: A Skill We All Need to Learn Now 2.1 Why Watching the News is Addicting and How to Manage Your Consumption 2.2 The Critical Art of Mental Distraction to Crowd Out Stressors 2.3 How We Think About Physical Distancing and Explaining it to Our Children 3.1 The Effects of Isolation 3.2 Some Strategies to Make Isolation More Tolerable 3.3 The Importance of Social Connection in a Physical Distancing World 4.1 The Need to Guard Against Depression: The Importance of Control 4.2 Bring it Together: Practice Makes Proficient 4.3 Invitation to Suggest Additional Videos...

Top reviews

AM

Jul 17, 2020

So grateful that a course like this exists. I found the information that was presented easy to understand and in such a way that small changes to my daily routine seem manageable. Thank you very much!

VS

Jul 19, 2020

The course is very insightful. The topics were carefully and simply taught by Prof. Joordens. It's easy to understand and has helped a lot in understanding how our minds work esp during this pandemic.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 2,495 Reviews for Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

By arushi s

Sep 13, 2020

Thank you so much for this course. I was following a schedule I the beginning but then it got off track. But when I was doing it I felt much more in control and my anxiety was in check too. I am definitely going to start doing it again and incorporate the helpful tips that you have provided.

By Carmen S

Jan 14, 2022

Hello.

This short course was excellent. It provides me with refreshing ideas and a good relaxing exercise.

I enjoyed it very much. It gave me a little purpose, a spare activity, amid these times, where people around the world are experiencing this pandemic

Thank you very much.

By by form Chile

By Katrina M

Aug 2, 2020

Really appreciated having taken this course and it really has shown me the ways in which I and the others around me have changed and in a way become us. I wish to really put into practice everything discussed in this course and help others as well to find their self again.

Thank you so much!

By Martina M R M

Feb 1, 2022

I really liked this course,it was very helpful and it tought me certain things that I didn't want to acknowledge about meyself. I will try my best in following the advice given in this course. Overall I encourange everyone to take this course if you need purpose or something to start with.

By Hamza M K

Jul 5, 2020

It was really helpful and motivating. I was really struggling with all this isolation now I have plenty to do. It is always better to have internal control than getting panic or anxious about things. Life is a journey and one must keep its head up to face the coming challenges on his ways.

By Shalini H K

Aug 12, 2021

I'm grateful for such course to be existed in this tough time. I hard a really hard time during the pandemic managing my mental health. This course has provided me with great tips on how to deal with anxiety during the pandemic. Looking forward to amazing courses like this in the future.

By M. D

Jul 28, 2020

Very informative. Also provided concrete steps to conquer problems in today's pandemic situation, Understanding the workings of the mind and emotion makes me less anxious. The visuals presented were helpful. The videos are well planned. I recommended it to my friends. Thanks a lot!

By Meden P

Jul 6, 2020

The knowledge and skills gained from this course are not only applicable during this pandemic period but will be useful in daily life. Prof Steve has a very calm and personal way of delivering the lectures making the course a great learning experience. Thank you for creating this course.

By alfreda s

Mar 16, 2021

I really enjoyed this course! Wished it could go on! The relaxation technique was most useful to me and I use it often especially on sleepless nights! It works wonders! Excellent course, exceptional teacher, and I hope to see you again in another educational event... soon! CHEERS

By GALLARDO M A L

May 15, 2021

El curso me fue de mucha utilidad, ya que me mostró otras actividades que se pueden realizar cuando te sientes muy ansioso, el profesor toco puntos que van mas allá de los comunes como el respirar y contar hasta un millón, por ejemplo. Me gustó mucho este curso y lo recomiendo al 100%

By Laura L

Jul 16, 2020

un curso no solo oportuno, si no que además muy placentero. La explicación teórica como práctica, enriquece mucho la información, además de que la narrativa es bastante entretenida, de manera que no llegas a sentir el pasar del tiempo generando que desees escuchar más y más. Excelente

By Zoey H

Sep 2, 2020

Thank you so much Professor Joordens for such an amazing course. It was to the point, informative, interesting, fun to watch, and is applicable far beyond just this COVID-19 pandemic. I feel much better equipped to handle my own anxieties as well as help my loved ones through theirs.

By Ramón C

Jan 20, 2021

A very interesting and enjoyable course. Its contents are not only suitable for this time of the pandemic but for any difficult times both collective and individual. A good starting point for building resilience or complementing it. Thank you very much for this course. / July 2020.

By Hsia C C

Jun 30, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and learned some beneficial takeaways for me to implement into my daily life such as the mindfulness practice. I appreciated that the content was delivered in a semi-casual and chatty manner as it made learning easier. Thank you for the wonderful course!

By Jan L A B

Oct 28, 2020

I would like to personally congratulate the mentor of this coarse. Hw was well spoken and calm to listen to. You can relax while listen and yet you will understand all the lesson he will be projecting. This made me realize and adopt of new mechanism to hep othr people and myself.

By Deleted A

May 7, 2020

That was one of the most engaging courses I have ever had. Thank you ,Professor Joordens for this warmth and positivity. Besides calming myself down, I had a lot of new staff about psychology which have awakened my curiosity. I would have rated 10 if it was possible. THANK YOU :)

By Emma M

Aug 18, 2020

Very interesting. For me this course really reiterated a lot of the 'tools' I already had in my 'toolbox'. It was good to hear them again with the suggestion of the relaxation exercise which I had learned around 30 years ago and for some reason pushed aside in my mind. Thank you.

By Zairus C

Dec 25, 2023

It's a great privilege to be part of this spectacular course. I am both Dx with Neurological "SEIZURE DISORDE" A.K.A. EPILEPSY & I HAVE SCHIZOPHRENIC DISORDER. I learnt that I can still get up to continue living amidst all these illnesses. My greatest gratitude to Our Professor.

By Anne A

Jun 27, 2020

This course makes me sad because I wish I have a lecturer like Steve Joordens in real life. In all seriousness, this course helps me understand the more about how the mind works and how to "control" it. The explanation was simple yet understandable. I really enjoyed this course!

By Grant P

Apr 5, 2021

I learned some valuable tools to help me handle anxiety. I’m pretty sure my anxiety isn’t just from life in a pandemic, but rather from isolated situations in everyday life. However, I’ll try and incorporate some of the guidelines into my daily routine and see if this can help.

By Yujie D

Jan 5, 2021

Thanks so much Steve! The lecture was well-structured and full of human touch.

Having been in a locked-down city for half a year, I was seriously aware that how fragile our mental health could be and how desperately we needed to learn ways to inner peace and crowd out anxiety.

By Hina T

Sep 15, 2021

I have been having difficult time in this situation but this course taught me amazing tips of how to stay positive and less anxiety.

I am so glad that I found out this video and learned about not only myself but also others facing different kind of situation. Thank you so much.

By Ahmad A D

Jul 31, 2020

this is kind of a new things for me, but then instead of makes me doubt, this mind control thing actually triggering my self to continue every video that given to me, and in the end its veeeeery helpfull for me, i mean not only the certificate or score, but for my inner self.

By Adheena P

Jun 27, 2020

It's very much helpful to learn ourselves to get in a mind control and preserve our mental health during this pandemic isolation as well the quarantine period. and you can also inculcate our loved ones about this. It was quiet a nice experience that could learn more about it.

By HANDE E

Sep 29, 2020

it was really helpful! I now manage this time of crisis much better. For example, I dont watch news anymore because i couldn't able to budget :D I try my best to connect and reconnect people and family members. I also dance, sing and paint every suitable time. so thank you!!