Chevron Left
Back to Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19 by University of Toronto

4.8
stars
8,579 ratings

About the Course

Never in the history of humanity have so many people been feeling intense anxiety related to COVID-19 and the world it will leave in its wake. The intent of this course is to give you a deeper understanding of the anxiety reaction as it relates to various aspects of our current life, ranging from our consumption of news to the way we talk to our children about this. I will also give you clear strategies for managing and, in fact, turning off the anxiety response at least for short periods. My sincere hope is that you will leave this course with a better understanding of how your brain reacts to crises, along with some powerful tools for managing it before it manages you. In this course we will cover: 1.1 Introduction and Overview 1.2 Understanding the Anxiety Response 1.3 The Necessity of Strategies to Manage Anxiety 1.4 Achieving Relaxation: A Skill We All Need to Learn Now 2.1 Why Watching the News is Addicting and How to Manage Your Consumption 2.2 The Critical Art of Mental Distraction to Crowd Out Stressors 2.3 How We Think About Physical Distancing and Explaining it to Our Children 3.1 The Effects of Isolation 3.2 Some Strategies to Make Isolation More Tolerable 3.3 The Importance of Social Connection in a Physical Distancing World 4.1 The Need to Guard Against Depression: The Importance of Control 4.2 Bring it Together: Practice Makes Proficient 4.3 Invitation to Suggest Additional Videos...

Top reviews

AM

Jul 17, 2020

So grateful that a course like this exists. I found the information that was presented easy to understand and in such a way that small changes to my daily routine seem manageable. Thank you very much!

VS

Jul 19, 2020

The course is very insightful. The topics were carefully and simply taught by Prof. Joordens. It's easy to understand and has helped a lot in understanding how our minds work esp during this pandemic.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 2,495 Reviews for Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

By Yanique T

Sep 21, 2020

Exceptional course informative and effective , Professor Joordens was able to simplify how to handle being isolated in this crisis and how we can build structure to make sure after this we are still able to be Able to be functional human beings in society

By Eric R N

Apr 24, 2022

Watching it on a (almost) post covid time I really wished to have watched it during the harsher days. Even so, this course helped me on understading the basics on anxiety and even depression, knowledges these that will definitely help me throughout life.

By Souàad B

Jul 19, 2020

This really helped me keep track of my mental state while being quarantined, even after months. It felt very natural to watch the videos, the topic is very interesting and I'll make sure to use the knowledge I gained to help the people I know. Thank you.

By Ashleigh M

Jul 8, 2020

This course was very informative and fun. I feel like I am now able to adjust my ways during this difficult time to ensure that I minimize my anxiety and actually make the most of this time. I recommend for every one to complete this course and "relax".

By Raed A

Sep 1, 2020

This is was an amazing course. Thank you so much. This really helped me a lot. I'm really blessed for all the things this course did for me. i promise i will use these techniques to get over my anxieties, even the ones that are not related to COVID 19

By Mohak P

Jul 31, 2020

What a brainwave! Found very useful indeed in this difficult time. Profuse thanks to instructors for making such a wonderful course. It really helped me help myself and gave me an especially good advice of connecting with those in need of connections.

By Patel P P

Jun 23, 2020

Thank You !!!! Mr Steve for guiding us with your experience and explaining in a simple manner.

Good mental health can be defined as a state of well-being which allows an individual to cope with the normal stresses of life and function productively.

By Andrieta R

Jun 1, 2020

A simple and informative free course. Great for anyone who's currently dealing with anxiety in this trying time. The lecturer not only provides theories that are explained in easy English but also actual things we can do to help address our anxieties.

By Marion L L

Feb 25, 2021

Dr. Joordens was very clear, calm and concise with all the points he shared. As a Psychology undergraduate, and now in the professional workplace, these skills taught are powerful, manageable techniques that can be used as lifelong lifesavers. Thank

By irina p

Dec 2, 2020

Thank you very much, Mr. Steeve Joordens for such a helpful course! In a simple way the course offers a lot of things to try and think about to lessen stress and anxiety due to corona virus epidemiology and lockdown-quarantine, that affects us all.

By Maria E G S

Oct 9, 2020

This course is very timely especially during this pandemic when we are all anxious about what lies ahead. The course is very easy to follow and the instructor gave practical tips on how to overcome anxiety and stress during this extraordinary times.

By Giovanni M

Jul 21, 2021

This course really gave me a new point of view and helped me to understand better a topic I was ignorant about. I would personally thank Professor Steve for making me aware about my internal feelings and how to manage stress and cope with anxiety.

By Visakha K

Jul 22, 2020

Thank you so much for the opportunity to learn to be a better self during this pandemic. This course is very useful to learn how to control mind, relax, stay away from anxiety and fill our day with positive things. Once again, thank you sooo much..

By Julie H

Feb 3, 2021

Thank you I needed this. This was very helpful in understanding why I am feeling a loss of control in a constant state of anxiety and how to overcome and regain control. I learned so much and I really appreciate Steve Joordens method of teaching.

By Shaday G

Aug 21, 2020

Un curso increíble. Te lleva a reflexionar acerca de tu comportamiento en el aislamiento, a replantearte si lo que haces o dejaste de hacer está teniendo una repercusión en tu vida, y sobre todo, a hacerte consciente de tus emociones. Mil gracias!

By ADRIANA M A L

Aug 17, 2020

hola compañeros hispano-hablantes, les puedo decir que este curso es muy bueno, me ayudo mucho a como aprender a manejar la ansiedad, a darnos cuenta que hay diferencias entre aislamiento social y aislamiento físico, en verdad esta genial el curso

By Prajakta M

Aug 17, 2020

The course was very useful and i am sure that i will be now able to deal with stress and mind control easily. The professor was very good, i loved his teaching. He tried to explain us each and every problem. So thank you everyone for this course

By Lucero M V A

Apr 17, 2021

La explicación y los ejemplos brindados por Steve fueron super compresibles y bastante identificables con lo que está sucediendo actualmente. Steve tiene una forma muy agradable de llegar a sus oyentes, y eso invita a seguir aprendiendo con él.

By Dhruv J

Sep 20, 2020

This is one of the best course i did from coursera. I enjoyed learning the topic. Everything was on the point and it was very beautifully presented by Professor Steve Joordan. Looking Forward to learn Something new from Professor Steve Joordan.

By Mary L

May 10, 2020

Very informative and good to hear that you're not alone. I feel more capable of handling my environment, as well as my children and the other families that i work with. Some really great strategies for dealing with stress and anxiety. Thank you.

By Patricia U

Nov 13, 2020

Some of these things I had already learned at school, but it's a great refresher course, without throwing too many unknown concepts at you. I highly recommend it for anyone else who is dealing with anxiety. This course is a great place to start

By Frances M M

Apr 18, 2020

An amazing course and exactly what I needed at this time. His voice and demeanor is so relaxing and comforting! I asked a question and he responded! I plan to use all his techniques! Highly recommend and hope he does more courses like this!

By Luis O L W

Jul 7, 2021

It was a real pleasure to find this short course. Very Synthesized and organic, it guides you briefly trough basic concepts to help you stand mentally and physically against social confinement. Because mental healt is as important as physical.

By DARIO H S G

Apr 19, 2021

Excelente curso directo al grano, necesario para mantenernos saludables actualmente y desarrollar habilidades necesarias de por vida.

Excellent course straight to the point, necessary to keep us healthy today and develop skills needed for life.

By Anna K

Mar 22, 2021

When I saw that professor Steve Joordens had another course , I immediately enroll. The way that he explained every aspect of psychology and the tools he gave to us in order to copy the stress during this pandemic was exceptional , as always !