Chevron Left
Back to Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19 by University of Toronto

4.8
stars
8,577 ratings

About the Course

Never in the history of humanity have so many people been feeling intense anxiety related to COVID-19 and the world it will leave in its wake. The intent of this course is to give you a deeper understanding of the anxiety reaction as it relates to various aspects of our current life, ranging from our consumption of news to the way we talk to our children about this. I will also give you clear strategies for managing and, in fact, turning off the anxiety response at least for short periods. My sincere hope is that you will leave this course with a better understanding of how your brain reacts to crises, along with some powerful tools for managing it before it manages you. In this course we will cover: 1.1 Introduction and Overview 1.2 Understanding the Anxiety Response 1.3 The Necessity of Strategies to Manage Anxiety 1.4 Achieving Relaxation: A Skill We All Need to Learn Now 2.1 Why Watching the News is Addicting and How to Manage Your Consumption 2.2 The Critical Art of Mental Distraction to Crowd Out Stressors 2.3 How We Think About Physical Distancing and Explaining it to Our Children 3.1 The Effects of Isolation 3.2 Some Strategies to Make Isolation More Tolerable 3.3 The Importance of Social Connection in a Physical Distancing World 4.1 The Need to Guard Against Depression: The Importance of Control 4.2 Bring it Together: Practice Makes Proficient 4.3 Invitation to Suggest Additional Videos...

Top reviews

VS

Jul 19, 2020

The course is very insightful. The topics were carefully and simply taught by Prof. Joordens. It's easy to understand and has helped a lot in understanding how our minds work esp during this pandemic.

AM

Jul 17, 2020

So grateful that a course like this exists. I found the information that was presented easy to understand and in such a way that small changes to my daily routine seem manageable. Thank you very much!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 2,495 Reviews for Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

By Akash B

Sep 12, 2020

This course is very much useful for me as I'm Very much nervous on Every situation

By Khandaker M A

Jul 2, 2020

This is my first course on coursera and I really liked it

By Muhammed S

Sep 13, 2020

It's help how to live and oppos the corona virus

By Barbara A

Jan 27, 2021

Thank you!

By Eshan P

Sep 12, 2020

Wonderful short course , learned alot.

By Radha S

Aug 24, 2020

This course could have been kept condensed. It would also have benefited if more psychological and sociological terms have been added to make it more informative and scholarly. I felt that basic ideas were introduced in a round about way instead of presenting them in a precise way. The topic is of course, relevant for the current issues we are facing.

By Chanelle O

Aug 14, 2020

I think this course would have been more helpful and relevant for someone at the beginning of Covid-19. At this point, a lot of the suggestions seem redundant, however the Prof did a great job, and for someone who is new to self care/managing their anxiety and mental health this course would be useful.

By Salma M M E

May 29, 2020

no certificate!!!!

By salonee k

Oct 21, 2020

It is a good course for someone who is looking at getting a very general view on this topic. But it does not do anything more than that.

By Ahmet

Dec 19, 2020

Lot's of speaking rather than visual explanation

By Bestin S

Oct 4, 2020

I didn't get certificate.

By Deleted A

Jul 24, 2020

Just ok

By Zahra V

Apr 1, 2021

/

By Laila k k

Aug 4, 2020

Professor Joorden, your course has been tremendously enlightening. I am pleased to see the emphasis placed on empathy, Also, to see the positive side of our changed situation, such as quality time with family, walks in nature, and connecting on an emotional level with loved ones. The recommendation of being in touch with the elderly lonely souls too is highly commendable. I wish your course had a website that in fact allowed us to daily connect with homes to give solace, comfort and love to those most in danger from the virus, given their age and illnesses. I for one would daily spend some time chatting through zoom or whatever, learn its workings, and take such an endeavour very seriously, if the platform existed. No other place better than your course. Thank you for your immensely humane ways, sharing them with us, your purpose in life has brought purpose to us as well..

If I may say so, your email was covered by your image in the last lecture.... Wishing you the best, and your wife and doggie.... Laila Khan: lkhan.cnsa@gmail.com

PS: I retook the whole course just now, as I was informed I needed to complete it. If I recall, when I took it last, there were no quizzes.... it was a pleasure returning to it, and I shall do so again to better absorb all the good sense recommended here...

By M. N

Jun 3, 2023

Exceptional Program for Managing Mental Health During COVID-19

I recently completed the "Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19" program offered by the University of Toronto, and I am incredibly impressed with the knowledge and support it provided. The program's content was exceptional, offering valuable insights and strategies for navigating the challenges of the pandemic.

The instructors were highly knowledgeable and delivered the material in a clear and engaging manner. I appreciated their expertise in addressing the unique mental health concerns arising from the COVID-19 situation. The program emphasized the importance of self-care, resilience-building, and maintaining social connections during these challenging times.

Furthermore, the program's practical approach allowed me to immediately apply the techniques learned to my daily life. It provided a comprehensive understanding of mental health management, equipping me with effective tools to prioritize my well-being and support others in their mental health journeys.

I highly recommend this program to anyone seeking guidance and strategies for managing their mental health during the COVID-19 pandemic. The University of Toronto has truly created a valuable resource that empowers individuals to thrive amidst adversity.

By Davin P S

Jan 3, 2021

As a law enforcement officer, this course has added to my mental repertoire on how to deal not only with physical but also mental isolation. A lot of us have deleted our Facebook and social media profiles after being attacked by the public, but seeing this course brings to light that it is more likely just an anxiety reaction that's doing it vs. global reaction over the George Floyd case. We had become a target for those we swore to serve, and because of that...we hide in plane site when not on duty. The only scrapings of sympathy we can get are from each other and health care professionals we work with. A lot of our friends and family turned against us over a period of a few short months. This course has helped me get through that a little better. The old world is gone, but with a proactive mentality I can create a better one for myself with a much better outlook. I will recommend this course to my fellow officers and my department. Thank you for allowing me to participate.

By Veronica A

May 8, 2021

This course overpassed my expectations , it was just awsome. I learned important concepts about how our body in its two systems sympathetic ( anxious respond, fight or flight) and the parasympathetic with the relaxing mode. Explains why we feel now through this pandemic , like we need to do something to fight as a respond to the uncertainty that cause our anxiety . Great , strategies for coping anxiety and stress. Techniques as the guided relaxation , aerobic exercises, singing and more important, to better understand that in this covid-19 time, we should keep physical distance but be socially connected , not to loose our identity based in the reflect -self that give us that sense of empathy which builds the emotional connection that holds us together as humans . Thank you ,Professor for all the knowledge you have shared with us in a mindful and clear way , that now I feel I can contribute sharing this with others and applying the techniques learnt to help people in need.

By Karen H

Aug 22, 2020

What a wonderful professor and course. I recommend this course. It is put together with care and concern, backed by a solid foundation of multiple principles of self-awareness and self-care pointers. Anyone who struggles with the care of their workday, their family, their own mental attitude in the harsh demands of a virus pandemic in the middle of a city (or anywhere for that matter!) will find this a breath of fresh air: serves you a palette of common sense, solid facts, and gentle prods to get your house in order - Trains you to relax yourself so you can be your best for yourself, your work, your family, your community. Everything is covered. Not a stone is unturned. Professor Steve J is the BEST.

This is a course that will stay on your mind and you will retain the tools (once learned) for life.

Thank you, Professor Steve J. - Student Spring/Summer 2020, Sacramento CA

By Sue N

Aug 16, 2020

Instructor: Dr. Steve Joordens was beyond wonderful at teaching this class. Not anyone can do it. I learned a great deal and have reduced my anxiety by using the techniques we were taught.

Dr. Joordens did such a great job teaching this class. His calm, caring attitude helped a great deal. Techniques for surviving a pandemic include: reducing stimuli - such as overusing social media can be beneficial, planning our day helps us to remember to use our techniques such as meditation and exercise to make us feel more motivated and healthy, and remembering to social distance etc. but also to make sure we have contact with other people to help us feel better mentally - we can use the telephone to have conversations with people who are alone or to call a friend and ask how they are doing. This class was wonderful and anyone would benefit from it.

By Kimberly D

Oct 21, 2020

This course is very timely and relevant! I personally struggle to manage my own thoughts and emotions these days, so when I came across to this course, I got myself enroll right away. My personal take away is its better to feel anxious than to feel nothing at all. We can manage our emotions and thoughts by identifying our own "triggers", with practice, the reaction to our emotional triggers could subside, but they may never go away. The best we can do is to quickly identify when an emotion is triggered and then choose what to say or do next. Let's always choose to do what would be the best for us and for others as well. I pray to everyone who's having a hard time coping up with the new normal. We're all in this together! Thank you so much, Professor Steve. God bless you.

By Aedrian A

Jan 26, 2021

This is a much-needed course for everyone regardless of whether you feel anxious of the current social climate. For those who feel emotionally drained by the COVID-19 pandemic (and its consequences) and other socio-political issues, this short course can provide tricks and tips in taking care of your mental health on a daily or sub-daily basis. For those who feel emotionally secure amidst the "chaos," the material can help you in taking care of people around you. Dr. Joordens does a great job in creating a "cozy" and validating setting for all learners here, emphasizing that we are all in this together and that most (if not all) of us are susceptible in feeling anxious and/or depressed during this pandemic (regardless of one's prior mental "preparations" or "training").

By MB L

Nov 19, 2020

My deepest gratitude for this wonderful course. It has empowered me to empower others who are in single isolation as myself. I've taken up a bit of language teaching via ZOOM in my community. I've started doing the relaxation exercise and meditating on a daily basis. I'm still fighting the fridge since I do open it more often than I should, perhaps you could share some ideas on distracting from eating snacks, while learning something, while watching a funny film (?) Lastly, I was given two budgies on my birthday to take care of. These tiny animals have certainly helped me feel accompanied in a way and I have a real routine since I have to feed and take care of them on a daily basis. FAZIT: This has been a brilliant, helpful course. Well done, thank your!!!

By Kathya E B S

Mar 8, 2021

Fue un curso muy bueno, detallado pero simplificado en toda la información vista. Me ayudo mucho a entender mi mente, mi cuerpo y mis emociones en estos momentos de pandemia. Le agradezco infinitamente al profesor de la Universidad de Toronto por compartir ese sentido de vida, positivismo y objetivo de hacer algo en el día con nosotros. He aprendido mucho y lo recomiendo.

[ TRANSLATION]

It was a very good course, detailed but simplified in all the information seen. It helped me a lot to understand my mind, my body and my emotions in these pandemic times. I am infinitely grateful to the professor from the University of Toronto for sharing that sense of life, positivity and goal to do something in the day with us. I have learned a lot and I recommend him.

By HAEJIN B

Feb 13, 2021

This is a good course. I personally do not know what to do during pandemics. Last year when WHO announced COVID-19 as a pandemic, I just worked. Non-stop working.. I worked 28 days out of 31 days in a month. never experienced lockdown at my work before.. and airborne protocol, etc. I did not have even personal time to take care of myself last year. I recently moved to a new workplace and this work does not give me a lot of work times so I needed something to distress at me. I did not have any idea last year for sure. I just worked. This course is just good to refresh my mind out how to deal with my anxiety. I was a little bit depressed before taking this course, but now I know what to do. I will try to do something to make my mood better.

By Lakisha C H

Nov 8, 2020

The instructor was very insightful, shared personal experiences, and gave several definitions to points he want the learned to really know. He took his time in presenting the information, although I wish there were move end summarization. He gave material to use as you went thru the course as an outside, outward benefit for the learner. I liked the course specifically because you went at your own pass, took me a while to finish and process the information, and the instructor didn't force you to do discussion board or had in graded assignment as par for this course. Its a mentally confusing ad challenging time for many. This course was a break in some of that as the instructor talked to you and gave you some tools to get you thru it.