Chevron Left
Back to Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19 by University of Toronto

4.8
stars
8,577 ratings

About the Course

Never in the history of humanity have so many people been feeling intense anxiety related to COVID-19 and the world it will leave in its wake. The intent of this course is to give you a deeper understanding of the anxiety reaction as it relates to various aspects of our current life, ranging from our consumption of news to the way we talk to our children about this. I will also give you clear strategies for managing and, in fact, turning off the anxiety response at least for short periods. My sincere hope is that you will leave this course with a better understanding of how your brain reacts to crises, along with some powerful tools for managing it before it manages you. In this course we will cover: 1.1 Introduction and Overview 1.2 Understanding the Anxiety Response 1.3 The Necessity of Strategies to Manage Anxiety 1.4 Achieving Relaxation: A Skill We All Need to Learn Now 2.1 Why Watching the News is Addicting and How to Manage Your Consumption 2.2 The Critical Art of Mental Distraction to Crowd Out Stressors 2.3 How We Think About Physical Distancing and Explaining it to Our Children 3.1 The Effects of Isolation 3.2 Some Strategies to Make Isolation More Tolerable 3.3 The Importance of Social Connection in a Physical Distancing World 4.1 The Need to Guard Against Depression: The Importance of Control 4.2 Bring it Together: Practice Makes Proficient 4.3 Invitation to Suggest Additional Videos...

Top reviews

VS

Jul 19, 2020

The course is very insightful. The topics were carefully and simply taught by Prof. Joordens. It's easy to understand and has helped a lot in understanding how our minds work esp during this pandemic.

AM

Jul 17, 2020

So grateful that a course like this exists. I found the information that was presented easy to understand and in such a way that small changes to my daily routine seem manageable. Thank you very much!

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 2,495 Reviews for Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

By MIRTHA H

May 24, 2021

this course was great, I learned so much not only to be able to help someone, but to help myself and my own family. I would be very interested on more courses which become available. Lastly thank you so much for keeping it interactive and engaging us in the course, that made it more entertaining and exciting.

By Nico S

Oct 22, 2020

Great content for those who has not practiced any discipline or structure in orienting their thoughts. It gives a more motivating reason to engage learning process to control and behave beneficially particularly beyond the usual adversities such as this pandemic. It touches base with our daily grind. Thank you.

By Soumadip B

Sep 13, 2020

It's a wonderful course, and Prof. Steve Joordens is an awesome teacher! The way he inspires , talks, and carries himself is truly encouraging. This course is very informative too, I hope that someday, in the future, I'd also be able to help someone with the knowledge I encountered in this course! Thank you! ♥

By Alejandra N A

Jul 21, 2020

As a Psychology major student and a person who is going through all of this COVID and mental health issues in my own life, I found this course very helpful and guiding, personally and professionally. The topics are well explained and the recommendations, when applied are really effective. Thank you so much :)

By Anne M R

Mar 14, 2021

Excellent course!!! I think every person should take this course...especially now during these trying times. I found it very helpful informative and comforting and will be referring back to it often. The guided relaxation is an excellent tool that everyone could use for sure. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

By Krista K

May 27, 2020

A great course with much take-away and useful tips and information. This (Covid) is unknown territory for everyone and I feel that the more we can put our minds and bodies at ease, the better we will be able to manage the stressors that are presented due to everything that is going on around us. Thank you!

By Yasmin H

Nov 13, 2020

Absolutely fantastic course. I actually joined the course to help me understand what sort of factors I should be considering when making mental health plans for our workforce and the information given on this course is actually life changing advice. I cannot recommend this enough - thank you to all involve

By Chiarina C

Nov 8, 2020

This was excellent! A great reminder to utilize certain tools and strategies. It was short and concise, therefore not a huge time commitment. I appreciated Steve being so honest about experiencing anxiety himself and trying to practice what he preached. Definitely normalized feeling anxious myself. Thanks!

By PRAVEETHA G

Sep 26, 2020

The course was really helpful to navigate my personal and professional life during this pandemic time. the course is extremely easy to understand the mental health with effective strategies . Thank you Prof. Joordens for the great guidelines of social and physical distancing.

By Haritha S

Jun 10, 2020

It was an awesome learning experience.I learnt a lot about anxiety management and time management during this period of isolation.Really helped me cope up with this crisis. I also realized the importance of social connections and learning new things and also carpe diem..thanks to the course instructor!!

By Kazi M H

Jun 24, 2020

A very nice way to gather some knowledge on The machinery underlying anxiety and how to control it, Managing anxiety by managing my environment and Understanding and managing the effects of isolation will help to manage our mental health during COVID-19. So i will recommend everyone to do this course.

By Maria S

Mar 10, 2021

I enjoyed every moment of this course! It was well done and very informative. I actually looked forward to each new video. It gave me a new perspective on the way I'm handling anxiety and stress with myself and also my family. My 3 top take away's are 'Beach", Karaoke and Calm/Decisive Leadership!

By Sophia P

Jan 25, 2021

Absolutely fantastic course! All information was presented in a clear way and was really easy to understand. I loved the use of video clips with the professor speaking, this made it seem like i was really attending a live lecture! Thank you so much for this course, it was really useful and enjoyable!

By Wiktoria M M

Sep 10, 2020

This course was really interesting! I loved how prof Joordens talked about all the different aspects of anxiety and how to deal with it during those uncertain times. Also appreciating things we have rather than focusing on things we lost. "Mental health is definitely as important as physical health".

By Siti K

May 14, 2021

Very crucial and important to everyone who wants to beat COVID19, the world's current biggest enemy. It's not very technical based, which makes it organic and easy to grasp, understood and practiced. Thank you for the lecturers for making new courses in conjunction with this pandemic. May God bless.

By Mega Y S

Sep 7, 2020

Steve fragmented the big mental health issue to face it by small steps.

It really helped me to recognize and understand my body & mind more, also how to be relax before reacting to surprised situations that somehow break the common routine.

Thank you so much, Steve, looking forward to another course.

By VAISHNAVI S

Jun 5, 2021

Very happy with this course. It re-emphases on what is the need of the hour during the pandemic situation. I am proud that I accomplish something during my isolation (thanks for the motivation) and this course is short, crisp and to the point on dealing with isolation & strategies to overcome it.

By Dr. V S

Oct 27, 2020

it was a really helpful and may be a enlightenment input especially for those like me in the medical fields, frontliners

in a way tackling mental health issues patients and overcome our own self esteems. however the danger is still out there. hope there will be a definitive cure for this covid19.

By jennylou E

Aug 9, 2021

This is a great small course for families out there whom are struggling mentally. Had I found this early last year I think I would have been in better shape. Today My sister and I took the course together and we loved it. Thank you for making this course fun and informable-if thats a word hehe.

By Mac H

Jun 19, 2020

Thank you Professor Joordens! I've learned a lot, I definitely enjoyed the whole course. You kinda hit all those points especially the Isolation part (I live alone in an apartment away from my family so I can be close to work). Much appreciation and virtual hugs from the Philippines. Keep safe!

By KHAYLA D B

Oct 26, 2020

It helps me manage myself and my thoughts even more during this crisis. Ive been feeling lost and I dont have any idea why Im feeling like this, thanks to this course, it gives me a wide understanding and justification as to what Im feeling and helps me cope with the things that are happening.

By Lori S

Jan 22, 2021

This course enabled me to unnderstand how Covid was affecting my life/stress levels. Gave me courage to start looking at other on-line courses to expand my knowledge. Keep me engaged. Take my focus away from what was churning in my mind. I feel I am in control.

Loved the exercise feet to head.

By Dhriti M

Jul 5, 2020

It was extremely informative. Anyone can take up this course, there is no need to be in the medical field as such. These times can be hard on anyone, regardless of our age and this course talked about the needs of not only solving this issue but identifying it from the roots and accepting it.

By Yuko K

Jan 28, 2021

I find this course very useful and informative. All the ideas and points are clearly presented and explained. I have basic knowledge in psychology and read many articles etc on the subject but I think this is the best material to follow. I think everyone will gain something from this course.