Chevron Left
Back to Managerial Accounting: Tools for Facilitating and Guiding Business Decisions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managerial Accounting: Tools for Facilitating and Guiding Business Decisions by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
548 ratings
85 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will explore how to use accounting to allocate resources and incentivize manager and employee behaviors with these resources. You will also learn how financial and non-financial accounting information facilitates strategic performance measurement and how to integrate this information to continuously improve strategy. You will be able to: • Understand the role of managerial accounting information and use it to avoid common pitfalls in business decisions • Understand the iterative and interrelated nature of budgeting and apply the key components to preparing a master budget • Evaluate capital investments via a variety of measures • Calculate, interpret, and investigate variances • Understand decentralization and its advantages and disadvantages • Communicate the role of non-financial measures and strategic performance measurement systems • Compute and interpret financial performance measures and identify associate issues This course is part of Gies College of Business’ suite of online programs, including the iMBA and iMSM. Learn more about admission into these programs and explore how your Coursera work can be leveraged if accepted into a degree program at https://degrees.giesbusiness.illinois.edu/idegrees/....

Top reviews

AS
Oct 6, 2017

Enjoyed this course as part of the Online MBA from UIUC. The concepts are solidly explained with examples and plenty of practice exams that you can re-take unlimited times to test your understanding.

JN
Dec 12, 2018

Great course and great professor. I learned exactly what I hoped to learn and more. The professor is very clear in explaining and provides easy to follow examples that drive home the concepts.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 83 Reviews for Managerial Accounting: Tools for Facilitating and Guiding Business Decisions

By Jennifer N

Dec 12, 2018

Great course and great professor. I learned exactly what I hoped to learn and more. The professor is very clear in explaining and provides easy to follow examples that drive home the concepts.

By Sebastian R

Dec 18, 2016

Great course, I does complement the Managerial Accounting course I took before. A lot of tools to apply in the work place. The videos and the examples are wonderful for the learning pourpose.

By Амалия Б

Oct 21, 2016

It is very interesting course where after each lesson there are tasks which really check the received skills. I have taken great pleasure from a course. Thanks!

By kamran s

Jun 4, 2018

It Was a great learning experience for me. The course is well designed and helps to improve personal skills.

By Guilherme C

Jan 10, 2018

Could have more pratical insigths from top managers (eg).

By Vance S

Oct 21, 2017

While the quizzes are the measure of understanding and applying concepts, I think it would be beneficial to provide an optional test based on course material. The current system scores based on weekly assignments, however if you provide an optional test for people who want to increase their skill set; I think this would be extremely helpful in a full circle concept development. Optional end test or a multiplier application to current course grade could be used here, however I enjoyed the opportunity to refresh my knowledge base. Thank you.

By Yaser T Y H

Jul 30, 2020

Hi

Thank you for this course which is very practical and useful on real life and job

the approach used through the course was really helpful to see operation from different point of view .

I would like to thank Mr. Gary Hecht for this course which I recommend not only account to take this course but any one has mid to high level of responsibility in any company .

By Ashwin K S

Oct 7, 2017

Enjoyed this course as part of the Online MBA from UIUC. The concepts are solidly explained with examples and plenty of practice exams that you can re-take unlimited times to test your understanding.

By Pramit R S

Aug 26, 2021

I have thorourouly enjoyed this course and gained a helpful insights which I believe would excelled my skills and would be advantageous in the days to come. Thank you for this exciting course.

By JASON C

Nov 23, 2020

Really enjoyed learning management and accounting concepts in this course. Looking forward tgat more of this type of courses will be offered in the future.

By Ronald C

Jan 10, 2021

Excellent depth was covered in this course. I have been doing managerial accounting for many years, and even I learned many new things. Highly recommend.

By Bogdan B

Mar 1, 2019

Although seems to be easy going it is actually quote complex subject but professor made it simple for understanding - great work U of I !!

By Rogelio C G

Jul 16, 2020

It was a great online experience. I felt as if I was in the classroom getting a lecture from a top notch professional on the field.

By Iven K

May 28, 2020

Great overview and persepctive, with detailed calculation and more exercise difficulties(qualitative and quantitative.

By Dhinesh A D

Jun 28, 2021

Great course to learn about the fundamentals of managerial accounting and how it is used in real world problems.

By Pooja G

Sep 21, 2020

It was a great learning experience for me. The course is well designed and helps to improve personal skills.

By Gerardo A J

Oct 7, 2017

Only complaint is that I wish inserting a table or Excel file for out Individual Assignments was easier.

By Bill H

Feb 28, 2021

A very good entry-level course, especialy useful for people from a non-accounting background.

By Javan M

Oct 6, 2016

The material is thorough and liked the content. The testing aspect/ quez, u have to pay !

By Maria K

Oct 6, 2016

The course was very interesting and helpful. Now I know some economic terms in English

By Kevin S

Jun 27, 2020

Enjoyed the class. It has some basic math that enables learning for application.

By David H

May 1, 2018

great teacher, explains material well. great slides and easy to understand.

By Michele L

Dec 28, 2020

Thanks to Professor Gary Hecht, with your lecture I've filled the gap.

By Ponciano R

Jan 3, 2019

Great course! covers a lot of useful topics in an applicable way.

By Stan S

Jul 11, 2020

Very interesting and educational, Professor Gary is the best!