Chevron Left
Back to Managerial Accounting: Tools for Facilitating and Guiding Business Decisions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managerial Accounting: Tools for Facilitating and Guiding Business Decisions by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
325 ratings
44 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will explore how to use accounting to allocate resources and incentivize manager and employee behaviors in using these resources. You will also learn how financial and non-financial accounting information facilitates strategic performance measurement and how to integrate this information to continuously improve strategy. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Understand the role of managerial accounting information in common business decisions • Differentiate relevant and irrelevant information • Avoid common pitfalls in business decisions • Prepare a master budget and its key components • Describe the iterative and interrelated nature of budgeting • Evaluate capital investments via a variety of measures • Understand how upper management uses variance analysis • Calculate, interpret, and investigate variances • Understand decentralization and its advantages and disadvantages • Compute and interpret financial performance measures • Communicate the role of non-financial measures and strategic performance measurement systems • Identify issues associated with performance measurement and incentives • Understand the nature and role of subjective performance evaluation This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

AS

Oct 07, 2017

Enjoyed this course as part of the Online MBA from UIUC. The concepts are solidly explained with examples and plenty of practice exams that you can re-take unlimited times to test your understanding.

JN

Dec 13, 2018

Great course and great professor. I learned exactly what I hoped to learn and more. The professor is very clear in explaining and provides easy to follow examples that drive home the concepts.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 43 Reviews for Managerial Accounting: Tools for Facilitating and Guiding Business Decisions

By Guilherme C

Jan 10, 2018

Could have more pratical insigths from top managers (eg).

By Mohamed A E H M

Dec 15, 2018

thank you so much

By Ponciano R

Jan 03, 2019

Great course! covers a lot of useful topics in an applicable way.

By Emeka J E

Mar 07, 2019

What a great learning experience?

By Michael O

Mar 02, 2019

Great course!

By Bogdan B

Mar 01, 2019

Although seems to be easy going it is actually quote complex subject but professor made it simple for understanding - great work U of I !!

By Jennifer N

Dec 13, 2018

Great course and great professor. I learned exactly what I hoped to learn and more. The professor is very clear in explaining and provides easy to follow examples that drive home the concepts.

By Oduniyi A I

Feb 19, 2019

exception lecturer teaching aids easy understanding

By Alex N

Dec 11, 2018

Thanx

By Andrey I

Oct 23, 2016

Very good course!

By Gerardo A J

Oct 07, 2017

Only complaint is that I wish inserting a table or Excel file for out Individual Assignments was easier.

By 马嘉任

Nov 02, 2016

Outstanding ways to broaden knowledge!

By David H

May 02, 2018

great teacher, explains material well. great slides and easy to understand.

By Kenrick H

Oct 08, 2017

Gary is awesome!

By Амалия Б

Oct 21, 2016

It is very interesting course where after each lesson there are tasks which really check the received skills. I have taken great pleasure from a course. Thanks!

By Charlotta S R

Oct 01, 2016

Very interesting course, high level of engagement learning

By Gamal M E

Nov 01, 2017

amazing course

By Sebastian R

Dec 18, 2016

Great course, I does complement the Managerial Accounting course I took before. A lot of tools to apply in the work place. The videos and the examples are wonderful for the learning pourpose.

By Digvijay

Oct 16, 2017

Fantastic course.

By kamran s

Jun 05, 2018

It Was a great learning experience for me. The course is well designed and helps to improve personal skills.

By yusuf m

Oct 29, 2017

quite helping

By Pierre L

Oct 10, 2017

Good course.

By Maria K

Oct 06, 2016

The course was very interesting and helpful. Now I know some economic terms in English

By Vance S

Oct 21, 2017

While the quizzes are the measure of understanding and applying concepts, I think it would be beneficial to provide an optional test based on course material. The current system scores based on weekly assignments, however if you provide an optional test for people who want to increase their skill set; I think this would be extremely helpful in a full circle concept development. Optional end test or a multiplier application to current course grade could be used here, however I enjoyed the opportunity to refresh my knowledge base. Thank you.

By shawn s

Oct 09, 2016

Great professor