Chevron Left
Back to Managing Data Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Data Analysis by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
2,291 ratings
299 reviews

About the Course

This one-week course describes the process of analyzing data and how to manage that process. We describe the iterative nature of data analysis and the role of stating a sharp question, exploratory data analysis, inference, formal statistical modeling, interpretation, and communication. In addition, we will describe how to direct analytic activities within a team and to drive the data analysis process towards coherent and useful results. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of data analysis and how it can be managed. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know how to…. 1. Describe the basic data analysis iteration 2. Identify different types of questions and translate them to specific datasets 3. Describe different types of data pulls 4. Explore datasets to determine if data are appropriate for a given question 5. Direct model building efforts in common data analyses 6. Interpret the results from common data analyses 7. Integrate statistical findings to form coherent data analysis presentations Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by fdecomite. Creative Commons BY https://flic.kr/p/4HjmvD...
Highlights
Well-organized content
(24 Reviews)
Helpful quizzes
(3 Reviews)

Top reviews

EL

Mar 01, 2017

A long course compared to others in the specialization, but a lot of great material. Very well presented, the instructors know how to present this material and make it easy to grasp and understand.

ST

Nov 23, 2016

The course is full of the cases and the real life examples coupled with the theory background. Its very simple to understand and the course will definitely be of an value for people looking for

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 295 Reviews for Managing Data Analysis

By Ye M Z

Oct 25, 2019

This course is interesting and good.

By Clara A R

Dec 26, 2018

I really liked the course structure

By Md. R K

Dec 21, 2018

A bit clumsy at inference chapter.

By Jocelyn D

Sep 08, 2018

Interesting and very informative!

By Baris T

Oct 21, 2016

well-defined process overview

By Marcelo B

Mar 05, 2017

Great course, thanks Roger

By Alok B

Aug 05, 2018

Need some project work

By Amit J

May 14, 2019

Good communication

By Angel S

Jan 13, 2016

Interesting course

By Acini G T

Nov 16, 2015

wonderful course

By Rudy d P

Oct 14, 2018

very insightful

By Kalpana I

Oct 31, 2016

Excellent!

By SATISH R

Jun 02, 2017

excellent

By Lacour

Mar 03, 2017

clear an

By tan

Nov 09, 2016

good

By Nidhi G

Jan 06, 2016

C

By Siddharth M

Mar 26, 2017

The course was very informative but the slides were a little boring. The content could have been more engaging. Sometimes the supplementary reading contained examples that could have been better explained in a video. I would have appreciate a more comprehensive explanation of content on slides using markers or pointers. Sometimes I did not know where I needed to focus. I hope the instructors create more videos for the same content. This is may be because I am more of a visual or an engaged learner.

By Hana P

Jul 21, 2019

If only the course lasted a little bit longer... for those who wish to complete the course as soon as possible, this is the course you should take otherwise i personally find it hard to get the idea of what really "managing data analysis" means other than its basic concepts and models/ trends etc.

By Augustina R

Dec 29, 2016

Content could have been boiled down to about 3 lectures. Most of it was common sense. The high level over view of the life cycle of data analysis projects was interesting and overall this was a good introduction to the field.

By Christina W

Feb 01, 2018

It would be nice to have listed points or tables to summarise/compare context.

As well, it would be good to introduce example separately rather than mixing with the explanation of subject.

By Matthew B

Apr 21, 2016

Didn't get much into the managerial aspect of a data analysis. Instead, it covered best practices for conducting a data analysis. Not the same thing and a little disappointment.

By Kamil P

Nov 16, 2016

It is quite general, I liked the examples, although there could be more varied examples from many other dissimilar disciplines.

By Joe Y

Jun 03, 2018

The questions can get a little too wordy. Find the questions difficult to follow after reading the entire length.

By Jose C O B

Aug 07, 2016

I think these courses need to be condensed into a single one as the contents are rather limited individually.

By Alex F

Jan 30, 2018

Good baseline - might be hard to follow for someone who has not been working the DS Specialization