Chevron Left
Back to Managing Talent

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Talent by University of Michigan

4.6
stars
2,330 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you will learn best practices for selecting, recruiting, and onboarding talent. You will also learn about the key approaches to measuring performance and evaluating your employees. In addition, you will learn how to develop and coach your talent so that they can realize their full potential at work. Altogether, you will gain a thorough understanding of the complete cycle of managing talent and creating a robust talent pipeline for your team and organization. Managing and developing talent is one of the top 3 issues on the minds of CEOs from around the world. In fact, CEOs cite managing and developing their leadership talent as the issue that is most important to the future success of their business but that their organizations are least capable of addressing effectively. This course will provide you with the insights, frameworks and tools to effectively manage and develop talent in your teams and organizations....

Top reviews

OI

Apr 5, 2020

A very illuminating course. Have started applying two key concepts already. Glad I took the course. Every HR practitioner should take the course as part of their own development. Thank you.

MB

May 11, 2017

Great lectures, important thinks pointed out. Not always is clear how important is taking care of employees. Without good HR management, whole business can struggle and not grow as could.

Filter by:

376 - 383 of 383 Reviews for Managing Talent

By Andrea T

May 19, 2016

One of the main presenters, who led about half of this course, would greatly benefit from an editor to help them organize their ideas. This, and a presentation style that made me feel "talked down to", similar to reading a story book to a small child, made comprehension of ideas frustratingly difficult. The content they were responsible for covering was why I signed up for a paid multi-course specialization. Though I learned lots of other things I'll no doubt find helpful, I did not walk away with the information I need the most. The other presenters were great, as usual, and presented their topics in a clear, concise manner.

By Jannes K

Sep 15, 2018

I liked the very structured way with clear references to scientific results in the other relating courses. Within this part, this is partly not the case and the advices of how to manage talent are very fuzzy and not referenced.

By Praktikant H

Jan 21, 2016

The first and the last week propose basic, but self-explaining inputs in an uninteresting manner. Nevertheless, there are some quite good take aways. Out of the four courses of the specialization, Managing Talent is the weakest

By Lara v V

Jun 3, 2020

I did not learn many new things. It was somewhat slow also. First course of this specialization was 100 times better.

By Thierry C B

Oct 3, 2022

not good, way too much talk to say nothing. Lack of a precise plan,

By Julie C

Sep 26, 2018

Seems a little out of date and focuses too much on retail

By Benjamin P

Feb 1, 2024

I really cannot recommend this course. Week 1 and 4 are endless videos of the instructor rambling about topics without any structure. The content is also not based in reality or research, it's all anecdotes of outdated experiences. A surprisingly large amount of the content is the instructor either bragging about random things, or rambling about experiences that are totally off topic, it was surreal. The quizzes and exercises are also completely worthless. Week 2 and 3 are much more interesting. They have valuable material and provide some well sourced information. Given that half the course is of such low quality, I would not recommend taking this class.

By Ann D

Oct 13, 2020

This is a very basic and slow-paced class for beginners. There is also a vast lack of diversity in the quotations and the stories shared.