Chevron Left
Back to Marine Biology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Marine Biology by American Museum of Natural History

4.8
stars
179 ratings

About the Course

This course is about life in the oceans, from the sunlit surface to the inky depths, from microscopic phytoplankton to the great blue whale. The ocean is among the world’s most inhospitable environments for scientific research, which is why we know as much about the surface of the moon as we do the bottom of the sea. This course uncovers the evolutionary history of marine organisms, adaptations to life in water, the behavior and functional morphology of sea animals, interactions between species, and current threats. Throughout the course, we meet scientists who are developing ingenious solutions for overcoming challenges and are making remarkable discoveries. By evaluating these cases and analyzing real scientific data, we come to understand some of the ways that life has adapted to diverse ocean habitats, how it interacts with the physical environment and with other organisms, and why it matters to us....

Top reviews

JJ

Oct 29, 2023

I really enjoyed this course. I think it was a good blend between essays and videos, and provided an in-depth dive into various fields in Marine Biology, and overall was very informative.

ON

Mar 12, 2024

I learned many things about Marine biology and its different aspects. Now, with the certificate, I can use it to study abroad and get into marine biology courses.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 37 Reviews for Marine Biology

By Elena K

Sep 25, 2023

Good introduction course for those who just start studying a marine biology or for those who wants to expand their basic education in environmental sciences.

By Nik N

Sep 27, 2023

The course is a wonderful introduction to marine biology! It's packed full of information and provides plenty of resources for further study. :)

By John D

Oct 14, 2023

A fascinating, sometimes beautiful, sometimes disturbing summary of ocean life, resources, and threats from pollution and overfishing.

By Caroline K

Apr 29, 2024

Content is good but way too much reading, I don't need a course for that, I can buy a book ! Also, 10 min for each reading is too short if you are not familiar with the topic, count at least 20 mins each time - which considerably adds to the actual training time

By Aakriti

Jun 25, 2023

The course content was comprehensive, well-structured, and engaging. The instructors skillfully covered a wide range of topics, including marine ecosystems, biodiversity, conservation, and the impact of human activities on the oceans. The lectures were informative, filled with fascinating facts and captivating visuals, which made it easy to stay engaged and absorb the wealth of knowledge being shared. The instructors' passion for marine biology was evident, and their enthusiasm was contagious, sparking a genuine interest and curiosity among the participants.

By Луцив О А

Nov 20, 2023

This course is incredibly good. It gave me a lot of knowledge, allowed me to see marine biology in a way I had never seen it before. I was struck by the details about the study of bioluminescence and biofluorescence by mr. Sparks, the incredible data about larvaceans that Kakani Katija received. I especially love the awe with which Jeremy Goldbogen and David Cade study whales. And of course other scientists, they're all just amazing! I love this course, and anybody else, who's interested in marine biology gonna love it too.

By Taekabu T

Aug 9, 2023

This course is very interesting and informative that has bring me to a broader understanding on life in the sea, its beautiful nature and the marine life existing through the videos. As a student, I am relieved to have this opportunity to get a glimpse of the marine world and to understand the basic need for urgent management for a sustaining marine environment for today and the future.

By Hudson S

Nov 14, 2023

This course was interesting There was a lot of reading which was sometimes hard for me to focus on (because of my ADHD not the course haha) but overall I really enjoyed it. I think the last week was my favorite because we discussed corals and coral bleaching as well as sharks :)

By Moegamat s

Mar 28, 2024

I thank each and everyone who contributed to this great work and who helped me immensely expand my knowledge about the ocean in marine biology and also what steps I can take to contribute towards the conservation and protection of marine life forms thanks once again

By Lina I

Aug 1, 2023

Being part of this course has been a very tremendous, exciting and informative journey since I have learnt the importance of corals, sharks, dolphins and how they way they feed, migrate, mate and their morphologies which is why I rated it as five.

By Joseph G

Aug 22, 2023

Excellent course. I have learnt a lot. I think that I would have preferred the topics in video format rather than essays as they were a bit heavy to read sometimes. Otherwise, it was informative and interesting

By Joshua J

Oct 30, 2023

I really enjoyed this course. I think it was a good blend between essays and videos, and provided an in-depth dive into various fields in Marine Biology, and overall was very informative.

By oceana n

Mar 12, 2024

I learned many things about Marine biology and its different aspects. Now, with the certificate, I can use it to study abroad and get into marine biology courses.

By Isabella P P

May 18, 2024

This is a really good and helpful course to learn about marine biology. The lectures are interesting and caught my attention, encouraging me to keep learning.

By NAVANEETH N

May 25, 2024

Gave me vast insights about the Oceans and really a good course if one is interested in Conservation Biology and Sustainability.

By Devi S

Feb 17, 2024

very informative and well-structured ,comprehensive, providing insightful knowledge in a great way.

By Kenneth F

Oct 2, 2023

This class was very insightful which included things I didn't know, definitely recommend it.

By Megan C M

Apr 30, 2024

Great Introduction to the field even if you have limited background knowledge

By rimsha k

Aug 25, 2023

Very diverse topics, loved the course, every thing was extensively explained.

By Yanna V

Apr 27, 2024

Great foundational information, would have loved to learn more!

By Jennifer M L

Sep 17, 2023

Informative and interesting. I like the focus on conservation.

By Karl S

May 17, 2024

What an amazing course-learnt so much thank you.

By Dieter L

Feb 20, 2024

Muy informativo, técnico y de buen nivel

By Julia W

Oct 24, 2023

Absolutely loved this course!