Chevron Left
Back to Meaningful Marketing Insights

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Meaningful Marketing Insights by Emory University

4.4
139 ratings
33 reviews

About the Course

With marketers are poised to be the largest users of data within the organization, there is a need to make sense of the variety of consumer data that the organization collects. Surveys, transaction histories and billing records can all provide insight into consumers’ future behavior, provided that they are interpreted correctly. In Introduction to Marketing Analytics, we introduce the tools that learners will need to convert raw data into marketing insights. The included exercises are conducted using Microsoft Excel, ensuring that learners will have the tools they need to extract information from the data available to them. The course provides learners with exposure to essential tools including exploratory data analysis, as well as regression methods that can be used to investigate the impact of marketing activity on aggregate data (e.g., sales) and on individual-level choice data (e.g., brand choices). To successfully complete the assignments in this course, you will require Microsoft Excel. If you do not have Excel, you can download a free 30-day trial here: https://products.office.com/en-us/try...

Top reviews

HK

Jan 03, 2017

Excellent course! Very hands on with right level of theory and application. Prof. Schweidel is obviously an expert in this field.

JD

Aug 29, 2017

This course went in depth into some excel functions used for analyzing sales and marketing data, really thought it was useful.

Filter by:

26 - 31 of 31 Reviews for Meaningful Marketing Insights

By Moayyad A Y

Nov 04, 2016

content is great and direct to the point. But 2 disappointing factors could have been avoided to make this course perfect

1- sound is almost in one ear which can make you feel dizzy if you are using headset.

2- instructor is reading everything like a robot. Very fast , no passion or whatsoever.

I guess 3 stars is fair enough.

By Lisa F

Sep 06, 2019

Some errors in the assignment formulas and the videos didn't cover all the material that appeared on the assignments.

By Simon P d G

Jul 29, 2017

the course is just not a course, it's a learn by yourself

By Essam A G

Jul 18, 2017

The instructor does not explain in detail esp. math formulas and I have to go to YouTube to get extra info. I have almost got all the info from external YouTube videos . The istructor is almost giving headlines and is extremely giving a brief summary of the topics

By Elizabeth H

Apr 22, 2019

Course description did not include information that you needed an economics / statistics background. The principals and mathematics being taught in the 3rd and 4th week of the first segment were advanced economics equations.

As a student, I was expected to infer meaning from advanced formulas and apply those to future quiz questions using critical thinking. There was a major gap of information involved. Additionally, quiz questions were not always related to the course materials taught. As indicated by a mentor- I was expected to do a lot of Google sleuthing on my own. Combined with questions that were vague and interpretative, I let this course go. Unfortunately, if the question surrounding the data can have several outcomes based the user interpretation of that question, it's not a great question.

When there is a large gap in education and no prep or indication that the material will cover that information it makes for an extremely disappointing class experience.

I've been in marketing for 12 years in a Creative Director / Executive Creative Director position. I'm here to brush up my analytics skills to prepare for a promotion. The title and description sounded perfect- but this is not a career boosting class.

Regression modeling formulas have never once passed my desk, nor has it passed the desks of my friends who are Analytics Experts, Directors of Marketing, VPs of Marketing. Instead, I got jokes from them about driving to Emory and shouting for a student to perform one or two math problems, freelance style, to use in their report to satisfy one small aspect that was needed in their excel sheets.

Them saying that clicked with me and helped me realize this was not the course I was expecting it to be nor was it what I needed to brush up with for a promotion. This type of class is perfect for a Data Scientist that works in a Marketing Department who wants an active, hands-on experience brushing up on their data and formulas for excel. Atleast in the first segment of the course. I cannot comment on any of the following.

Best of luck to all who take it. Hopefully this review helps you choose what is best for you.

By Siddhivinayak S

Aug 20, 2019

Not a very easy course for a beginner. The peer-review assignment feature makes sure that the completion of course and earning certificate will take huge time. Not recommended for someone who wants to learn in simple terms and in a short span of time.