Chevron Left
Back to Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential by McMaster University

4.8
stars
9,872 ratings
2,873 reviews

About the Course

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Top reviews

DI
Oct 30, 2020

Great course! This is a lot more general than Learning about Learning but is also useful nonetheless. I like the focus on keeping positive and being confident in your potential despite our weaknesses.

EC
Aug 26, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. I am 64-years-old and this course taught me that you can learn anything new no matter what age you are. I am now broadening my passions and learning is a lot more fun.

Filter by:

951 - 975 of 2,851 Reviews for Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

By Lukas K

Jul 5, 2017

Way better in production value than LHTL but I think it provides less content than previous MOOC but still very good MOOC.

By Daniel F R

May 3, 2017

Perfect MOOC - along with Learning How To Learn this MOOC: Mindshift must be part of the "starting kit" for MOOC learners.

By Kate Y

Apr 28, 2017

I really enjoyed this course! I have learned new skills and important new mindsets to take into future MOOCs. Thank you!

By Omodiaogbe S

Apr 13, 2017

The course gives deeper understanding of how to overcome obstacles we might set for ourselves by limiting our capabilities

By Claudine Y T

Jun 30, 2020

Very helpful because it recalibrated my mind before I took on any course here in Coursera. Helpful material for starters!

By Grace L

Jun 27, 2020

Great course, life changing experience for me to really have the courage to learn new things and believe in myself again!

By Czarina K

Jun 28, 2019

I love Barbara and Terry's approach together. It's very balanced and it's easier to understand rather hard to understand.

By Suzy K

Apr 21, 2019

It was a great course that taught me a lot and helped me understand better the power of mindshift! I highly recommend it.

By Tatiane M d S

Jun 22, 2020

This course was extremely helpful and made me realize that when it comes to learning, you can always do more! Thank you!

By Mustafa S A

May 6, 2020

Great course to improve your skills for life and for studying. whether you are a student or a graduate, try this course.

By MOHMAD F T

May 1, 2020

It was a wonderful journey with Barb Oakley and Terry Sejnowski... This experience will be always cherished in memories.

By Jose J D T A

Apr 28, 2020

Guys this is a 10 out of 10 course. Excellent instructor, meaning material, challenging exams. It really is a MINDSHIFT.

By Irene G

Dec 17, 2018

I love learning on this course! It helped me a lot with hands on skills! Love to see the lecturer!!! highly recommended!

By SA

Aug 17, 2018

It's like I have just been given a second t! Thank you so much. This will have made such a difference to so many people.

By Fay S

Jan 29, 2018

Warm and welcoming presenters. Lots of wisdom here without excessive verbiage. Inspirational and highly recommended.

By Brunno F d P

May 31, 2017

Very interesting MOOC, with a lot of insights and techniques for those who wants to follow a lifelong learning approach.

By Rico C

Oct 25, 2020

Great course! It provides practical insights and good mental tools to enhance learning and to discover one's potential.

By vinit

Aug 16, 2020

This course was an eye opening course for me and will remain close to my heart as this is the first course I completed.

By Jean S

Jul 15, 2020

I love this course and Barb! It has helped me get through my tough time and completely shifted my mind. Thank you Barb!

By Chethya A

Jun 9, 2020

Well organized nice course, very informative. I learned a lot of stuff about how to learn and teach! Thank you so much!

By Hang N

May 9, 2020

It's a great course with very structured material. The lectures are well-organized and easy to understand and memorize.

By Tom J

Apr 19, 2020

Very good course after Learning How To Learn and can give you advice for career selection and changing your own beliefs

By Olga

Apr 16, 2019

A different way of learning and wanting to learn more.

My thanks to all the people of coursera who share their knowledge

By Manjit S

Jul 29, 2020

Guys! Personal development can be the best investment u can make excellent Change the way u live Welcome to Mindshift.

By Simon S

Jun 23, 2020

Absolutely fantastic MOOC. I'm so happy to have completed it and I look forward to a whole new experience of learning.