Chevron Left
Back to Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
666 ratings
155 reviews

About the Course

Most professions these days require more than general intelligence. They require in addition the ability to collect, analyze and think about data. Personal life is enriched when these same skills are applied to problems in everyday life involving judgment and choice. This course presents basic concepts from statistics, probability, scientific methodology, cognitive psychology and cost-benefit theory and shows how they can be applied to everything from picking one product over another to critiquing media accounts of scientific research. Concepts are defined briefly and breezily and then applied to many examples drawn from business, the media and everyday life. What kinds of things will you learn? Why it’s usually a mistake to interview people for a job. Why it’s highly unlikely that, if your first meal in a new restaurant is excellent, you will find the next meal to be as good. Why economists regularly walk out of movies and leave restaurant food uneaten. Why getting your picture on the cover of Sports Illustrated usually means your next season is going to be a disappointment. Why you might not have a disease even though you’ve tested positive for it. Why you’re never going to know how coffee affects you unless you conduct an experiment in which you flip a coin to determine whether you will have coffee on a given day. Why it might be a mistake to use an office in a building you own as opposed to having your office in someone else’s building. Why you should never keep a stock that’s going down in hopes that it will go back up and prevent you from losing any of your initial investment. Why it is that a great deal of health information presented in the media is misinformation....

Top reviews

JM

Jul 29, 2019

This course is great! I recommend it to anyone who wants to be able to reason better and have more capabilities in making decisions. Thank you Dr. Nisbett and Coursera for providing this course.

MK

Apr 08, 2020

Anyone beginner can take this course and be 100 times more understanding of information via any media while also perhaps understanding what is the best choice in some give scenario IRL.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 154 Reviews for Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age

By Fernando V

Jul 11, 2018

Excelente

By Vitalii R

May 26, 2020

Love it.

By Md. W I K

Jun 10, 2020

Good

By Sachin P

Jul 20, 2019

G

By Mark E

May 12, 2019

Good introduction into the field of statistical reasoning and the errors made, errors we encounter quite frequently. It helps to value the news and information we receive all day, by applying a critical filter

Lecture had a good mix of video, downloadable slides (to make notes and review a topic) and optional reading materials, based on a book that needs to be bought seperately. I suggest however to buy the book and do the optional reading, as it helps to anchor the content of the videos and slides.

The reason for not giving 5 stars: The language is occasionally hard to understand for non-native English speakers. Even though I consider my English to be quite good, quite frequently I had to look up words in the dictionary. Slides on the download section are supportive, but eventually should be cleaned up.

By Shailesh S

May 28, 2017

Nice concise course. Explains basics of correlation, causation, std deviation, 5-6 cognitive biases and logical reasoning/thinking. Overall good course, would recommend. What I personally didn't like (would love to see changed) is - 1) not requiring correct answers for pre-lecture quizzes 2) not allowing free form entry text for answers type questions in quizzes that count towards marks/grades 3) Lesson 8b - Dialectical Reasoning (I wish this topic was not included in the course, maybe it can be replaced by something different/better. As usual, many thanks to professor for sharing his knowledge and to all involved in making this course available to us - on-demand and free !

By Monib S

Aug 25, 2018

Highly relevant and useful content,Being IT Professional I believe this will help in managing people more effectively without cognitive bias and also making critical decisions on go no go /feasibility studies with better overall understanding and best outcomes ! BIG Thanks Prof. Nisbett your presentation style is apt and simple to understand ,duration of each module and quiz makes this highly interesting and engrossing course

By Sujata S

Jul 08, 2017

I think the professor was kind and laid-back. I like the ample use of examples. I would recommend it to anyone who needs an intro to logical reasoning. I am an LSAT tutor and might even recommend that some of my students watch this course before working on their LSAT to keep their mental senses open before they read anything. Thanks Dr. Nisbett.

By Stephen d

Mar 09, 2018

I found it very interesting. I knew some of the concepts, but it was put together in an interesting way with a congenial lecturer.

By Andrr R S

Jan 06, 2020

Good to recall some logics, statistics and human behaviours biases that we tend to forget.

By Salvador M

Dec 23, 2018

Really interesting and useful to get better decisions in the future, I hope ;)

By Prabhakar

May 27, 2017

Very nice course with real life examples, where one needs to think critically.

By Abdullah A

Jun 25, 2020

it's so great and surprising, but, for my age (17), needs more explanation

By Abhimanyu K

Apr 11, 2020

Nice course. Basic knowledge of decision making and some basic statistics

By Tania T

May 18, 2020

Great videos and cover a reasonable range of critical thinking theories.

By Fhuad B

Jul 04, 2019

Great teachings and I like the way he chooses the words he uses.

By Jasmin A

Nov 11, 2018

Very interesting course I just found it to be dry at times

By John N H Y M

Jun 10, 2018

the book should be available More simplicity will be good

By Meshal A N A

Apr 16, 2019

Excellent instructor. Course is full of examples

By Bhavesh L

Jul 02, 2020

Excellent content with such a experienced tutor

By Kadambeswaran B

May 17, 2020

good overview with good examples

By Stefano E

Mar 01, 2019

Interesting course.

By Edward A

Aug 30, 2018

great... easy to

By Omgupta

Apr 20, 2020

Great course 👍

By Samuel C

Sep 25, 2017

Great content