Chevron Left
Back to Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
922 ratings
222 reviews

About the Course

Most professions these days require more than general intelligence. They require in addition the ability to collect, analyze and think about data. Personal life is enriched when these same skills are applied to problems in everyday life involving judgment and choice. This course presents basic concepts from statistics, probability, scientific methodology, cognitive psychology and cost-benefit theory and shows how they can be applied to everything from picking one product over another to critiquing media accounts of scientific research. Concepts are defined briefly and breezily and then applied to many examples drawn from business, the media and everyday life. What kinds of things will you learn? Why it’s usually a mistake to interview people for a job. Why it’s highly unlikely that, if your first meal in a new restaurant is excellent, you will find the next meal to be as good. Why economists regularly walk out of movies and leave restaurant food uneaten. Why getting your picture on the cover of Sports Illustrated usually means your next season is going to be a disappointment. Why you might not have a disease even though you’ve tested positive for it. Why you’re never going to know how coffee affects you unless you conduct an experiment in which you flip a coin to determine whether you will have coffee on a given day. Why it might be a mistake to use an office in a building you own as opposed to having your office in someone else’s building. Why you should never keep a stock that’s going down in hopes that it will go back up and prevent you from losing any of your initial investment. Why it is that a great deal of health information presented in the media is misinformation....

Top reviews

JM
Jul 28, 2019

This course is great! I recommend it to anyone who wants to be able to reason better and have more capabilities in making decisions. Thank you Dr. Nisbett and Coursera for providing this course.

MK
Apr 7, 2020

Anyone beginner can take this course and be 100 times more understanding of information via any media while also perhaps understanding what is the best choice in some give scenario IRL.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 219 Reviews for Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age

By Leonardo A

Apr 9, 2017

This is exactly what I needed in my field of work. Have been looking for this for several years and glad I found it.

By Oleksandr O

Sep 14, 2018

Excellent course! The 6th lesson was quite difficult to get it, but others are awesome. Thank you so much!

By Aron T B

Nov 12, 2020

Amazing course! The content is very complete and at the same time very straightforward, very practical.

By Javier M

Jul 1, 2020

Everyone should get this course. It's like knowing how to read and write. I must for every human being.

By Melchor S M

Jun 4, 2019

Excellent course, the explanations by Dr. Nisbett were very clear and engaging. Highly recommended!

By Ervinas J

Aug 3, 2019

Amazing course, going to purchase audio version of your book to listen while I commute! Thank you.

By ALESSIO F

May 10, 2020

A refreshing review of common thinking fallacies and biases, with practical hints to reduce them.

By Viviana L

Aug 28, 2018

Game-changing. Probably life-changing, too -- but I can't base my evaluation on a single event :)

By Reinis L

Jan 7, 2021

Super course, just sometimes the wording and phrases are too complicated for non native speakers

By sweta d

Jun 26, 2019

Great course,! Great instructor! This course is very helpful for everyone all across the board.

By Tidie R

Jun 7, 2020

Great course to resharpen your analytical skill by knowing the foundation of logical reasoning.

By Munawar H

Nov 1, 2017

I had great time and learned to see in new point of view and think in many ways as it requires.

By Roger D W

Aug 8, 2018

Excellent course! Well thought out and constructed, very interesting content, highly relevant.

By Rodrigo H

Oct 21, 2020

One of my best courses at Coursera! I'll use a lot more of Critical Thinking in my decisions.

By Faris Z B

Jul 5, 2020

Great course on how to think about real-world problems and making more effective decisions.

By Михайловский И А

Aug 15, 2020

The team did a great job in saving your time and making it fun simultaniously. Great job!

By Albert R

Apr 2, 2020

It is really useful because it provides you some tools you can use in your everyday life.

By hans a

Sep 19, 2020

It was a great course, I have never thought about statistics and philosophy like that.

By Janka

May 21, 2020

Great course. Very helpful for everyday thinking about important stuff in our lives.

By Toni K

Sep 6, 2018

Stuff and techniques you need year 2018 going forward and not get taught in school.

By Darsh K W

Sep 6, 2020

A must do course to understand the Why and how of statistics, reasoning and logic.

By Edvardas G

Nov 27, 2018

Brilliant course and well taught by professor. Super content and given examples.

By Amit P

Aug 16, 2020

Excellent course for learning critical thinking. Professor explains very well

By Augusto F P M

Apr 14, 2020

Excellent Course, It make you think better than before, make better decisions!

By Michał K

Mar 24, 2019

Terrific! I strongly reccomend for everybody who is eager to think accurately.