Chevron Left
Back to Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age by University of Michigan

4.7
410 ratings
100 reviews

About the Course

Most professions these days require more than general intelligence. They require in addition the ability to collect, analyze and think about data. Personal life is enriched when these same skills are applied to problems in everyday life involving judgment and choice. This course presents basic concepts from statistics, probability, scientific methodology, cognitive psychology and cost-benefit theory and shows how they can be applied to everything from picking one product over another to critiquing media accounts of scientific research. Concepts are defined briefly and breezily and then applied to many examples drawn from business, the media and everyday life. What kinds of things will you learn? Why it’s usually a mistake to interview people for a job. Why it’s highly unlikely that, if your first meal in a new restaurant is excellent, you will find the next meal to be as good. Why economists regularly walk out of movies and leave restaurant food uneaten. Why getting your picture on the cover of Sports Illustrated usually means your next season is going to be a disappointment. Why you might not have a disease even though you’ve tested positive for it. Why you’re never going to know how coffee affects you unless you conduct an experiment in which you flip a coin to determine whether you will have coffee on a given day. Why it might be a mistake to use an office in a building you own as opposed to having your office in someone else’s building. Why you should never keep a stock that’s going down in hopes that it will go back up and prevent you from losing any of your initial investment. Why it is that a great deal of health information presented in the media is misinformation....

Top reviews

JM

Jul 29, 2019

This course is great! I recommend it to anyone who wants to be able to reason better and have more capabilities in making decisions. Thank you Dr. Nisbett and Coursera for providing this course.

NP

Aug 07, 2017

A very good course prof Richard has explained very difficult to understand concepts in a very simple language and made it easy for students to grasp the subject matter easily.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 100 Reviews for Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age

By Manoj S

Jan 25, 2018

Crisp and fun

By sun x

Sep 18, 2017

very useful! THX!!!

By Radu C

Jan 09, 2018

Well structured course and very helpful. It presents the matter of critical thinking in a pretty abstract away allowing to cover a lot of subjects while also presenting the most important aspects. I observed changes in my way of analyzing information in every day life. The course does not provide in depth mathematical / logical concepts but it teaches you when to observe the need to use such a concept and how to search for it which is more valuable in my opinion.

By Christos G

Sep 06, 2017

Excellent collection of mistakes we make during decision making and logical reasoning. A valuable companion for the rest of your life.

By Dinara S

Aug 04, 2017

This is one of the best courses for everyone. It describes very common life situations and give you the right answer on them. The course is built very interesting. First you should answer the questions or make exersices and afterward the professor explain to you your mistakes (if you made them) and describes the logic of conclusions in a very clear way. I definitely recommend this course to all. Thank you!

By Sergey S

May 21, 2017

Hi and thanks for this course.

It inspires me to study deeper statistics, logic and other topics included in the course.

The only issue that I faced with is how should I use that in a real world? Lot of (or even all) information given in this course was new to as an academic subject. And I feel lack of understanding how can I use it in practice. So, my feedback is add some practical assignments (with no review, of course) or give some hint about how start using that. It'll be very handy.

Anyway, thank you for that. That was really great.

P.S. I would be very appreciate if you can give some ideas about my issue. You can text me on sergejshishkin@gmail.com

But of course, it's only by your grace. I've no reasons to expect and insist on it.

By Anand G

Jun 13, 2017

Great course. liked the content as it will help in making decision and understand, analyze situations problem in much better light.

By Munawar H

Nov 01, 2017

I had great time and learned to see in new point of view and think in many ways as it requires.

By Sofia G

Jul 21, 2017

I really love the course, and I have recommended it to all my friends. The course helped me to think more clearly and avoid cognitive biases.

By Musallam S A M

Mar 20, 2017

Really Good Course

By Fernando V

Jul 11, 2018

Excelente

By Sania N A

Jul 10, 2018

excellent course!

By Alexandra Z

Jul 10, 2018

Great course!

By Evangeline

Apr 04, 2019

very useful. Critical Thinking.

By Steven B

Apr 28, 2019

The course was very informative and paced just right. It was a light introduction to a lot of concepts that all tied together

By Jameel C

Apr 02, 2019

A very Practical and Real life skiIls course. I found this course very well structured in terms of organising the way to use the thinking tools that I discovered in the course This is a must course for everyday thinking. Also Professor Nisbett brings a very warm and engaging way to his lectures that makes you come back for more.

By Michał K

Mar 24, 2019

Terrific! I strongly reccomend for everybody who is eager to think accurately.

By Paul K

May 28, 2019

Superb. Being able to (begin to) see cognitive biases and errors daily--and realizing that everyone makes many--is enlightening and humbling.

By Melchor S M

Jun 05, 2019

Excellent course, the explanations by Dr. Nisbett were very clear and engaging. Highly recommended!

By Agostino P

Jun 16, 2019

Excellent! a must-do and mind-blowing course, suggested to anyone!

By sweta d

Jun 26, 2019

Great course,! Great instructor! This course is very helpful for everyone all across the board.

By Manuel O A

Jul 11, 2019

Thanks for the course, very illuminating. Our society needs to educate his Mindware to be better, especially now with the environmental crisis in we are.

By Sachin P

Jul 20, 2019

G

By Heber H B M

Jul 29, 2019

Hace tiempo que venía buscando un curso sobre pensamiento crítico. Este curso es muy bueno, no sólo porque provee de herramientas para razonar, sino también por las explicaciones y los ejemplos que se dan.

By Ervinas J

Aug 03, 2019

Amazing course, going to purchase audio version of your book to listen while I commute! Thank you.