Chevron Left
Back to The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 by University of Virginia

4.8
stars
2,070 ratings
542 reviews

About the Course

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

Top reviews

MC

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

GW

Apr 16, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 533 Reviews for The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910

By fouad m

Nov 29, 2019

GREAT COURSE!! only need improvement regarding the test question's nature

By Richard K

Jan 29, 2019

The course is good, but requiring a purchase to do the quizzes is not.

By alexa a

Nov 08, 2015

It had a lot of information, however there wasn't a vary of sources.

By Fernando B

Feb 09, 2020

worldview of many facts and ideologies, the history in global scale

By ADI S P R

Aug 29, 2019

Nice content with good explanation, effective teaching with humour

By Haihang W

Oct 19, 2015

Would be great to have slides available to help for future review.

By Ayushi M

Jun 08, 2018

Excellent course. Good way of giving details and illustration

By 王永帅

Dec 28, 2015

nice course to understand the history from a different view!

By Johann Q

Aug 28, 2015

Good lectures, although I prefer application based courses.

By Michael L

Mar 26, 2016

Overall good class--instructor is lively and engaging

By ADITYA R K

Jun 11, 2020

good course for those who have interest in history

By Mahima S

May 18, 2020

The videos are too long. Please cut them short.

By Rui F V

Aug 01, 2017

Great contents. Great professor. Loved it.

By Muhammad A F

Feb 18, 2016

A much much valuable course...

By Sabarish K V

Aug 30, 2020

Interesting and informative.

By Lukas S

Jan 07, 2018

Interesting take on history

By Toni C

Dec 15, 2018

very interesting

By Vincent A

Feb 14, 2016

Very interesting

By Nishant S

Nov 10, 2016

Loved it !

By Jazz R

Dec 22, 2015

muy bueno

By Neelesh S

Jul 23, 2020

Y

By ahmed n

Apr 13, 2020

If I'd mention the most important and special merits of this course, I'll say TWO points; 1st: that the methodology of it really concentrates on the global history as a a DISTINCTIVE global history not just the sum of smaller nations' or inter-nations' history and 2nd: Its way of telling the sequence of the events from the perspectives of statesmen which the prof prefers to call "Situation-Problem-Solution Cycle". in another hand, talking about its cons; it's, in some ways, adopting the narrative of imperialist white world.. I have seen that obvious in many occasions through the course.

By Md. A Z

Aug 11, 2020

*The initial portion of the course shows very good reasons behind rapid global development but

*The big picture of the world development was not summarized well enough in the end and

*The slides and drawing with the help of the stylus was very poor.

By Tianqi T

Oct 28, 2020

the content was interesting, but the slides were poorly made and it was hard to take critical notes for quizzes

By Романенков В А

Dec 12, 2017

So, I like it, but I'm not sure it ever useful to me. Although, it was interesting :)