Chevron Left
Back to The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910

The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910, University of Virginia

4.8
1,384 ratings
342 reviews

About this Course

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

Top reviews

By MC

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

By GW

Apr 16, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

Filter by:

333 Reviews

By Manjula gaur

Feb 20, 2019

The course is very informative and useful , and easy to understand the concepts.

By Dimitris Syropoulos

Feb 15, 2019

An analytical and coprehensive presentation of the most important century in human history focusing on interpretations of stunning developments rather than a dry quote of dates and names

By Raissa Lazzeretti

Feb 06, 2019

Absolutely amazed with this course. Philip is extremely knowledgeable, gives you the baby steps in order to understand each class. I'm looking forward to take another class with him. Couldn't recommend enough!!

By Ulises Aquino

Jan 31, 2019

Increíble síntesis de los hechos que definen el mundo moderno.

By Richard Kouzes

Jan 29, 2019

The course is good, but requiring a purchase to do the quizzes is not.

By Afshin

Jan 06, 2019

Great professor!

By Charmaine Leow

Jan 05, 2019

Dr. Philip Zelikow was really thorough and amicable in the way he lectures. He's done an exceptional job in fusing the historical patterns of history with that of modern events, thus allowing us students to understand and relate to the importance of these historical events even better. Thank you, Dr. Zelikow!

By Kelvin Lu

Dec 31, 2018

Very informative course. Highly recommended.

By John Hamilton

Dec 22, 2018

Awesome high level view of history.

By Vinayaka Hegde

Dec 22, 2018

I was interested to learn History but books were so boring for me, so I chose Coursera and now I can explore World History, how global forces interact with each other and influence lives of people in the community through this course.

Throughout the course Dr. Philip will not only explain about the history but he also tries to reason "Why it happened ?". In some of the videos, he even decodes the message hidden in art works of the past.

It is indeed a fascinating subject which is beautifully narrated. I look forward to take the second part of World history.

Thank you