Chevron Left
Back to The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 by University of Virginia

4.8
stars
2,276 ratings
595 reviews

About the Course

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

Top reviews

MC
Nov 5, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

HH
Jan 24, 2021

Very interesting and fun course\n\nDr. Zelikow really captivates the attention of the students and brilliantly explains complex situations to the layman audience.\n\nLook forward to Part II !\n\n:)

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 586 Reviews for The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910

By Arjun S

Apr 20, 2018

Wonderful Course. It helped me develop a much better world view and understand issues by thinking about the "why".

By Utkarsh M

Oct 15, 2020

I loved how the professor takes you to an interesting journey around the world and teaches you interesting things

By Måns A

Jun 3, 2017

As often at Coursera an important course that made me think in new directions about things that I already knew.

By Nicola F

Apr 16, 2017

Really good insight into the history of this period. I have found it fascinating and cannot wait to learn more.

By Mary A P

Dec 10, 2015

Great course. World history with a different flair. Proffeser is is top-notch. Thank you for the experience.

By Yushan S

Sep 24, 2015

A great course in a narrative view , and mainly focus on "Why this happen"~~PS:The professor is very charming~~

By David V A

Sep 10, 2020

Fantastic and engaging lecturer. Excellent switches between big, broad ideas and concrete localized examples.

By Tete G

Jul 14, 2020

Thank you professor Philip Zelikow, it was a pleasure do to this course with you ;)

Let´s go for part two now.

By Roya G

May 5, 2020

very good. a lot of information to digest but a good introduction to dig deeper into interested areas later.

By M J S

Nov 3, 2016

Find informative...and with additional details/perspectives that helped me to rethink what I thought I knew.

By Oscar T

Dec 16, 2018

Muy bien presentado. Una perspectiva esclarecedora de una época esencial para comprender nuestro presente.

By Adrian J

Oct 17, 2016

An important explanation of how the world transitioned to the modern, with its benefits and disadvantages.

By Akash S

Sep 13, 2020

Really it is amazing ! I have enjoyed in all time . Hats off to the teacher . I am very thankful to you .

By Cesar A V

Dec 27, 2017

Excelente curso. Muy completo y riguroso, es mucho más que unas pinceladas sobre el periodo en cuestión.

By Eduardo V

Nov 18, 2015

Very good course on modern history. Explains a lot how we went from the traditional world to the modern

By Marina S

Nov 1, 2015

Excellent and very interesting course, professor Zelikow is great at explaining things systematically.

By Robert-Jeroen V

Apr 26, 2016

Excellent course. Good overview of history, well taught, and very much worth the time and the effort.

By Remington C

Dec 22, 2015

Fantastic teacher and great course. Lots of information explained very well and very comprehensively.

By Daniel Q C

Oct 31, 2015

Great content, the teacher makes it easy to understand in few minutes the general idea of every topic

By FRANK A

May 10, 2020

A VERY INTERESTING COURSE. IT REALLY HELPS YOU TO UNDERSTAND MORE OF WHAT IS HAPPENING IN OUR TIMES.

By Lourdes M

Nov 10, 2016

This course has a charismatic professor and lots of interesting information. I enjoyed it very much!

By Michael M

Jul 19, 2020

interesting course and the similarities in society today vs. over the course of the last 150 years.

By Poorit L

Aug 14, 2017

the best course, deep into the detail of the history fact, and professor is very good in explaining

By ASHWIN K

Apr 11, 2021

Super fun, informative and well structured. Had a lot of fun while doing this course. Thank you

By Tuncer K

Oct 29, 2020

A very good addition to my current knowledge with Prof Zelikow's great lecture. Totally useful.