Chevron Left
Back to The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 by University of Virginia

4.8
stars
2,181 ratings
573 reviews

About the Course

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

Top reviews

MC
Nov 5, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

GW
Apr 15, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 564 Reviews for The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910

By Travis S

Apr 19, 2020

This has been an enlightening class. It's been interesting to learn the cause and effect of what's happening in the modern world.

By Alison B

Aug 21, 2019

Great course. Very informative and presented in an interesting and thoughtful way-thank you. Can't wait to get started on Part 2!

By Joseph W

Dec 13, 2015

Very good course - ties many disparate threads together to make a cogent explanation of how and why the modern world came to be.

By Imam K

Sep 18, 2015

This course enable me to learn something new I have never learned before. It also gives me handful knowledge about world history.

By Rebecca P

Jan 4, 2021

Fascinating course with really engaging content answering and provoking many questions about the creation of the modern world.

By Tofail A

Sep 27, 2019

To me "The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910" is time demanding course. Thanks for the opportunity....

By Valorie H

Apr 24, 2016

Extremely interest course. Learned a lot. Really puts everything into perspective. Professor tells history like a story.

By Judy H

Oct 16, 2016

Wonderful overview of Global History. I have enjoyed taking both parts of this history

course from this terrific professor.

By PORTE

Sep 24, 2015

As a fan of History, I highly recommand this MOOC, it is always good for you to see history from a different prospective.

By Paul H

Dec 27, 2015

Great overview of this period in history. Professor makes it interesting without overwhelming. I definitely recommend.

By David M

Sep 22, 2015

Very analytical. Not just a recounting of facts, but a thorough review of trends and attitudes. Very enjoyable course.

By WMChen

May 4, 2019

The lecturer and course materials are excellent! Very well organized and explained. Thank you very much, Prof. Zelikow.

By Thriveni p

Aug 24, 2020

Well- stiched methodology, challenging assignments combined with eloquent delivery make the course highly interesting.

By Catalina F

Mar 18, 2020

Super interesting, although it gives the image from a western point of view it is very interesting and well explained

By Cristián G C

Oct 16, 2020

Great teacher, great and easy way to undersand complicated ideas and new interpretation of the ideas around History.

By Henry S

Dec 20, 2015

An excellent course that provides a thorough overview of the changes that lead to the formation of the Modern World.

By Freddy S

Oct 25, 2015

I found the course to be well structured, and striking an appropriate balance between insight and detail.

Well done.

By Praneet S

Jul 4, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Thank you, Prof. Zelikow.

I really look forward to the next part of this course.

By Arjun S

Apr 20, 2018

Wonderful Course. It helped me develop a much better world view and understand issues by thinking about the "why".

By Utkarsh M

Oct 15, 2020

I loved how the professor takes you to an interesting journey around the world and teaches you interesting things

By Måns A

Jun 3, 2017

As often at Coursera an important course that made me think in new directions about things that I already knew.

By Nicola F

Apr 16, 2017

Really good insight into the history of this period. I have found it fascinating and cannot wait to learn more.

By Mary A P

Dec 10, 2015

Great course. World history with a different flair. Proffeser is is top-notch. Thank you for the experience.

By Yushan S

Sep 24, 2015

A great course in a narrative view , and mainly focus on "Why this happen"~~PS:The professor is very charming~~

By David V A

Sep 10, 2020

Fantastic and engaging lecturer. Excellent switches between big, broad ideas and concrete localized examples.