Chevron Left
Back to Moral Foundations of Politics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Moral Foundations of Politics by Yale University

4.9
stars
5,633 ratings

About the Course

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Top reviews

SS

Jul 1, 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS

Sep 16, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 1,055 Reviews for Moral Foundations of Politics

By C. m

Nov 25, 2018

Professor spiritual manor provokes a high level of awareness of a higher motivation above “interests “ raising a possibility for a student to feel what they think and their actions can make a more understanding , accecpecting, and peaceful community.

By Paul

May 2, 2022

The course was great! The structure and the content are to the greatest benefit of those who are willing to improve their expertise in politics.

I am extremely grateful to Professor Shapiro, Yale University, and Coursera for this awesome opportunity!

By Dario S

Feb 17, 2022

Excellent course. Professor Shapiro's deep knowledge and his passion for the subject matter makes this a valuable, enjoyable and engaging course. I learned a GREAT DEAL about political philosophy and politics. Looking forward to the next course.

By Chantal S J A

Sep 30, 2020

A good course has what it takes to form your own criteria. I highlight the methodology of the teacher who always found examples not only useful but striking to be able to explain better to students. A very complete course that meets expectations.

By Judith H

Nov 20, 2015

Almost without exception, the best courses of my life have been those that were built by an extremely knowledgeable professor bringing in diverse and original sources of material and organizing them in a unique way. This is one of those courses.

By Niina N

Mar 10, 2020

As a non-native speaker, some parts were difficult to understand. However, the instructor cited a number of examples and an easier language

to explain terms that I had never heard of. The quality and quantity of this course were so satisfying.

By Nishant K H

Aug 27, 2020

Professor Ian is one of the best, he has explained the complex topics like utilitarianism, communitarianism, social contract, marxism, thinkers of anti-enlightenment and American revolution era like Edmund Burke is the simplest way possible.

By Niharika S

Nov 25, 2020

A must do course for people interested in the history of political science and theory. It even details about its application as well as the famous philosophers and their works. Prof. Shapiro is absolutely amazing Overall a great course :))

By Emma T C L A

Oct 5, 2020

This has been one of the most engaging courses I've taken. The material was presented relatively objectively which is quite difficult for this type of topic but Professor Shapiro discussed everything without imposing his views on students.

By Maryam A

Jun 5, 2023

Thoroughly enjoyed this course! I have learned so much and have a new-found love for political philosophy. Thanks to this well-designed course and Professor Shapiro's valuable insights and clear and detailed explanation of all the topics.

By Miroslav P C

Jan 25, 2017

Es un curso excelente para familiarizarse con distintos temas concernientes a la teoría política y sus fundamentos filosóficos. Entregan contenido con el que uno puede tener las bases para entender distintos debates o asuntos de interés.

By caterina c

Nov 24, 2016

This is the course that helped me realise what it is that I am actually interested in, A brilliant overview of some of the most relevant discussions in the field. I did it during a busy time in high school but enjoyed every minute of it.

By Sergio V G

Dec 3, 2020

Curso muy completo en cuanto a las diferentes corrientes ideológicas de la política, muy bueno para aprender las bases de los sistemas que han movido y mueven al mundo. Algo a destacar es que los enfoques son más que nada anglosajones.

By Thomas T

Jun 7, 2020

The course is excellent! Particularly I had a little frustration because in some classes I thought they focused a lot on the Philosophy of Law and I didn't enjoy it so much, despite that the course is excellent. Thank you Prof, Shapiro

By Yoonyoung C

Jun 25, 2020

As someone without much initial interest/knowledge of politics, this course provided an excellent foundation for understanding the moral basis and arguments surrounding political theories. Overall a very engaging and organized course.

By Lee M

Jun 3, 2020

Fantastic, challenged a lot of my ideological foundations. Highly recommended to anyone who is seeking to test their political and moral perspectives and learn a bit more about the historical battleground of ideas that produced them.

By Samantha R

May 27, 2021

amazing course - the prof is really clear and concise in explaining concepts, and his students' participation really helped in answering questions i didn't even know i had. i learned a lot and i'm glad to have taken this class :)

By Pedro V D

May 21, 2023

One of the best online courses I've ever done.

The videos are set as a discussion between the Professor and two students, which makes them very engaging and more relatable. The reading materials complement de lectures really well.

By Chianh J X

Jun 16, 2020

Professor Shapiro provided a very comprehensive review of the past and current political regimes. This was a very thought-provoking course that allowed me to gain a better understanding of the current political scene. Thank you!

By Himmat S

May 1, 2017

The course gives an excellent insight into the topic of a legitimate government.The examples which are discussed before every theory provide thought provoking dialogue and knowledge thus its equally entertaining and intriguing.

By Bernard G

Jun 1, 2019

This course introduces you to the variety of philosophies and political ideologies. It has left me with a much better understanding of political arguments as well as the ability to analyze better interrupt many current issues.

By Abhaysinh M

Mar 13, 2021

The most enriching experience, grateful to Professor Ian Shapiro and his interactive students who helped me understand the various political concepts and ideologies in a very simplified manner. I recommend this course a 100%!

By Chou H

Mar 13, 2023

A great course which helps me understand the philosophical foundations of politics. The course starts from Enlightenment including utilitarianism, Marxism, and social contract theory, and finally we talk about the democracy.

By IRMA A P

Feb 19, 2023

Tenía mucos años que no había tocado estos temas y la forma en que se explicaron y los videos fueron muy enriquecedores, aunque me permito insistir si es importante que se envíen los contenidos y las lecturas con traducción.

By José M O L

Jun 21, 2020

An excelent introduction to the main aspects of the most important political ideological traditions in our modern history. It is indeed an essential course most people interested or actually involved in politics should take.