Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
3,551 ratings
1,100 reviews

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN
Jun 11, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK
May 30, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 1,090 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By P R M

May 5, 2020

Excellent insight provided for involving in a principled and persuasive negotiation with proficiency in Game theory and strategic approach.

By Minh D D

Jun 30, 2017

One of the best courses I have ever taken either online or in classrooms. Thank you Professor for putting together such a wonderful course!

By Eva M

Apr 6, 2016

Insightful content, great animated lectures, very valuable group work and very interesting guest lecturers. I enjoyed the course very much.

By Suchitra R

Feb 7, 2016

The most interesting course I have ever taken on Coursera. All credits to the tutor Barry Nalebuff. I highly recommend this course to all !

By Johan W

Dec 18, 2015

highly recommended...! Feels like being there and actually requires a lot of participation and attentiveness. I feel proud to have done it.

By Brij B S

Oct 9, 2020

Excellent course. Thoroughly enjoyed. Teacher is wonderful and his style is soft and very effective. I love the way he brings points home.

By Mauricio M

Jun 4, 2020

A very complete course, definitely recommended for beginners in negotiation and people wanting to start doing so in their every day lives.

By Hassan S

May 18, 2020

Even if I don't remember every little thing about this course, the exercises and knowledge in this course is great and applicable as well.

By David M

Aug 23, 2017

I really liked the course. However, I wished I had taken it together with someone. That would have made the assignments more developmental

By José P

Oct 17, 2020

It is an excellent course, everyone should take it regardless of their profession, what is taught here is useful in many aspects of life.

By Michael M

Aug 11, 2020

This class is a blessing that has caused me to re-think my approach to negotiations and recognize when I'm getting a fair or unfair deal.

By Venkatesh V

Jun 26, 2020

Fantastic Principles underlying the the practical aspects of Negotiation. Cross Border assignments and Peer review was a real value add.

By Sriram

May 17, 2020

Brilliant insights and practical tips for practicing leaders who encounter negotiation situations on a regulr basis. Strongly recommend.

By Prakash C

Aug 2, 2019

Simply exceptional. Prof Barry is truly the best! Kudos to the entire team for putting together such an impactful and impressive course.

By Megan M

May 10, 2018

Amazing course! Well organized, keeps you thoroughly invested each week and extremely applicable concepts to everyday life! Thanks Barry

By José C C G

Nov 23, 2016

Excelente curso, por medio de casos prácticos y excelentes docentes logras ver más allá de lo que podría parecer una negociación normal.

By Nicole B

May 2, 2020

A great course! This course taught me to always look at a negotiation from different angles to anticipate the other parties next steps.

By Lourdes A Y

Mar 16, 2017

ES UN CURSO QUE ME OFRECE UN RETO, PUES HE TENIDO QUE VER DOS VECES LOS VIDEOS PARA ENTENDER LOS CONCEPTOS. PERO QUIERO APRENDER!! JEJE

By Luke F

Aug 22, 2016

I'm not done with this course, and I can already review it as EXCELLENT. The Professor is very entertaining, and the content is superb.

By Vijeet T

Jun 2, 2020

Barry Nalebuff has managed to leave me no reason to give this course less that a perfect 5 stars. It was very detailed, yet on point !

By Ashley R

Apr 27, 2020

This was such an intriguing & fun course to take. Everything was laid out simply, and set up for you to truly comprehend the material.

By David J M

Aug 3, 2018

Excellent and amazingly enriching course to start negotiations in your professional life. Congratulations to professor Barry Nalebuff.

By Deleted A

Sep 16, 2020

I think this course is the best course other than all the courses. It helps us know about the skills of game theory, negotiation etc.

By DEVASHISH R

Apr 25, 2020

Super and amazing, the teaching style is easy to understand and animation video is great way to enhance the overall course structure.

By Wynn N

Sep 27, 2017

This is a wonderful course with an amazing professor. The content is easy to follow even for people without a background in Business.