Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator by Yale University

4.9
stars
4,807 ratings

About the Course

This course will help you be a better negotiator. Unlike many negotiation courses, we develop a framework for analyzing and shaping negotiations. This framework will allow you to make principled arguments that persuade others. It will allow you to see beneath the surface of apparent conflicts to uncover the underlying interests. You will leave the course better able to predict, interpret, and shape the behavior of those you face in competitive situations. In this course, you will have several opportunities to negotiate with other students using case studies based on common situations in business and in life. You can get feedback on your performance and compare what you did to how others approached the same scenario. The cases also provide a setting to discuss a wide-ranging set of topics including preparing for a negotiation, making ultimatums, avoiding regret, expanding the pie, and dealing with someone who has a very different perspective on the world. Advanced topics include negotiating when you have no power, negotiating over email, and the role of gender differences in negotiation. To close out the course, we will hear insights from three negotiation experts: Linda Babcock, Herb Cohen, and John McCall MacBain. Enjoy....

Top reviews

MN

Jun 11, 2017

I have completed over 12 courses on Coursera and this one is the best presented of them all. You can learn a lot of un-intuitive things about negotiation that will serve you well in life and business.

NK

May 30, 2020

Great course .. being an Indian Negotiation is very natural to me. It starts with street vendors in India. I would like you to upload more case studies industry based .. I loved the way you teach ...

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 1,485 Reviews for Introduction to Negotiation: A Strategic Playbook for Becoming a Principled and Persuasive Negotiator

By Shah S K

Jun 29, 2020

It is worth going for the course. It helped me to learn a lot on how and what to prepare before negotiation, to fix our Batna, to determine reserve price, sharing the pie and dealing with the tough situation during the negotiation. Also one of the best part was to make negotiation partner through the discussion forum. It was really useful to learn different perspective and cultures.

By Tania M

May 25, 2020

I loved this course, it was really interesting, there were bunch of examples to improve our understanding and there were amazing activities, i really felt sorry when the professor finished, it's the course that I've enjoyed the most so far, so I just gotta say thank you! It was amazing! I highly recommend it to the people who really want to learn, it's quite long but it's worth it!

By Gabriella P

Jan 20, 2024

Agile course, meticulously documented, extremely useful to understand how negotiation could play such an even more important role in our professional and everyday lives. Professor Barry Nalebuff and his team unmask some distorted miths and reveal the principal strategies and aspects of a well conducted negotiation. An excellent course to be recommended and disseminated. Thank you!

By Hashem A

Sep 16, 2020

What a mazing course. Absolutely, the way of deliver the knowledge and sharing the information was unique from Barry. Its my first course in Coursera. a lot of experience I gained during 8 weeks. Moreover, the style of online education with the cases its really increase my awareness, knowledge and experience. Finally, professor Barry make the content valuable. Thank you Barry.

By Kadir D

Apr 16, 2020

Very well designed course. At first, I was biased that this would be one of the courses I will leave without completing. But from the first minute up until the end this course kept me alive. I suggest you take the cases and assignments seriously, you will be amazed how your negotiation skills will improved. At worst, you will understand what you were doing good/bad until now.

By Lucia A H

Apr 16, 2020

I took this online course in my first year of bachelor (although it's a master level course) and had a fun time following it and Dr. Nalebuff. The videos were very interesting and well done, and the concepts were taught in a way which made them easy to grasp. The course is also interactive and allows one to challenge their knowledge and skills. A highly recommendable course!!

By Filippos I

Sep 12, 2020

Really enjoyed this course. Professor Nalebuff succeeded in passing to us the main principals of negotiations. using cases and examples easy to be "digested" by people that have no previous negotiation experience. It was also interesting the interaction we had with other students frokm all over the world, that were taking this course, in order to negotiate with each other.

By Gracia N

May 13, 2020

I think it's a very interesting course that expands your negotiating skills. It includes many practical examples that are very useful for understanding the concepts. The case studies allow you to conduct negotiations by applying the lessons learned. It implies a lot of dedication, more than the hours that the course tells you to invest to do it correctly, but it is worth it.

By Phil O S

Oct 12, 2019

An excellent investment of time and effort to gain both powerful and useful insights which help polish existing negotiation skills or enable new approaches that can be used in any negotiation. Don't hesitate to take this course as it will yield great returns on your time and effort invested in taking it. So, enjoy the learning and strike better deals as a result. Good luck!

By John W

Feb 18, 2020

Some of the material in the beginning of the course is not very clear and some of the exercises need to be updated to match the accompanying documentation. This course also requires partnering up with a class-mate which can be challenging. However, over all, the instructor does a great job of providing many insights and tools that can be of use in real world negotiations.

By nadeem a

Nov 18, 2023

Really a wonderful course. Every step which is necessary for a successful negotiation has been covered. Very effective and easy way of learning through imparting and sharing the knowledge by Professor Sir Barry Nalebuff, D.Phil., Yale School of Management, Yale University and his wonderful team, therefore, hats off to Sir Barry and his wonderful team. May God bless them.

By Luz B

Oct 27, 2020

This course was such an amazing experience for being my first business course. I had the opportunity to collaborate with other students and learned from them. The way in which this course was structure and how the professor explained the course was to the point and easy to understand. I recommend this course and instructor. I am looking forward to taking more courses

By Suee C

Apr 22, 2020

This is the best course I've done so far. I strongly recommend the course for who needs basic knowledge for the successful negotiation. Whole supplementary videos were interestingly introduced. And additional practices with other online course attendees from all over the world were special gifts to learn. I am looking forward Prof. Nalebuff's upcoming lecture. Thank you

By Edward F

Jul 22, 2018

So far, the best course I have taken in Coursea. Full of practical and interesting presentation, I am still enjoying the learning experience that covers the difficult theory in so much fun, clear and concise explanation.

Despite the difficulty for finding a partner in Asia to complete the course negotiation exercise, this is the best learning experience I have ever had.

By Philipp C

Jun 14, 2021

Best course on Coursera I've ever participate. Very interesting and reasonable content will be useful for every person. Surely it will help you to expand you ideas about how people negotiate and even communicate with each other. I saw few comments about very difficult math problems. I can promise - if you have ever graduated from school once - math wont be a problem.

By Maurizio B

Jul 24, 2022

Really well developed and clear. I particularly loved the practical negotiation cases: they truly helped transform the way I see myself negotiating.

I want to thank Prof. Nalebuff and all his team for the enormous amount of great work they invested in this course; and thank you for making it available for free: it is a very generous gesture that I deeply appreciate.

By Darryl B

May 7, 2016

This is without question one of the best course I have taken online or in a classroom as an undergraduate or in graduate school. The professor is smart, witty and has a great presentation style. As this is my first course on Coursera, I am so happy that I found it. My goodness, how much more money and opportunities I would have had if I had this course 10 years ago.

By Al A

Feb 9, 2020

I've been negotiating in my professional role for 14 years and still had a lot to learn from Barry's course. His application of economics principles to real life negotiation was enlightening. The production of the course is the best I've seen on Coursera, and the delivery style was very engaging from the start. Would love to attend one of his classes in person!

By Fiona L

Sep 2, 2023

Thank you to Professor Nalebuff and his team for making the course available. A lot about negotiations is learned, in particular the creation of the pie, the principle of the divided cloth and the Shapley Value. The teaching methods, including the visual animations, the AI negotiator and more make the learning much easier to understand, engaging and interactive.

By Merdan T

Aug 26, 2022

A Brilliant course !

Absolutely different and unusual approach to negotiations, which capture almost all critical steps, from step 0 to the no power position.A perfect gym for my lazy brain, with lot's of math based logic cases, which I don't like to overload with formulas in my daily life. Indeed impressive lecturer. Thanks Barry Nalebuff!

Best regards,

Merdan

By Onam W

Jul 9, 2020

I loved this course. The concepts and theories were very well explained. I loved doing live negotiations, Being right in the moment negotiating definitely helped me in putting the theories in practical use. I also discovered a lot of new things about myself, one being how much I enjoy negotiating. I would like to thank Mr. Barry for being an excellent teacher.

By Si K D S

Jun 3, 2020

It was a very useful course to everyone especially for profesional, was short but very comprehensive. The course has a lot of new information that I haven't knew before. So many things that I didn't know about the principled of negotiation but I have done lots of negotiation for years. This course definitely can help me with my work and also in life. Thank you!

By Denitsa S

May 25, 2020

Engaging, interactive and thural course that will give you not only the basic principles of negotiation, but a case-studies experiance where you can put thepry into practise. I woul recommend this course to all my friends as I am sure the structure, execusion and implied ideas are on a high level and will further develop you as e professional and as a person.

By Orysia C

Nov 24, 2023

Excellent course! From how the learning was presented to the assignments and quizzes, I learned a tremendous amount about negotiation approaches and tactics. I also want to acknowledge how accessible and engaging the Professor was in the What’s App chat thread - the ability for all students to ask questions and receive answers quickly was an added bonus!

By 李威青

Nov 10, 2022

Initially I didn’t know how negotiation can be taught. As I thought negotiation is all about how you say things, how you do the back and forth during a negotiation. But after taking the course, it totally subverted my knowledge to negotiation. I'm luck to take the course, and it allows me to know the new friends as I Need partner to finish the homework.