Chevron Left
Back to Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life by The University of Chicago

4.9
stars
2,822 ratings

About the Course

Learn how the nervous system produces behavior, how we use our brain every day, and how neuroscience can explain the common problems afflicting people today. We will study functional human neuroanatomy and neuronal communication, and then use this information to understand how we perceive the outside world, move our bodies voluntarily, stay alive, and play well with others....

Top reviews

MJ

May 24, 2020

It has been, in all, a wonderful experience taking this course, Prof Peggy is really good at what she does, wonderful content, stories, instances, and videos. Learnt a lot from this course, thank you!

PF

Mar 22, 2020

This course has turned out to very profitable, especially if you are not an expert in anatomical and clinical terms as is my case. In my opinion, this course is extremely interesting, congratulations.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 921 Reviews for Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

By Elena C

Aug 19, 2022

Great subject. Excellent and thrilling thanks to Dr. Mason, with a pedagogical and handy way of teaching, that makes easy to understand very complex knowledge. I declare fan

By thabitha s

Oct 4, 2022

This course has educated me a lot about the brain. I now know terms I never knew before and most importantly how our bodies are systems containing and made up of systems.

By Anushka A 2

Jul 17, 2023

I am currently an 2nd year undergraduate student who is exploring in which direction should go.

Thank you professor Mason for this wonderful course. I enjoyed this course.

By Martin R L Q

Jun 15, 2020

A comprehensive and fascinating course about the structure and functions of the brain and its intimate relationship with the body and human behaviour. Highly recommendable

By Vivian F R

Jan 16, 2018

The course was execellent. Professor Peggy Mason introduced us to neurobiology in comprehensive and engaging way. I will recomend this course ! thank you professor Maggy!

By Jessica G

Oct 17, 2016

Doing this as prep for my Biopsych class next year. Really enjoying the material, Peggy's delivery (and affection for the humble neuron) is infectious.

Many thanks, Jess

By Christine M L

Feb 10, 2021

Dr. Peggy Mason does an amazing job explaining this complicated material in down to earth, personal and fun ways. This was a challenging course but I really enjoyed it.

By Josephine T

Aug 31, 2020

A very interesting course that delivers neurobiology in an amount of depth that is not too basic, but still understandable by people who do not really major in biology.

By Samia A V E

Jul 29, 2020

Excellent course, the materials are great, the final project is also very interesting, anyone who wants to know more about the brain should take it! Highly recommended!

By Roslyn T

Aug 22, 2022

This class is thorough and enjoyable. The teacher clearly is passionate about the topic and it shows. This gave me a lot of insight into my area of study. Thank you!!

By Natchnan V

Mar 16, 2022

This is a very great course that enhances knowledge of neuroscience, biology, analysis, and wisdom of living. Thank you the University of Chicago and Professor Peggy.

By Aakash C

Jul 17, 2020

This course is amazing and it gives a great perspective into Neurobiology. Dr. Peggy Mason's engagement to the course is wonderful. Entirely, this course is flawless!

By Judith M

Jan 10, 2017

good video lectures, good idea with the small quizes after every section. Peggy was fun to listen too and she got difficult things over quite clearly. Worth repeating

By Josué V

Apr 30, 2024

Iam very thankfull with Dr Mason, this was an amazing trip of knownledgment, im from México, im a psicology student in the UNAM. I apreciate so much this. Thank you!

By Ka T H N

Aug 26, 2023

good course for me (as a biology student in university). I can learn more about function of different part of the brain and prepare for my future studies, thank you.

By Sarah G P

Sep 26, 2021

This was the best MOOC course I ever attended. Very interesting and enlightening. If you are new to Neuroscience, then this is the perfect course for you. Have fun!

By Angelos A

Jul 8, 2020

Excellent course. Mason is a great and enthusiastic instructor. I would only expect a bit more anatomical information of the central and peripheral nervous system.

By Rodney L

May 16, 2019

Dr. Mason is a joy to have as an instructor. I hope for the opportunity to learn from her in the future. I look forward to following her work on LinkedIn and FB.

By Sophie K

May 19, 2017

This course was EXCELLENT!!!! I learned so much and I loved Peggy! I just wish it had gone on longer. This course was very fun and also very informative. 5 STARS!!

By Bruce M

Jul 4, 2019

By far one of the best experiences in online learning that i had! Professor Peggy Mason is Amazing! I recommend her book too (the one by her right in the videos).

By Pam B

Oct 15, 2017

Awesome course. Lots of concepts covered. Will probably review again in a while since I know I will learn even more if I repeat some of the more complex topics.

By Vidur S

May 30, 2017

A great course! Topics are very well explained and answer many fundamental questions about the working of our brain and about diseases and pretty much everything.

By Eric C

Mar 1, 2018

Excellent course! I'm working on machine learning using neural network, and this class provide a fascinating insight into how brain really works. Very inspiring.

By Kenneth B

Jul 31, 2020

The lessons by Prof. Peggy was very engaging and interesting. I learned a lot regarding the neurobiology of life and the brain itself. It was a good experience.

By Sabrina K

Mar 10, 2018

Great! I love the course, Prof. Mason! I really appreciate your way of explaining and visually showing everything! Great to see all written or drawn as well! :)