Chevron Left
Back to Physics 102 - Electric Charges and Fields

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Physics 102 - Electric Charges and Fields by Rice University

4.7
stars
57 ratings

About the Course

This first course serves as an introduction to the physics of electricity and magnetism. Upon completion, learners will understand how mathematical laws and conservation principles describe fields and how these fields are related to electrical circuits. Learners will gain experience in solving physics problems with tools such as graphical analysis, algebra, vector analysis, and calculus. This first course covers Charge, Electric Forces, and Electric Fields. Each of the three modules contains reading links to a free textbook, complete video lectures, conceptual quizzes, and a set of homework problems. Once the modules are completed, the course ends with an exam. This comprehensive course is similar in detail and rigor to those taught on-campus at Rice. It will thoroughly prepare learners for their upcoming introductory physics courses or more advanced courses in physics....

Top reviews

RT

Oct 4, 2023

Professor Hafner is one of the best instructors i've ever had, from the explanations of derivations to the numerous demos and the occasional jokes, it has been a great experience.

KM

Jan 14, 2022

Impressive course! I covered all my lack of knowledge in these areas thanks to excellent teaching of professor Hafner. All the best to you, Kasra

Filter by:

1 - 19 of 19 Reviews for Physics 102 - Electric Charges and Fields

By Nguyen D L

Aug 8, 2021

I planned to take this course as a review to tutor my son in Physics. The lecture and demonstration in class gave me much more than a quick review. Prof Hafner made the topic very interesting. I have learned a deeper understanding and appreciation of E Field (lines and flux).

Thanks so much,

Nguyen Le

By Sylvain M

Oct 11, 2021

I enjoyed this course very much : it provided me with some deep understanding of electric phenomena, and with plenty of opportunities to put this understanding to the test.

By Kasra M

Jan 15, 2022

Impressive course! I covered all my lack of knowledge in these areas thanks to excellent teaching of professor Hafner. All the best to you, Kasra

By yonthan a

Jun 27, 2022

Great for a post highschool learners who are interested in the concepts of electricity and magnetism.

By Chase 0

Mar 4, 2022

Cons: This course is really great but there are a lot of things lacking. There are few issues for example most of the time the assignments has typo and wrong answers. I recomment to look into forum when doing assignment. From week 2 there will be a lot of mistakes in assignments. The forum is very passive and that's one issue that instructor should improve. There are so many mistakes in homework that it should be given free.

Pros: I like the instructor does some creative experiments I LOVE it( He seems to be very passionate about it). The books are great resource and I recommend to read it and take notes. The quality of teaching is above average and very beginner friendly.

When the homework will be fixed I will rate 5 stars :). Thanks for creating the course.

By Robert T

Oct 5, 2023

Professor Hafner is one of the best instructors i've ever had, from the explanations of derivations to the numerous demos and the occasional jokes, it has been a great experience.

By Tom B

May 25, 2023

Well organized. I love Professor Hafner. He does a really good job demystifying this subject.

By Jose M B C

Jun 9, 2023

Curso muy interesante. Me costó bastante entender los conceptos. Tareas y exámenes me han hecho sudar. En muchas ocasiones por no imaginar bien el problema y la pregunta(por ejemplo, contestaba en Coulomb, cuando se pedía contestar en micro Coulomb (insistentemente no leía bien). Problema con las notaciones: escribir las potencias, por ejemplo 10 al cubo. Nunca pude expresarlo con exp ( ), La única forma fue escribir resultados tipo 0.00000000034.

Gracias al profesor que es muy ameno, pero siendo español, a veces no entendía exactamente lo enseñado. Continuare siguiendo cursos con este profesor.

By Shahla A

Jun 4, 2022

excellent explanations

By David H

Jul 18, 2023

Great explanations

By Sasank Y

Jan 1, 2024

Super professor

By Ishan A

Apr 28, 2024

Amazing course

By CARLOS I A J

Sep 19, 2022

Amazing!

By Ankit D

Mar 14, 2023

Fundamentally strong course. But I faced little difficulty while entering scientific notations there's was no tool available and no instructions in some questions.

By Kartik R

Oct 10, 2021

Some technical issues with the homework submission parsing, and sometimes you said Micro Coulombs but used normal.

By Elizaveta A L

Apr 26, 2024

Somebody please proofread the content of all quizzes: so many typos/incorrect images/incomplete tasks

By David W

Feb 15, 2022

Good, but there's a few errors in the homework.

By Ajay g

Feb 5, 2022

last exam and problems sets are very nice.

By ESLAM R M

Dec 20, 2022

تغير االاسم