Chevron Left
Back to Algebra: Elementary to Advanced - Polynomials and Roots

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algebra: Elementary to Advanced - Polynomials and Roots by Johns Hopkins University

4.9
stars
97 ratings

About the Course

This course is the final course in a three part algebra sequence, In this course, students extend their knowledge of more advanced functions, and apply and model them using both algebraic and geometric techniques. This course enables students to make logical deductions and arrive at reasonable conclusions. Such skills are crucial in today's world. Knowing how to analyze quantitative information for the purpose of making decisions, judgments, and predictions is essential for understanding many important social and political issues. Quantitative Skills and Reasoning provides students the skills needed for evaluating such quantitatively-based arguments. This class is important as the mathematical ideas it treats and the mathematical language and symbolic manipulation it uses to express those ideas are essential for students who will progress to calculus, statistics, or data science....

Top reviews

LC

Sep 26, 2022

These 3 algebra courses are vextremely well structured and articulted. There is not a boring moments in these videos.

BZ

Mar 22, 2023

Every STEM student should take this course. The instructor is fantastic and so knowledgeable!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 26 Reviews for Algebra: Elementary to Advanced - Polynomials and Roots

By Michael M

Oct 1, 2022

Excellent course. I particularly liked the practical application of the algebraic functions. Videos are to the point and unlike some other courses, I watched all these videos at normal speed. Other courses I've run the videos at 125 or 150%.

It would be nice if there was a way to print the notes (or maybe there is and I didn't see it.) They would be a great refresher if you weren't using algebra on a regular basis.

By Jansenio A

Jun 19, 2022

An excellent refresher course.  This course is subdivided into exponentials, polynomials, roots and applications; all in the context of real numbers. There are several quizzes for the various topics. However, the ice on the cake is a cumulative final assessment. I highly recommend.

By Tina C

May 18, 2022

This course is very informative. I think this will help my students

By Samiha A

Sep 13, 2021

I liked the way of explanation very simple and understandable

By Russell L M

Nov 28, 2021

I have always been weak in Math and now I know why. Never before did I have an instructor who so clearly explained the concepts behind the formulas and their practical applications. I now have the confidence to take additional classes as well as a more analytical mind. Thank you so much Professor Cutrone!

By Patricia F

Nov 23, 2021

This course had a wealth of material that was very easy to navigate. The instructor included videos, notes, and examples to help master the material. All assessments had immediate and comprehensive feedback. Thank you, Dr. Cutrone!

By Mohamed H

Apr 7, 2022

I've really learned a lot in this course and in the whole specialization as a whole. I'm really grateful for the experience and looking forward to taking the introduction to calculus specialization by John Hopkins university.

By Daniel T C

Oct 9, 2021

Excellent course. Set at a pace and range which helps someone with algebra in life's rear-view mirror get re-engaged in mathematics. I look forward to the future modules. Excellent course and excellent instructor.

By Lois C

Sep 27, 2022

These 3 algebra courses are vextremely well structured and articulted. There is not a boring moments in these videos.

By Bayan Z

Mar 23, 2023

Every STEM student should take this course. The instructor is fantastic and so knowledgeable!

By Alexander V

Mar 24, 2024

Excellent course. It would be great if you could provide the notes in a PDF format. Thanks.

By Seohee P

Jun 23, 2022

I highly appreciate your classes where we could learn and gain so much from you.

By Esteban C

Dec 18, 2022

Very good course for refreshing algebra. Thanks!

By muhammad a

Jun 2, 2023

excellent course . I learned a lot of things .

By Ang W Y R

Feb 10, 2024

crystal clear teaching and very systematic

By Joey L

Oct 22, 2022

TWhat a great course! Thank you

By Charles G

Oct 4, 2021

Challenging course.

By Matthew L

Apr 30, 2022

Fantastic!!

By Kurbanova N

Jan 19, 2024

Thank you

By Dr. N K

Apr 11, 2022

Great

By Devendra J

May 31, 2023

Good

By ALEX C

Jan 6, 2023

Good

By Keyshawn

Nov 15, 2023

This was a really great course. I love how this course taught me math in the order I was supposed to learn it, which helped me to understand that math is building blocks, and it all goes hand in hand. In contrast, the only thing I did not like from this course was it did skip some materiel and information leaving me to go out of my way to learn additional information. but altogether this is a great course for playing catchup if you are behind on your knowledge of algebra.

By Geophychem A

Sep 6, 2021

Thank you so much for this specialization! It was a wonderful experience reviewing my Algebra knowledge and having a certificate for it.

However, I hope that on the certificate, you can put the instructor's name and his title over his signature. Instead of JUST the signature.

Thank you.

By Abel R M

Jul 12, 2022

Great class, some mistakes here and there for the videos. THat stuff doesn't matter, it the matht that was taught in a way that is great. only complaint- it is quite dry-