Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Power Electronics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Power Electronics by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
1,530 ratings
365 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the basic concepts of switched-mode converter circuits for controlling and converting electrical power with high efficiency. Principles of converter circuit analysis are introduced, and are developed for finding the steady state voltages, current, and efficiency of power converters. Assignments include simulation of a dc-dc converter, analysis of an inverting dc-dc converter, and modeling and efficiency analysis of an electric vehicle system and of a USB power regulator. After completing this course, you will: ● Understand what a switched-mode converter is and its basic operating principles ● Be able to solve for the steady-state voltages and currents of step-down, step-up, inverting, and other power converters ● Know how to derive an averaged equivalent circuit model and solve for the converter efficiency A basic understanding of electrical circuit analysis is an assumed prerequisite for this course....

Top reviews

SA

Aug 01, 2017

This course sets the groundwork for more advanced concepts in Power Electronics. The Professor was very explicit and the homework assignments were of a good strength to help ground the notions learnt.

SH

Sep 23, 2017

I am very please of with course but i also want the course of power electronics related to any field i mean in FACTS devices applications so we can learn more related to new emerging technologies .

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 356 Reviews for Introduction to Power Electronics

By shubham m

Oct 04, 2018

The course has been completely amazing. The knowledge provided in the lectures is perfect and the assignment questions complement the lectures very well and tests the understanding effectively.

By Simon A

Aug 01, 2017

This course sets the groundwork for more advanced concepts in Power Electronics. The Professor was very explicit and the homework assignments were of a good strength to help ground the notions learnt.

By Abhishek V

Apr 29, 2019

It is a nice course. For a change, the quizzes were challenging, which was nice, but inadequate support provided by the mentors and the course forum are disappointing.

By Nand N A

Jul 04, 2018

If one gets stuck in an assignment, then one cant get the required help or support.

By Taylor M

Jan 16, 2019

Fantastic Course! Material is well developed.

Only thing I would change is being able to submit individual answers to the quizzes instead of having to submit the quiz all at once. Many of the questions rely on calculating based off of previous answers. So to make sure you are on the right track you can burn through your attempts and have to wait an hour.

By Saad A

Jan 17, 2019

I found this course very helpful as my MS research is all about converters and this course has made me clear about the basics of converters.

By Mulgore Z

Jan 19, 2019

very good, thanks a lot

By Carsten S

Nov 01, 2018

Excellent course!

By Qasim M

Dec 30, 2018

Great course for learning Power Electronics Basics & Control Techniques

By Gunaratnam S

Dec 16, 2018

Great course. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I have mastered in electromagnetic especially electrical machine design in the past. This course compliments my knowledge for the power electronics discipline of the electric drive system design. Thanks a lot.

By Aakash k y

Dec 14, 2018

awesome experience with new learning.

By Usman J

Jan 11, 2019

Great Great Great Course

By Branko M

Feb 22, 2019

I'm in love with this course. The material is presented and taught in the most efficient manner it would e

By Thai D N D

Feb 13, 2019

It's useful !!!

By Waleed A

Feb 24, 2019

This course is best for beginners

By Mohammad I Y

Feb 25, 2019

My first completed module in Coursera. It means a lot. I have also been given the aid to complete this module. This course is short, yet challenging. I would like to complete the whole specialization within 6 months. Thanks to the team.

By Anjana W

Feb 27, 2019

This course was really well organized such that the students can acquire basic power electronic concepts.

By Hamood U R

Feb 09, 2019

The course is indeed source of motivation for beginner to delve deeper into the field of Power Electronics. From the course content to the quizzes, and the instructor's excellent way of teaching to the Coursera help and support, everything is commendable, flawless, and captivating to research. After successfully finishing the course, I intend to enroll in its specialization program. Coursera owns means a lot to me, being an intermediate level researcher, grown up in an environment lagging far behind in research in Power Electronics. Thanks Coursera for all such support, and thanks to Prof. Erickson for his untiring efforts he put in arranging and delivering this course. Stay blessed!

By Tarun S

Mar 05, 2019

From practical as well as theoretical this is best for Introduction to Power electronics

By Enoch S

Mar 16, 2019

This course was awesome, I never really liked electric systems but the way this was taught is very logical which I appreciated. By the time you finish the course, as you do the numbers on your own, you will master it in no time.

By Jian Y

Mar 18, 2019

Useful for even experienced engineers and researchers!

By Emmanuel K

Mar 26, 2019

Interesting and well taught course. But there are too much gab between what is taught and what is required to completing the assignments. Overall, it is great!

By Jay B

Mar 01, 2019

Good reminder of stuff you may have forgotten. Also learnt a whole lot more too. Very interesting course. Some of the HW questions were a bit tough though and could do with a little more clarification.

By Yuvraj P

Mar 22, 2019

It gets a bit too tricky towards the end, but it helps in enhancing the skill.

By Jagadheeswar N R

Mar 22, 2019

Assignments are challenging.

Video lectures are awesome.