Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Power Electronics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Power Electronics by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
2,563 ratings
632 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5700, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. This course introduces the basic concepts of switched-mode converter circuits for controlling and converting electrical power with high efficiency. Principles of converter circuit analysis are introduced, and are developed for finding the steady state voltages, current, and efficiency of power converters. Assignments include simulation of a dc-dc converter, analysis of an inverting dc-dc converter, and modeling and efficiency analysis of an electric vehicle system and of a USB power regulator. After completing this course, you will: ● Understand what a switched-mode converter is and its basic operating principles ● Be able to solve for the steady-state voltages and currents of step-down, step-up, inverting, and other power converters ● Know how to derive an averaged equivalent circuit model and solve for the converter efficiency A basic understanding of electrical circuit analysis is an assumed prerequisite for this course....

Top reviews

SA
Jul 31, 2017

This course sets the groundwork for more advanced concepts in Power Electronics. The Professor was very explicit and the homework assignments were of a good strength to help ground the notions learnt.

SH
Sep 22, 2017

I am very please of with course but i also want the course of power electronics related to any field i mean in FACTS devices applications so we can learn more related to new emerging technologies .

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 617 Reviews for Introduction to Power Electronics

By TATANG T Y

May 31, 2020

Great course !!!

I learned a lot. What I regret is the writing of mathematical expressions which is really not intuitive. it takes a long time just to write an expression well

By Gopi R C

Dec 26, 2019

I like the sample quizzes during the Lectures that are helpful in reinforcing the concepts. Also, Homework simulations are pretty helpful in the modeling of practical aspects.

By Patrick H

Dec 29, 2017

I took the Power Electronics course at CU and wanted to keep my skills sharp. This online version covers the same topics at the same depth, and is absolutely worth your time.

By angelo p

Feb 7, 2016

Dr. Erickson makes power electronics accessible and fun to the beginner and expert alike. Highly recommend for any student aspiring for a career in power management design.

By Maximilian Z

Feb 23, 2017

This was a good introduction to the field. I attempted it a while back. The instructors introduce LTSpice, yet it is never used? Maybe it will come up in the next courses.

By David S M H

Dec 28, 2020

Good starting point for someone with EE background but hasn't specialized in power electronics. Assignments are challenging but worthwhile in doing to learn the material.

By ABU H M R

Jul 3, 2020

Dr. Robert Erickson is an amazing instructor and he provided practical examples of different switched-mode converter circuits. The assignments are also quite challenging.

By Chris R

Feb 12, 2018

I audited the course and found it to be a great introduction to DC modeling for power supply design. Looking forward to completing more of the Power Electronics courses.

By Rakesh R

Feb 13, 2018

Very good homework problems. Doing them really tests your understanding. And it is quite challenging atleast for me....maybe because out of college for 20 years now.

By Furkan Y

Sep 8, 2020

A very professional and beneficial introduction to Power Electronics. The assignments are a bit serious and time consuming. However, it is due to their seriousness.

By Javier A L C

May 11, 2020

It's a great course, big introduction for a subject that interesting. I love to find a different aproaches from the techniques learned before. Highly recommended

By Yehia K A

Oct 29, 2017

A very good introduction to a the excellent specialization courses. Reminded me with the undergraduate topics I've studied in university.

Many Thanks Dr. Erickson

By EMMANUEL K

Mar 26, 2019

Interesting and well taught course. But there are too much gab between what is taught and what is required to completing the assignments. Overall, it is great!

By Yash R

May 12, 2019

The problem sets provided greatly helped me understand the matter in depth. I feel confident and can now understand other literature on Power Electronics.

By Bibin K S

Nov 18, 2016

Very informative course will well thought assignments. I would expect explanations of incorrect answers that would ideally help in correcting the students

By Mirko Z

Jan 24, 2018

The course is well constructed and everything is detailed taught. It is a good course for people who want to have a glance of what is power electronics.

By Harshvardhan T

Jun 22, 2017

The course content is engaging and assignment/homework is pretty challenging so we can enjoy it. Thank you Prof. Erickson for guiding me in this course.

By Amshumaan R K

May 21, 2020

Thorough basics here in the course for non isolated converters in Course #1. The modeling with input filters and such are relevant to the industry too.

By Chinmaya K

Jun 1, 2020

I have very much satisfied with the course and professor. He explained very clearly and slowly, so the concepts were clarified at that moment itself.

By Nicolas S

Oct 17, 2017

The course is well structured and the explanations are easy to understand. The homework is similar to what you would be given when attending a regu

By Apurv S

Jul 28, 2018

The course is challenging and awesome as far as the explanation of concepts is concerned.The questions in the sample problems are also very good.

By Sivasai N

Feb 1, 2017

This course has been a real confidence booster for a student like me who is returning to the field of Power Electronics after a gap of two years.

By Luciano B

Dec 18, 2016

A very outstanding approach on DC-DC converters. I really recommend and expect to complete all 6 steps of this Power Electronics Specialization.

By Anik m

Jul 28, 2018

COURSE MATERIALS AND INSTRUCTOR TEACHING WAS VERY MUCH HELPFUL . I AM A UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT SO IT WILL BE BENEFICIAL FOR ME IN THE LONG RUN.

By Nguyen T H

Oct 26, 2017

It should be the best course for new learners in P.E. Great lectures, instructor. The homework was well-design to revise the lesson. Thanks!