Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Power Electronics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Power Electronics by University of Colorado Boulder

4.7
stars
3,381 ratings

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5700, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. This course introduces the basic concepts of switched-mode converter circuits for controlling and converting electrical power with high efficiency. Principles of converter circuit analysis are introduced, and are developed for finding the steady state voltages, current, and efficiency of power converters. Assignments include simulation of a dc-dc converter, analysis of an inverting dc-dc converter, and modeling and efficiency analysis of an electric vehicle system and of a USB power regulator. After completing this course, you will: ● Understand what a switched-mode converter is and its basic operating principles ● Be able to solve for the steady-state voltages and currents of step-down, step-up, inverting, and other power converters ● Know how to derive an averaged equivalent circuit model and solve for the converter efficiency A basic understanding of electrical circuit analysis is an assumed prerequisite for this course....

Top reviews

SA

Jul 31, 2017

This course sets the groundwork for more advanced concepts in Power Electronics. The Professor was very explicit and the homework assignments were of a good strength to help ground the notions learnt.

PK

Jun 18, 2020

Very nice course. Even if you are already familiar with power electronics, it will help you to form a system of knowledge and utilize rational approaches for task solution of any level of complicity.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 814 Reviews for Introduction to Power Electronics

By Arun I

Oct 21, 2016

Great course. The conceptual aspects were covered really well and sets up the student for increasing level of complexity in the weeks ahead and the courses later in the specialization. Looking forward to the next course in the specialization.

By Jayasankar V N

Jun 18, 2020

I am extremely happy completing this course on Introduction to Power Electronics. The assignments were really challenging which motivated me to go through the lessons carefully and solve each questions with at most care. Thank you very much

By Rahul K

Dec 29, 2018

This course provides a great introduction to the field of power electronics. The difficulty level is moderate and the course is well paced. This course only provides an insight into DC-DC converters using just the basics of circuit theory.

By SOUNDHAR B

Jul 22, 2022

Literally challenging course for those who are enthusiastic in power electronics. Thanks for providing this course. Critically thinking mind is needed to answer all the questions. fortunately i was able to solve almost all the questions.

By Irfan Y

Feb 25, 2019

My first completed module in Coursera. It means a lot. I have also been given the aid to complete this module. This course is short, yet challenging. I would like to complete the whole specialization within 6 months. Thanks to the team.

By Swastik A

May 22, 2020

Great Course. The explanations by course coordinator are simple and straight to the point. The examples are solved in a stepwise manner along with explanations. The assignments are useful to know one's understandings about the topic.

By S. M H U

May 12, 2020

Course contents and lectures are well organized. Teacher explains step by step superbly. Assignments are so difficult that it took lots of time to get the right answer. Finally after successful submission, it feels really great.

By Ssentumbwe E

Mar 16, 2019

This course was awesome, I never really liked electric systems but the way this was taught is very logical which I appreciated. By the time you finish the course, as you do the numbers on your own, you will master it in no time.

By Deleted A

Feb 8, 2021

I passed this course and although we had similar courses at the university, this course has solved the problem with an interesting perspective.

looking forward to pass the second course and so on well. Thanks to Dr. Erickson.

By Abhishek M

Apr 20, 2021

It was a very thorough course on the basic. Prof. Erickson explains the fundamentals very well and provides a lot of examples to understand the same. A good stepping stone into the field of converters and power electronics

By Alessandro M

Aug 22, 2020

Nice course, I came from a bachelor degree in Electronics Engineering and I found out this to be quite heavy as well in the homework. Specially the last homework that due to the holiday I have done just by using the slides

By Yehonatan p

Dec 28, 2019

The lectures were excellent and the assignments were well thought through. In general I would also say the material covered is exteremely relevant and useful to any EE doing any kind of system level/board level design work

By Filip P

Sep 15, 2019

Speaking as a Mechanical Engineering student, this course was challenging at first, but once I got the hang of it, and overcame the entry barriers, the course was pure joy to learn. Definitely recommended and super useful.

By Shatrunjay P

Feb 14, 2016

It was an awesome course. I learned a lot from this course. The method of teaching was quite simple and student friendly. I just want to say that if you will avail more solved examples then it will be quite helpful for us.

By Mechanical c

Nov 20, 2022

Learn a lot from this course. Thanks to our honorable professor Dr. Robert Erickson who try to give his best to keep this course understandable and knowledgeable. Thanks, Coursera to give this opportunity student like us.

By Garrett W

Jun 13, 2016

Very clearly laid out and well explained course. The assignments cover the lecture topics without being an exact recreation of what the videos demonstrate, and the mid-video questions are helpful for building intuition.

By Sourav S

Feb 10, 2016

Beautiful course. Loved the lecture and assignments. Works great as a supplement to college learning. I am able to "visualize" dc-dc converter circuits which is a great feeling! Thank you Coursera and Prof. Erickson.

By Ali G

Dec 26, 2017

The lectures were so intuitive and enjoyful. The lecturer have a very understandable English. I recommend the main book -Fundamentals of Power Electronics- for the lecture. The assignments were challenging. Thanks!

By Hakhan O

Aug 20, 2021

Explained very well even the most complicated subject, thanks to Dr. Robert's well planned and orginezed studies. Learned a lot about equivalent circuit modeling for converters and so making the calculations easiy.

By Ayaz M

Oct 18, 2019

Nothing is better than visualization. I have read many books on Power Electronics and all of them are best but this course has sky rocketed my knowledge. I really appreciate the efforts for conducting this course.

By Wilson A O A

Jun 2, 2020

Buen curso. Se aprende sobre el funcionamiento de convertidores DC-DC y los ejercicios de las tareas presentan algo de dificultad. Recomiendo el curso para los que ya tienen conocimientos en circuitos eléctricos.

By Varkey M J

Jul 1, 2017

Very good foundation for power electronics. Taught very well. Important points are covered. Ingenious ways of solving circuits are discussed, which helps a lot in finding the DC values of voltages and currents.

By JYOTENDRA S

Feb 10, 2016

Great course to learn about power electronics. This course was a bit challenging to complete in one go, good thing that the instructors divided it into multiple sessions. Thanks for offering so great course.

By Behzad B

Apr 10, 2021

The courses are very excellent and very helpful. Though, it is a shame that these courses are restricted to several regions of the world due to the US sanctions. I believe science should not be politicized.